Buy used:
CDN$ 11.99
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Vive Le Rock Original recording remastered

Available from these sellers.
1 new from CDN$ 45.95 4 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 28 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: Sony
  • ASIN: B0007P71J6
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #266,905 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Vive Le Rock
2. Miss Thing
3. Razor Keen
4. Rip Down
5. Scorpio Rising
6. Apollo 9
7. Hells Eight Acres
8. Mohair Locker Room Pin-up Boys
9. No Zap
10. P.O.E
11. Apollo 9 (reprise)
12. Human Bondage Den (Unreleased Album Track ) (Bonus Track)
13. Vive Le Rock (Unreleased 12" Mix) (Bonus Track)
14. Apollo 9 (Unreleased Francois K 7" Mix) (Bonus Track)
15. Doggy Style (Unreleased Demo Track) (Bonus Track)
16. Night They Vietcong (Unreleased Demo Track) (Bonus Track)
17. Big Big Man (Unreleased Demo Track) (Bonus Track)
18. Apollo 9 (Francois K Splashdown Mix) (Bonus Track)
19. Vive Le Rock (Unreleased US 7" Mix) (Bonus Track)

Product Description

'Vive Le Rock' was originally released in 1985, this remastered reissue features 20 tracks including 10 bonus tracks 'Apollo 9' , 'Human Bondage Den', 'Vive Le Rock' (unreleased 12 inch mix), 'Apollo 9' (unreleased Francois 7 inch mix), 'Doggy Style' (unreleased demo), 'Night They Vietcong' (unreleased demo), 'Big Big Man (Razor Man)' (unreleased demo), 'Rip Down' (demo), 'Apollo 9' (Francois K splashdown mix) & 'Vive Le Rock' (unreleased US 7 inch mix). Columbia. 2005.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xaa4b2138) out of 5 stars 5 reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa7b6be8) out of 5 stars Adam's Space Cowboy T.REX album... April 23 2006
By Bill Wikstrom - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Vive Le Rock is Adam's most overly rocking album. Great loud guitars, Americanisms and Americana. Space Cowboys playing T.REX songs.

The album has it's share of great songs. The great ELO-esque title track. The loud rocking "Miss Thing". The barroom-piano of "Mohair Lockeroom Pin-Up Boys". The T.Rex sounding "Rip Down". The catchy and ultra-busy "Apollo 9" single. The weirdly catchy "No Zap", Scorpio Rising", "Hell's Eight Acres". Adam's songs are great and Marco is well-accounted for (he was a bit too reserved on the Strip album).

The album is an easily enjoyable romp for any Ant fan. Others will certainly like all the catchy and weirdly arranged songs.

The bonus tracks are great. Well-produced demos and intersting 12" mix (for a change) versions of "Vive Le Rock" and "Apollo 9".

There are also many great outtakes for this album ("Greta X", "Human Bondage Den", "Hired Gun" and "Saigon") which can be found on Antbox and B-Side Babies (also recommened). They are not on here but should also be sought after as Vive Le Rock could have been an incredible double-album as well.

Great Remaster with lyrics and perfect sound. A Must have!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa7b700c) out of 5 stars Excellent CD!!! Nov. 2 2009
By Spain - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Vive Le Rock!!!I have never grown bored with this album...Still have the vinyl but decided to buy the CD re-issue....Different from Kings of the Wild Frontier and Prince Charming both being excellent records themselves...I just enjoy this album...STILL!! Wallabaloomba!!! Whatever that means.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa7b6df8) out of 5 stars Great cd! Dec 30 2008
By JettNJett - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is such a great cd...But aren't all of Adam Ants! Great songs and great bonus tracks! Highly recommended to fans and those new to His music!
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa7b70f0) out of 5 stars why trick the buyers? March 4 2006
By Daniel W. Kelly - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I was so excited to finally see that the Steve Thompson 12" mix I've had on import vinyl for years was finally showing up on CD...NOT QUITE. The case says it's the unreleased Steve Thompson 12". It an EDIT, running 3:49, where as my full 12" version runs 5:18. How exactly can they try and tell us that a version that runs 9 seconds longer than the album version is a 12" version???

So much for the perfect reissue.
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa7b7438) out of 5 stars Bang bang you're dead. Feb. 2 2006
By Jason Stein - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Adam Ant's career didn't burn out slowly, it was stopped dead by "Vive Le Rock". If "Strip" was overproduced and glossy, then "Vive Le Rock" took it to the next step with bombastic rock and roll. While the playfulness of Adam Ant remains intact musically, the lyrics aren't as memorable. The production seriously detracts from the arrangements with what sounds like layer upon layer of overdubs. It's an average album, and perhaps his weakest since "Dirk Wears White Sox". The songs seem uninspired and the two singles "Vive Le Rock" and "Apollo 9" are okay, but not his best work. The rest of the album is rather painful to listen to because it's one bland, over-the-top song after another.

The remastered edition is cursed with a whopping ten additional bonus tracks. Too many versions of "Vive Le Rock" and "Apollo 9" that I could have done without, but there are three originals like the outtake "Human Bondage Den" which is all right, and "Doggy Style" which is average fare. The last original demo is "Night They Vietcong" sounds like a cross between "Chicken Outlaw" and "Personal Jesus".

As with the other remasters in this series, the booklet comes with lyrics to all the songs and the artwork and graphic design tie in perfectly with the other albums. All in all, not one of Adam Ant's best works.