Start reading Wasted Justice: A Judge Willa Carson Mystery Novel on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Wasted Justice: A Judge Willa Carson Mystery Novel (The Hunt For Justice Series Book 4)
 
See larger image
 

Wasted Justice: A Judge Willa Carson Mystery Novel (The Hunt For Justice Series Book 4) [Kindle Edition]

Diane Capri

Kindle Price: CDN$ 5.40 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books even without a Kindle device with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $5.40  
Paperback --  


Product Description

Product Description

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author DIANE CAPRI Returns!

For fans of Lee Child, John Grisham, Jack Reacher and Michael Connelly

"Full of thrills and tension - but smart and human too." —Lee Child , #1 World Wide Bestselling Author of Jack Reacher Thrillers

Judge Willa Carson’s mother Kate Austin’s new husband, a hot Italian model, lures Willa into investigating a thirty-year old murder. When no-nonsense Federal Judge Wilhelmina Carson is presented with the facts of the case she’s convinced that Billie Jo Steam is innocent.

Determined to right the wrongs of a justice system in which she believes, and to please Kate no matter what, Willa pulls out all the stops, including the use of genetic testing and her most distinguished political connections, to give Billie Jo back her family and her freedom.

But there isn’t much time to celebrate…

The deeper Willa delves into this timeworn case and the complex relationships that surround it, the more she realizes that there are still many people in Tampa — from pillars of the community, to old hippies, to friends and co-workers — who will do whatever it takes to keep the past buried. Judge Willa stays on the long, cold trail until truth prevails at the very end of the road and Kate makes a killing.

*formerly titled “Kate’s Killing”

About the Author

#1 Amazon Bestselling Author Diane Capri's work, #1 worldwide publishing phenomenon Lee Child calls "Full of thrills and tension, but smart and human, too." Margaret Maron, Edgar, Anthony, Agatha and Macavity Award-winning MWA Past President, says: "Expertise shines on every page." And Library Journal raves: "....offers tense legal drama with courtroom overtones, twisty plots, and loads of atmosphere. Recommended."

Diane's new Jess Kimball series kicked off with Fatal Distraction, opening as the #3 Amazon Bestselling Legal Thriller, behind John Grisham. Jess Kimball's second outing, the short story Fatal Enemy was recently released. Diane's new Hunt for Jack Reacher series began with Don't Know Jack, which garnered #1 Amazon Bestseller spots on Mystery, Hard-boiled Mystery, Police Procedural, Women Sleuths, and Legal Thriller lists both in the U.S. and U.K. Don't Know Jack was followed by two bestselling short stories in the Hunt for Jack Reacher series, Jack in a Box and Jack and Kill. Diane's Bestselling Justice Series suspense mysteries were praised by Romantic Times and garnered the coveted "Top Pick."

Diane is the past Executive Vice President of International Thriller Writers, past member of the Board of the Florida Chapter of Mystery Writers of America, and active in Sisters in Crime and other writing organizations. She comes to writing after a successful legal career and is married to her college sweetheart. She loves her nomadic snowbird existence preferring perpetual summer migrating from Florida to Michigan each year.

Diane says she writes mystery, thriller and suspense for the same reason she reads: to find out what happens, why people do what they do, and how to bring justice to an unjust world. Her books are translated in twenty territories. Diane loves to hear from readers. Contact her at http://dianecapri.com/contact/ to receive notice of new releases, subscribe to Diane's blog, or simply connect with her.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1277 KB
  • Print Length: 426 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: AugustBooks (July 18 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005E8YRWK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #77,611 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?



Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars  64 reviews
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humid suspense Aug. 1 2011
By Satori - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Willa Carson acts more like an Italian magistrate than an American judge, digging out the buried secrets of Tampa society when no one else cares. Below the placid surface she finds murder, mayhem, and a collection of respectable people who've kept it all hidden for decades. A fascinating portrait of Tampa itself -- a hard-as-nails city beneath a thin veneer of tiki bars, golf courses and sunshine. Alan Champorcher, Kindle author of "Made in Italy."
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Read Feb. 19 2013
By gomogo - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
This is my first Capri/Justice novel. I have to say I enjoyed it very much and wish I could have read it straight through. The characters were well laid out and developed, such that just about everybody could be considered suspect as the story developed. I would certainly recommend this work to other readers.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tepid in Tampa Jan. 25 2013
By Liz Hufford - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
WASTED JUSTICE is the fourth installment of the JUSTICE series. It offers promising elements of celebrity, politics, and familial loyalty. But I may have come too late to the party, not having read the earlier works. To me the protagonist, Judge Willa Carson, was neither believable nor likable. The setting sometimes sounded like GPS directions. The writing itself would benefit from editing--Willa's thought process often repeats. Fans of the series, and I'm sure there are many, may welcome book four. I just couldn't get into it.
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Willa's mom July 24 2011
By Martha Powers - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
In a good series the cast of characters is really key. Diane Capri is a master at giving us wonderful characters. Gotta love her mom. A suspenseful and well plotted read. Definitely we need more of these books.
Martha Powers, award winning author of Conspiracy of Silence and Death Angel
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasted Justice: A Moral Certitude Jan. 13 2013
By jmfthird - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
Wilhelmina Carson is a federal judge possessed of that quality of self-confidence which propels her through life in search of what is true and just with a prodigious energy that may seem daunting to others. Amid settings of the Tampa, Florida social elite, Harris Steam, a regional country/rock music star, asks her to help get his mother, who has served thirty years of a life sentence for the murder of his father, the lead singer in a 1960s rock band, out of prison; he believes she was falsely convicted. The case unfolds with difficulty from there, and Wilhelmina proceeds, by relentless follow-up on a thirty-year-old case and a twisting path of trial-and-error deduction,to find the real killer, along with political overtones and consequences that reach right into the present -- all while simultaneously adjudicating the cases on her docket and counselling various friends and loved ones on the proper conduct of their relationships and personal lives. It is perhaps not easy to be fond of our heroine because she can seem somewhat meddling and even bossy, but she needs that assertiveness to deal with the powerful people who will do whatever it takes to ensure she does not get to the bottom of the murder. The suspense is generated and built in a very skillful manner; it's a very good who-done-it, although I found one or two elements of the final denouement a bit difficult to credit. As a music-lover I enjoyed the connection to the music business both then and now, even while noting that the view of the '60s, Woodstock, and the attending culture as a garish and benighted costume party that wasn't good for our boys and girls -- a common take nowadays -- may sell the decade a bit short. Overall, a very entertaining read that will keep the reader turning pages to find out the answers.

Look for similar items by category