CDN$ 35.58
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Whom the Gods Love: The L... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Whom the Gods Love: The Life and Music of George Butterworth Paperback – Jul 17 2009

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
"Please retry"
CDN$ 35.58
CDN$ 35.58 CDN$ 999.11

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 204 pages
  • Publisher: Toccata Press; New edition edition (July 17 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0907689434
  • ISBN-13: 978-0907689430
  • Product Dimensions: 21.3 x 13.5 x 1.5 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 381 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,990,720 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description


Barlow writes well (...) Recommended.CLASSICAL.NET --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

Michael Barlow --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9d55d4a4) out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d55d8e8) out of 5 stars 'GREAT IN WHAT HE ACHIEVED, GREATER STILL IN WHAT HE PROMISED'. Aug. 25 2015
By George Peabody - Published on
Format: Paperback
An exceptionally well-written, thoroughly documented biography covering the complete and unfortunately short life of George Butterworth (1885-1916). All of Butterworth's surviving works are discussed along with an examination of his friendship with Vaughan Williams and the poet Housman from which he derived several of Housman's poems, the most notable of which are the setting of the six songs from The Shropshire Lad. It was this cycle that led me to find out more about Butterworth; it's incredible beauty combined with Housman's very attractive poetry makes the entire package irresistible to the singer, as well as the audience as later proved by the wide popularity of the song cycle. This, combined with the pathos created by the fact that this talented young composer just beginning his career was killed three weeks after he joined the Army by a German sniper along with several others of musical potential. WHAT A DEVISTATING LOSS TO THE MUSIC WORLD. And this "the war to end all wars"!

But the book does not dwell on this aspect, but instead gives us the succinct picture of Butterworth's background, both family and education. The author uses many footnotes, more than I used, but I did check what I considered to be important in the overall picture. I was really not much interested in his heritage, but many no doubt would be interested. It did focus on the three periods, short though they were of his composing life and I learned a great deal by this portion of the book , which also included detailed examples and explanations of his individual compositions.

The Folk Song era for Butterworth was the 2nd compostion period which I found particularly fascinating be cause it spoke of his association with many of other well-known composers interested in the Folk Music Revival; Cecil Sharp (also killed in the war), Vaughan Williams and several others. Since I knew little or nothing about this period in music in England, it made for interesting reading. Included were comments about the relationships and some were quite humorous. One that I will include herein was made by the poet Housman when he discovered that Vaughan Williams had omitted two verses from is musical setting of the song "Is My Team Ploughing?" (This is one of the Shropshire lad Songs in which a ghost is communicating with a live friend- A WONDERFUL SONG). In The V.Williams setting he leaves out the words: The goal stands up, the keeper Stands up to keep the Goal; The composer's view was that any poet who had written such lines as those should be grateful to have them left out, a remark not made directly to Housman, but to a friend; Housman's response was "I wonder how he would like me to cut out two bars of his music." Even the 'greats' can go at it!!!!!!

The book moves forward clearly and at a reasonable pace; it stays with the story and includes many photographs of Butterworth and other involved in his life. If you are a singer, especially a baritone, for that's what the songs were written for, but of course he did write instrumental music as well. The last composing period was when he focused on instrumental writing and before he was killed wrote two significant instrumental pieces, as well as many other musical compositions. All are listed in the book. Everything you want to know about George Butterworth is herein.

"In all of Butterworth's output, the man and the music are inseparable. He was very much a man of the English countryside, as was Housman whose verses so fired the composer's imagination. ......Butterworth was no innovatory composer, nor was his music very influential, but he will remain an important minor figure with a reputation based on a handful of works, the sincerity and musical value of which assure him a place in the history of English music."