Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Personal Care Crocktober Music Deals Store NFL Tools
Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth Book 1) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 46.99
Usually ships within 4 to 7 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Wizard's First Rule(MP3)(... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Wizard's First Rule(MP3)(Unabr.) MP3 CD – Audiobook, CD, MP3 Audio

1,094 customer reviews

See all 40 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
MP3 CD, Audiobook, CD, MP3 Audio
CDN$ 46.99
CDN$ 46.99 CDN$ 86.81

The Mountain Shadow by Gregory David Roberts The Mountain Shadow by Gregory David Roberts

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Product Details

  • MP3 CD
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio; MP3 Una edition (Nov. 24 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 142337794X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1423377948
  • Product Dimensions: 13.7 x 1.3 x 19 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 136 g
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1,094 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,334,262 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Big, bland and conventional, Goodkind's first novel is an epic fantasy that doesn't conjure up much magic. Its hero, Richard Cypher, is no ordinary woodsman. He is, at first unknown to himself, the "Seeker," wielder of the Sword of Truth and the only possessor of the arcane knowledge contained in the powerful Book of Counted Shadows. After his father is killed for refusing to disclose that book's location, Richard is wandering in his beloved forest when he spies a beautiful woman, Kahlan, being stalked by several assassins who have pursued her from her magic-filled homeland of the Midlands. Stalwart Richard saves Kahlan and, along with a wizard named Zedd, sets out to foil the power-hungry designs of the evil Midlands tyrant Darken Rahl. Many of the best moments here come during encounters with secondary characters: Adie, a crotchety old woman who traffics in Underworld magic by using bones; Rachel, an abused child who longs for her hair to be evenly trimmed; and Mistress Denna, a sadist who tortures Richard. Goodkind's writing improves as the book winds on, giving hope that the promised sequel will outclass this volume, but, for the most part, his prose is flat, his ideas hackneyed (Wizard's First Rule is, "people are stupid"), his characters tediously moralistic and his plot without originality.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

From Library Journal

The protective barrier that separates Westland from its neighbors to the east is about to fall, letting loose a monstrous evil upon the world. Only the combined efforts of a young man dedicated to finding the truth, an enigmatic woman intent on concealing her past, and a crusty old hermit resigned to his inevitable destiny can prevent the opening of the three boxes of Orden-an event with the potential to destroy existence itself. The inclusion of graphic scenes of sado-eroticism, though integral to the story, may deter purchase by some libraries. Nevertheless, this first novel offers an intriguing variant on the standard fantasy quest. The richly detailed world and complex characters will appeal to mature fantasy aficionados.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Aaron Lohr on April 12 2004
Format: Hardcover
This book created quite a stir in the fantasy genre. Some people loved it and some hated it. I wanted to give it a fair chance and just finished it. I can't tell you whether you'll like it or not, because this is a book where it really depends on what you want from a story. So I'll tell you what it offers and where it comes up short.
First you need to know it follows an over-used fantasy theme. An unknown man who doesn't want to be a hero, finds out he is very special and needed to save the world. He ends up being a fierce warrior who wins the heart of the beauty. The bad guy is super evil, and the good guys are super pure. There is an old man who serves as the mentor and he's wise yet spunky.
Many of you will be turned off at this point. But hold on. As formulaic as it is, Goodkind really does string together a nice adventure. Just when I would begin to think it was getting mindless, he would have a really beautiful scene.
There are torture scenes that are vivid, and I was wary of that going in. But he doesn't use them for shock value as some may think. He has a point and makes it very well. It was one of the only scenes that really gripped my emotions. It was quite inspiring.
The female roles in the book are fairly weak. The leading lady is often controlled by her emotions and love for the main character. Lots of crying.
The world Goodkind has constructed, the different creatures, and the way he uses magic are unique and creative. He often explains why magic works the way it does, and it isn't too way out there.
And while this book is one in a series, you can read just this one and it ends well enough so you don't feel you have to read the next one. So it doesn't hurt to give it a chance. If you like this kind of story, you will certainly enjoy this book. I think it is a good one. However, if you're tired of this storyline, you may want to check out something else. I hope this was helpful.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on Jan. 21 2003
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I really tried to like this book. Yet, right from the start, I found the protagonist, Richard, extremely annoying. He's just another in a long list of whiny, crying, vomiting main characters that often turn up in fantasy novels, which lead you to find some secondary character to latch onto. Unfortunately, neither Zedd nor Kahlan themselves are all that interesting. Zedd is your stereotypical wizard-type who can do all sorts of magical things and speaks in riddles. Kahlan is a little better, but then Goodkind kills it by making her the "Madonna" who can't have sex. I was very troubled by Denna as well, the dominatrix-type who tortures Richard in a sequence that went on way too long. She plays the "Whore" to Kahlan's character. Of course, Richard breaks his torturer (Denna), she falls in love with him and then he kills her. I don't know what kind of message Goodkind is trying to send with this but, then again, maybe I do. Once again, women are defined by their sexuality. All in all, I didn't find Goodkind's world very imaginative, but if you like your main character crying, pleading, begging for his life and then in the next microsecond killing people, maybe this is for you. Ridiculous.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Lil Moe on Jan. 2 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I saw another review on this book and did not like what it had to say. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, so now I will share mine. This book is very well written. It keeps you wanting to read more. The charecters are well developed throughout the story. You must keep reading to learn more. It brings back even the slightest details you may have found un important earlier in the book, and make them very important later. I was given this book by a freind who said it was the best book he read, until the next in the series. I have passed this book on to three other individuals, who also like it as much. Terry Goodkind is a very entrapping writter. It is hard to put the book down, even when you must. The charecters continue developing in the next book as well. The plot is a good one, and the review that I read saying that the interesting points where with secondary charecters was way off. Then the person took it further to make those encounters seem borring. The whole book is exciting, and some of those secondary cherecters beome main cherecters in the next book. Some of the secondary cherecters return as secondary charecters in the second book. One of the main cherecters from this book, becomes a secondary in the next. It is ever changing with Terry Goodkind. The plot is original, the review that I read may have been talking about one peice of the whole plot that was not original, but the plot as a whole is original, and very well written. I would suggest to everyone to read this book, even if you do not like fantasy type books. I would also say that the whole set is worth getting. One person I gave this book to, does not even like fantasy novels, but loved this one and now owns the set. I give this writter and this whole set a very high mark, and as for this book it is great. So you have read the other guys review, and mine. It can't hurt to try it out. I think you will like it, I did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Following the story of Kahlan and Richard is an amazing experience. As both a reader and writer of epic fantasy, I can truly say that this is one of the few books in the genre that I just could not put down, powering through the book in mere days, to the exclusion of all other responsibilities for that weekend. The last time a series gripped me the way Sword of Truth has would have to be as a teen in the mid 1990's with my discovery of the late Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time.

Terry Goodkind does a fantastic job of making us love his hero's and hate his villains. The story encompasses all of the things that make epic fantasy the lovely genre it is. Love, hate, moral dilemma's, and a fantastic plot that binds the characters together in ways that would never have been expected in the beginning of the book. The story encompasses everything readers enjoy about fantasy, without making it overly complex in the vein of 'Wheel of Time' or 'A Song of Ice and Fire', something that has turned many readers off from those series.

Without a doubt, if you enjoy fantasy you need to pick up this book. I promise that by the end of it, you will be scrambling to find Stone of Tears, the second volume of Mr. Goodkinds fantastic series of novels.

Grab a glass of wine, sit back in your most comfortable chair, and fail to notice the hours flying by. This book is a definite buy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most recent customer reviews