Start reading Wrong Man Running on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
Wrong Man Running
 
See larger image
 

Wrong Man Running [Kindle Edition]

Alan Hruska
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Print List Price: CDN$ 16.69
Kindle Price: CDN$ 4.47 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 12.22 (73%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $4.47  
Hardcover --  
Paperback CDN $12.12  
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged CDN $10.79  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

At the beginning of this compelling novel, Rick Corinth—driven careerist, brilliant prosecutor, and the heir apparent to the district attorney’s job in Manhattan—is assigned a case involving a series of increasingly sadistic rapes. When the victims, all prominent women at the acme of their careers, begin identifying Corinth as their assailant, he takes flight.

No one who knows him well believes him capable of committing such shocking crimes, including his ex-wife. His children, made to suffer at school, are hurt and confused. And yet the evidence against him keeps mounting. When his ex-wife is herself sexually attacked, she in turn pegs Corinth as the culprit.

Attorney-turned-novelist Alan Hruska’s Wrong Man Running is the story of Corinth’s frantic search to find the man he thinks framed him and the psychological challenges of confronting the possibility that he might be liable for the heinous rapes several women have claimed he committed. Sharp and haunting, Hruska masterfully ratchets up the suspense in this deftly written novel, penning a taut legal thriller in the vein of Scott Turow and John Grisham.

About the Author

Alan Hruska is a native of New York and a graduate of Yale University and Yale Law School. He worked as a trial lawyer until 2002, representing both public and private clients, all the while nourishing his love of the arts. His first novel, Borrowed Time, was published by Dial Press in 1986, and he cofounded Soho Press, for which he serves as chairman of the board. In 2002 he began writing and directing movies including Nola, The Warrior Class, and Reunion. His 2005 off-Broadway revival of Waiting for Godot earned favorable reviews from the New York Times, the New York Post, and Village Voice. His own plays include New House Under Construction and Ring Twice for Miranda. Wrong Man Running is his second novel.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 449 KB
  • Print Length: 348 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas & Mercer (Nov. 22 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005Y0BY56
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #41,302 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
3.7 out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaves you guessing till the very end. March 26 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Kept me guessing all the way to the end and even then I still wasn't sure if I got it right.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Suspense March 22 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A very suspenseful story - Glad I took a chance to read it. I will look for more books by this author.
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Running far Feb. 25 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
This story gives a lot of credit to some far-out characters who have dreadful secrets, amazing abilities and unlikely bodies. Makes for a good beach read at least.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.8 out of 5 stars  72 reviews
53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing Treatment of Victims of Abuse Dec 14 2011
By AMM - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
While Hruska's story is good in many ways, there certainly are unrealistic bits and unlikely elements. I appreciate what he is trying to do with his writing style--it sounds like an updated version of old pulp detective novels--but there is some awkward writing and moments when his style gets in the way of the flow of the story. The descriptions of the rapes thankfully stop before too much detail is given--still, what is said and what is implied will (should) upset you, similar to how these scenes were treated in The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. I could handle them, just barely. What upsets me about the book is its depiction of victims of sexual abuse and assault.

(I will try to discuss this without too many SPOILERS, but the following does reveal some info about the book). Just because the victims were all powerful, educated woman does not mean they wouldn't be devastated by these sadistic attacks--and yet, one woman actually goes out dancing with her attacker at the end of the book. This is after she reveals that she actually was enjoying the rape, until it turned ugly. Another doesn't seem too upset, because she believes her ex-husband, who she still loves, was the man who violently raped her. Several of the victims meet with the man they believe sadistically raped them to encourage him to get help, because they care about him. A victim of childhood sexual abuse is described as seeming to kind of enjoy being gang-raped. And would a woman who had suffered through such abuse actually go on to victimize other women? Men are portrayed as all being simply a few societal controls away from being rapists, sadists, and sexual deviants. Except for the hero, of course, although he is happy to have sex with several women while on the run from being accused as a sadistic rapist.

I'm shocked that anyone could read this book and not come away feeling really creeped out by the author's treatment of rape victims.
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm tempted to say, "Wrong Man Writing" Jan. 4 2012
By Mal Warwick - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Sometimes I wonder when I finish a book why I picked it up in the first place. This was one of those times.

As thrillers go, Wrong Man Running works. It's suspenseful (which probably explains why I felt compelled to finish reading it), and the protagonist elicited sympathy.

Rick Corinth is a hotshot lawyer nearing 40 who currently serves as deputy DA in New York City, heir apparent to his long-incumbent boss. Mystifyingly, when a series of violent rapes begins to surface, the victims are all women he knows well, and in short order Rick is suspected of the crime. Once he is formally charged, he flees in order to devote himself to finding the real perpetrator. Then the plot thickens.

Unfortunately, like so much pulp fiction, the tale hangs on a series of unlikely coincidences, and practically every character in this book is either drop-dead gorgeous (women) or just gorgeous (men) -- or, in a very few cases, ugly. I don't know about you, but I find this pandering to Hollywood producers tiresome. Oh, yes, we'll probably see Wrong Man Running on the big screen one of these days. If you like looking at beautiful people and being shocked by what they do, you might consider going. Otherwise, save your ten bucks.

(From [...])
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely miserable Jan. 10 2012
By Drew Hamre - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
I grabbed this mystery based solely on the cover blurb by Lee Child. Lord, what a mistake ...

In addition to some clunky prose (Pub-Wkly flags this line: "But I knew how spectacular the beauty was of which this gown gave only a provocative suggestion") and its smug exploitation of violence against women (detailed in other readers' comments), the characters' behavior is bizarrely unrealistic.

(I'll try to avoid spoilers in the following summary.) The book's hero/suspect becomes infamous when he's (falsely?) accused of a series of brutal rapes. While trying to clear his name, the h/s a) first stalks and then later has an affair with a leading police sex crimes investigator, and b) has an affair with one of the rapists victims. From a crime scene, c) the father of one of the victims calls the h/s rather than calling 911. Despite a nationwide tabloid frenzy, d) an arrest is staged as a genial intervention with the victims' sympathetic participation. And the denouement? More nonsensical, still.

I found myself channeling John McEnroe every five pages: "You. Cannot Be. Serious." The books overall tone is one of smug laziness. Procedural details? The author apparently couldn't even be bothered to watch a bit of CSI. Characters with complexity and depth? No - just a veneer of dated pop psych.

Moral weight? Trust a Lee Child recommendation ever again? You cannot be serious.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sophomoric Feb. 24 2012
By bud emerson - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A very disappointing book. Selected because of a top review. Interesting premise, but the intricacies of the plot were clumsy and unbelievable. Actions of the criminal justice system were highly unlikely representations of the real world. Interactions of the characters were forced and not logical. Emotional connections didn't feel real. I don't know why I kept reading--perhaps the reviews influenced me to think he would pull it off but it kept getting more and more removed from what could reasonably be expected to happen. A waste of my time.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Like watching a train wreck" Jan. 1 2013
By ThHobbes - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
You've heard, probably used, that cliche. If you're a fan of the cliched "legal thriller" populated with hackneyed characters lacking character, you'll love "Wrong Man Running." Filled with absurdity topped-off with a dollop of contrived happenstance, this novel will fascinate those of us who find utterly failed attempts at writing, an entertaining genre worthy of space in our literary menagery. Scott Turow and John Grisham may want to thank Hruska - he it makes the division between hackery and literature obvious.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category