Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$9.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 7, 2012
This book had me guessing right from the start to the end. The sense of not knowing what was really going on was palpable and added immensely to the satisfaction in reading it

This review is based on an Advance Readers Version of the book which I received free from the Publisher through the Goodreads First Reads program.


ORIGINALITY (standard, high, stellar) - HIGH - the twist at the end is insightful

ACTION (none, some, lots) - SOME - after all there are several murder
investigations going on

SEX (none, some, lots) NONE

PROFANITY (none, some, lots) NONE

The main characters in this excellent crime thriller are:

D.D. Warren - a Sergeant Detective with the Boston Police Department has recently returned to duty after maternity leave and her first cases are two pedophiles who have been killed in their apartmenst at point blank range. Each victim has been shot twice in the head with a 22 calibre gun. No signs of a struggle and each crime scene has been cleaned up and straightened up afterwards. No fingerprints are present , not even of the victim in their own apartment !!

Charlene Rosalind Carter Grant (Charlie) - an abused child Charlie has had two of her closest friends killed on February 21. Her first friend two years ago and her other friend 1 year ago. Even though they lived 1,000 miles apart. Now Charlie is convinced that she will be killed on January 21 which is 4 days away.

Charlie is caught by D.D. Warren near the scene of the second pedophile murder and when questioned Charlie tells her that she will be killed on February 21 and if D.D. gets the case can she please try to figure out who killed Charlie and her two best friends.

While D.D. Warren is busy with the two murders she certainly doesn't have time to investigate a murder that hasn't happened yet.

In the meantime Charlie has been training how to fight as well as how to shoot a 22 calibre gun in preparation for her murder on February 21.

The cops are starting to come to ask some important questions particularly as it relates to Charlie and her 22 calibre pistol.

There are twists and turns at the end of the book.

The author fully develops her characters and so you become invested in them.

A thrilling story with a twist at the end. An enjoyable read and recommended
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 10, 2012
I L'OVE to read. I was actually kindly but mercilessly teased by friends and acquaintances alike about the fact that I was never without a book. Now that I have a Kindle it's filled with hundreds of books that I've read or have yet to read. I love it. What a thrill to have a book just magically show up in my mailbox, asking to be read and reviewed. Yes! I'm on it!

The title of this thrilling mystery (my favorite genre, by the way) is "Catch Me" by Lisa Gardner. The back cover pulls you expertly into the story by giving you two pertinent details...

1. Charlie Grant claims she will be murdered in the next four days.
2. She wants Boston's best murder cop, Detective D.D Warren to investigate her upcoming death four days hence.

This begs the question... Is Charlene Rosalind Carter Grant (known as Charlie) actually about to become Boston's next murdered citizen or is she just as crazy as she sounds. This is what Det. D.D. Warren has to find out and she only has four days to do it.

This book is the sixth in Lisa Gardner's series centered around Det. D.D. Warren, a Boston murder cop with a "get'er done" attitude. Det. Warren, now 41, has just had a baby. D.D's afraid motherhood is going to soften her. She comes off of maternity leave to find herself having to balance two unusual cases. One involving Charlie Carter and another that seems to involve a vigilante killer plumbing Boston's seedy underbelly for child predators. Yet the cases seem to strangely be connected. But how could that be?

Gardner is expert in instantly pulling you into her story. Her writing is tight and adds only minimal extraneous information. I didn't find myself thinking, "get on with it" once throughout this fantastic read. That's rare these days. So many authors seem to fill pages with every detail surrounding each character that one feels "trapped" in too many words. Not with Gardner. She gives many details but stops at just the right point where you're learning about the characters and their environment but you're not bored. It's a well balanced book.

Let me also say that her character development is perfectly paced. Her first "punch" of information to hold our interest is followed by enough details to flesh out each additional main character. In just one book I've gotten to to "see" the main characters as multi-dimentional people who I want to read more about. Gardner forces you to wish her books were longer and makes you thankful you can go and get her preceeding five books.

This is a "can't put it down, read past your bedtime" kind of book. Gardner adds double twists, keeping the reader guessing until the very last page. A truly spectacular read, I can't wait to peruse her other offerings. I'm hooked on this author and her fully developed characters!!Thank you to Penguin Books, I had needed a new author, they provided a perfect fit.

My suggestion: Bet This Book! You won't regret it.

P.S. Please visit my blog, [...]

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Penguin Publishing for review. I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
Not having read a Lisa Gardner mystery in a while, Catch Me reminded me just how much I enjoy reading stories by this author. I can't remember whether the last book I read was a Detective D D Warren novel or not - this is an ongoing series abut a detective's life, both professional and private, as well as other recurring characters according to the Acknowledgements - however, I do remember getting involved in the storyline quickly and never let off right to the end. This one is no different.
Catch Me is a very unusual and intriguing case in which the victim seeks out the homicide detective in person and put her on alert that she will be killed in four days. Charlene Rosalind Carter Grant has done her homework and wants the best Boston cop to solve the mystery that has been building over the past two years. However, their first encounter takes place at another crime scene which does not put the supposed victim in a very good light, particularly a gun carrying police despatcher who obviously has secrets of her own.
As with all her novels, Lisa Gardner covers various storylines and points of view right from the beginning that are intriguingly and masterfully interweaved. The reader is kept guessing and wondering what is going on - just as the detective and her helpers are. Nothing is really left to chance and even the build-up to the 'big finale' with all its intricate parts works beautifully.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Reason for Reading: Next in the series.

Tremendous! I just can't wait reading a new Lisa Gardner, some are better than others but I've never been disappointed! This latest volume in the DD Warren series does not disappoint. First off, little time is spent on DD's personal life but we get enough to know the latest details and how she is adjusting to the new changes in her life. Fed up with the downtime she is quite excited to get back on a case and while working one, another case finds her. Of course, it's obvious to any serious crime reader that the two cases will somehow be related to each other which indeed they are, with the first leading to a much larger, more intricate case. The book alternates between the points of view of both D.D. and her team investigating the crimes and the woman who feels that she is the target of a murder. This woman, Charlie Grant,comes across as determined, full of fight and an equal in personality as to how we're used to finding DD herself. A great thriller with many twists and turns. Some interesting people become suspects and knowing who can be trusted is an open question. I sped read this one to the end and am glad to say I am all caught up with this series now! Looking forward to a book next year, Ms. Gardner!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm a long time fan of Lisa Gardner and her recurring character, Boston PD Detective D.D. Warren, is a favourite. Gardner's latest book featuring D.D. is Catch Me - newly released.

I was eager to catch up with D.D. She was unexpectedly pregnant in the last book. How will motherhood affect this tough as nails, no nonsense detective?

"D.D. caught herself actually contemplating wallpaper, then came to her senses, snapping off the vacuum cleaner and giving herself a firm mental shake. Forget the f***ing decor. She was Sergeant Detective D.D. Warren for heaven's sake. She didn't slipcover. She handled homicides."

Well, it's made her a little softer. Baby Jack has had eight weeks of Mommy being home, but it's back to work for sleep deprived D.D. She's going to try to stick to a reasonable work day. On her first case out - the murder of a suspected pedophile - she spies a note on her Crown Vic -"Everyone has to die sometime. Be brave" - and someone running away. She gives pursuit and catches the person - a young woman who swears she didn't leave the note, but was only checking D.D. out. The reason?

"Four days from now, I'm expecting to be murdered. I've read that you're one of the best homicide detectives in the city, so I'd like you handle the investigation. I figure you're the only shot at justice I'll have left."

D.D's immediate thought is that she's a nut case. But, her story has credibility. Charlene "Charlie" Grant works as a police dispatcher. Her two best friends have been murdered - each a year apart on the same day - January 21 - four days from now. And Charlie believes she's next.

"Two homicides, a thousand miles apart. Links between the victims, the methodology, and the date, but not enough evidence or motivation to provide traction. Hell of a story, she had to admit. Interesting. Intriguing. The kind of thing to tickle a workaholic detective's crime bone."

D.D agrees the case has merit and adds it to the team's caseload. She also agrees to let a new young detective, well versed in sex crimes, join the team.

Gardner's plotting was fantastic in Catch Me. She had me stumped and second guessing myself up to the very last pages. Many characters from previous books were brought back in Catch Me - J.T. Dillon is a favourite. (from The Perfect Husband) I quite enjoyed seeing a little bit of vulnerability in D.D. The scenes with her parents had such a ring of truth about them. I've enjoyed watching her relationship with Jack's father Alex grow as well. And the child predator story is a real eye opener.

DD's. chapters are alternated with those of Charlie. We know (or think we know) what is going on with her.

"I hummed softly under my breath, my only concession to my growing nervousness. Seventy-five hours left to live. What would you do?"

Catch Me is a page turner, guaranteed to keep you reading past the time you should shut off the light. If you like suspense, you'll love Lisa Gardner.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Another great Detective Warren story as she handles motherhood with the high pressures involved with solving a homicide. Very interesting and thrilling story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2013
This is the first of Lisa Garner's books i've read. I guess from other commentaries i missed out on some the precedent characters interactions, but i found the book thrilling anyway. Lots of details on juvenile pornography and how cops catch the bad guys, sometimes a bit too much: though it might be interesting for the reader, i couldn't help but think, «Surely DD knows that!». Lots of twist and turn that keep you guessing till the end. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
i just finished with this one .. and truly enjoyed it .. characters again were great .. story line was great .. you actually feel bad for these characters..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
Good character and story moves along . Enjoy the series with detective DD Warren. First novel read with this character and have read more since.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
Interesting read from the start. A real page turner. Tugs at every emotion you have inside. Looking forward to reading more from this author.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Fear Nothing: A Detective D.D. Warren Novel
Fear Nothing: A Detective D.D. Warren Novel by Lisa Gardner (Paperback - Nov. 4 2014)
CDN$ 10.79

Crash & Burn
Crash & Burn by Lisa Gardner (Paperback - Nov. 3 2015)
CDN$ 11.22

Love You More: A Dectective D. D. Warren Novel
Love You More: A Dectective D. D. Warren Novel by Lisa Gardner (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 28 2012)
CDN$ 9.49