biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vd2016beauty Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$18.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 29, 2011
I was very satisfied with Personal Finance for Canadians for Dummies. The authors cover a great range of subjects, from reducing debt, tax-sheltered savings and retirement accounts, insurance, estate planning and others. The book is written in a very plain language that anybody can easily digest and understand. While there are specific books covering in detail each of the subjects discussed, this book is an all-in-one primary reference to have at home.

My only comment is about wishing a newer version of the book. For instance, Tax Free Savings Account are only slightly covered in the book. While most principles are likely to remain unchanged, a new edition could also include more links to relevant websites. However, at least at this point, I still maintain a 5 star rating for this excellent book.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2008
I've given this book to family members in the hopes that they will think more logically about finances and financial planning. It's a great starter book that is easy to read with very good ideas and advice. It's certainly helped me a lot.

The only down side is that a book like this can get out of date with changes in tax laws. I'm looking forward to purchasing a new copy that covers new tax deductions and the new tax free bank account the government of Canada has proposed.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
This is a great book if you never really studied finances and have little experience with it. Also, even if you feel your finances are under control, it is good to learn or be reminded of other options you have. I found the language used and the way the information was organized to be clear. The book was easy to pick up and look at a specific topic; the topics were laid out plainly and it was easy to find what you were looking for. A good book to keep around.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
A very informative book.I was so impressed with the knowledge that I purchased 3 more books for each of my kids.It was easy to read and understand and not boring or dry reading which I really appreciated.I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wanted to learn about finances.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2014
What a great book! Very insightful and enjoyable! Jam packed with all the right things to do and laid out in an easy to read and understand way! Every Canadian should have a copy of this book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
I bought this book for my husband and he really liked it,he said it was easy to understand and thinks all young people should have one to help with their future finances.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2010
The book helped a lot with investing, but it could have had more info about how to save money - by cutting spending, going to sales, etc.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
Am mentoring my nephew on wise financial practices...this book is very helpful in retraining him to make better financial choices.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2016
very useful book if you really want to control you personal finance very well, do all steps it recommended
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2011
Really good book for people who is really lost in the finantial matters. Sometimes the basics are very detailed (and for some people that can be annoying because a lot of it could be "logical") and sometimes the most important or complex topics are just "touched".
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse