march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 13, 2014
An enthralling view into a bygone era that is part memoir, part history lesson. It lends insight and breathes life into past events, both famous and not, and shows the humanity behind the headlines of WW I, and the discovery of Tutankhamun’s tomb. Through facts, history, and some charming speculation, the book weaves a fascinating look behind the doors old English aristocracy that is a delight to read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
This book is wonderful if you're hooked on Downton Abbey, and want the real story. It has helped me to understand the series better. Or, if you would like some insight into 1900 - 1920 in Europe. Very historical, takes you through WW1, and the devastation of that war. Great read and now I'm looking forward to reading about Lady Catherine.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2012
Great book finished it quickly and passed it on to anothe Downton Abbey fan. It certainly tied things together as far as the real history.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2013
Hubby and I both enjoyed this book. The storyline was gripping and the history made it all very real. Would recommend it to all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2012
This is a very interesting book. This woman was vibrant and full of energy. Before WWI she did the ordinary things aristocrats did: entertaining, went to London for the social season and travelled, especially to Egypt with her husband. He was fascinated by all things Egyptian and was one of the main financial backers of the excavation of Tutankamen's Tomb. Unfortunately he died of septicaemia caused by an infected mosquito bite before they actually entered the inner Tomb. During WWI Lady Almina used their house as a hospital for wounded soldiers. Her hospital was one of the best of the time. I bought this book through Amazon.com and it certainly is a good read if you are curious about how some of the aristocracy lived in that period of time. The facts are not quite as the Downton Abbey story line seems to be heading.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
To read Lady Almina's life was fascinating as you learn that she was a woman before her time. She had such drive and compasion for the soldiers in need.

Lucky for us that Lady Carnarvon took the time and monumental effort to piece together the history of Highclere Castle and the numerous people who have lived there.

This being said I personally had a hard time keeping track of all the dates and the people involved..........too bad for me.

If you enjoy history like I do...........great read with a hot cup of tea!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
After watching Downton Abbey it was interesting to read the story behind the series. Without giving too much away it was interesting to connect the dots between real life individuals and the characters in the series. She certainly had a fascinating life and I never really made the connection between her husband Lord Carnarvon and the issues surrounding his death until reading this book. Would highly recommend this book to all history buffs as well as lovers of Downton Abbey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2013
As I mentioned, this book is lovingly written but also contains, of interesting history.,.e.g. Egyptian hi story and World War facts. I am also a fan of Downton Abbey but in reading this book, I gained a lot more insight of the Carnarvon Family. Looking forward to reading the newly released continuing story
L

.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2013
I like the way you can see how life was lived in that time
Ladies did not have many if any choice but to marry well,
I you did not well you just made the best of things.
What a sad life many must have hAD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
Ordered this as a gift and was just hoping it would get here by Christmas. Well, it arrived today - weeks before I expected it.

Thank you for the great service - would not hesitate to order again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse