a movie...and a book (Vintage Contemporaries) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading a movie...and a book (Vintage Contemporaries) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

a movie . . . and a book [Hardcover]

Daniel Wagner

List Price: CDN$ 25.95
Price: CDN$ 20.76 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 5.19 (20%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 9 to 12 days.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $20.76  
Paperback CDN $13.56  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

July 13 2004
A dreamer named Liz
A lost soul named Lou who just may be in love with her
A writer searching for a way out
And a desert island in the distance

A movie . . . and a book–a novel of such poignant storytelling and creative imagination that to read it is to peel back the layer that separates our dreams from the world.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Knopf (July 13 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1400041880
  • ISBN-13: 978-1400041886
  • Product Dimensions: 19 x 13.4 x 1.8 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 281 g

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Story one in this convoluted, philosophically dense novella concerns a hen-pecked struggling writer who wishes he could dispense with commercially necessary plot contrivances and just write about the mundane epiphanies of everyday existence. Seemingly unrelated story two is just such a romantic plot contrivance about a man and a woman shipwrecked on a desert island who do little but mull over the mundane epiphanies of everyday existence. We gradually realize that story two is, somewhat magically, both real and the fictional contrivance of the writer in story one and his brother, who themselves may be real or just fictional characters in a screenplay being uncomprehendingly read aloud by an old man. Weaving narrative artifice with skeptical meta-commentary on narrative artifice, the intertwining stories ask whether humans possess free will or are mere plot contrivances in a tale told by an idiot. The book is explicitly recommended for fans of Memento and Adaptation, to which one could add The Truman Show and many another movie or book that considers the processes of narrative artifice to be as interesting as the narrative itself. Snowboarder and first-time novelist Wagner is a good observer of domestic and emotional detail, which will serve him well when he gets past tail-chasing why-we-write conceits and decides to tell a story straight.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

“A sly novel. . . . Figuring out what is fiction and what is reality is half the fun of this book.” –Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

"I'm honestly not sure whether I was so happily hypnotized by a movie . . . and a book because of the spellbinding film it unspooled in my mind or because of the way it held me enrapt as a novel. But I do know that I was absolutely mesmerized by it from the start to finish." –Chris Bohjalian, author of Midwives and The Buffalo Soldier

"A must-read for fans of Memento and Adaptation." –Eric Garcia, author of Matchstick Men --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 1.0 out of 5 stars  1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful Dec 7 2009
By Zora C. - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
The author bio on this novella (not a novel by any stretch of that word) does not tell us what we really want to know: who the heck did he know in order to get this piece of crap published? A non-linear, nonsensical story about...well, I can't tell you, really, for I skimmed 80% of the little thing after being irritated by the first 20%. There appears to be some sort of sophomoric philosophy about "movie" vs. "book" moments in life, but the whole thing comes off like a bad freshman or high school bit of self-indulgence. [...]

Look for similar items by category


Feedback