Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Personal Care Cook Music Deals Store NFL Barbecue
a movie...and a book (Vintage Contemporaries) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Usually ships within 1 to 3 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
a movie . . . and a book has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships from the USA. Please allow 14-21 business days for delivery. This copy appears to be in nearly new condition. Free State Books. Never settle for less.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

a movie . . . and a book Hardcover – Jul 13 2004

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
CDN$ 25.95
CDN$ 18.83 CDN$ 17.92

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Knopf (July 13 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1400041880
  • ISBN-13: 978-1400041886
  • Product Dimensions: 13.2 x 1.5 x 19.8 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 281 g

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Story one in this convoluted, philosophically dense novella concerns a hen-pecked struggling writer who wishes he could dispense with commercially necessary plot contrivances and just write about the mundane epiphanies of everyday existence. Seemingly unrelated story two is just such a romantic plot contrivance about a man and a woman shipwrecked on a desert island who do little but mull over the mundane epiphanies of everyday existence. We gradually realize that story two is, somewhat magically, both real and the fictional contrivance of the writer in story one and his brother, who themselves may be real or just fictional characters in a screenplay being uncomprehendingly read aloud by an old man. Weaving narrative artifice with skeptical meta-commentary on narrative artifice, the intertwining stories ask whether humans possess free will or are mere plot contrivances in a tale told by an idiot. The book is explicitly recommended for fans of Memento and Adaptation, to which one could add The Truman Show and many another movie or book that considers the processes of narrative artifice to be as interesting as the narrative itself. Snowboarder and first-time novelist Wagner is a good observer of domestic and emotional detail, which will serve him well when he gets past tail-chasing why-we-write conceits and decides to tell a story straight.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.


“A sly novel. . . . Figuring out what is fiction and what is reality is half the fun of this book.” –Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

"I'm honestly not sure whether I was so happily hypnotized by a movie . . . and a book because of the spellbinding film it unspooled in my mind or because of the way it held me enrapt as a novel. But I do know that I was absolutely mesmerized by it from the start to finish." –Chris Bohjalian, author of Midwives and The Buffalo Soldier

"A must-read for fans of Memento and Adaptation." –Eric Garcia, author of Matchstick Men --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
awful Dec 7 2009
By Kindle Customer - Published on
Format: Hardcover
The author bio on this novella (not a novel by any stretch of that word) does not tell us what we really want to know: who the heck did he know in order to get this piece of crap published? A non-linear, nonsensical story about...well, I can't tell you, really, for I skimmed 80% of the little thing after being irritated by the first 20%. There appears to be some sort of sophomoric philosophy about "movie" vs. "book" moments in life, but the whole thing comes off like a bad freshman or high school bit of self-indulgence. [...]

Look for similar items by category