Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make It Right - Get The Book!
This is an excellent book for anyone thinking about doing a reno or even building a new home. The book is jam packed with ways to make sure you pick the right general contractor, how much the project should cost on average, and how much time the project should take. Mike also makes many recommendations on what types of building materials and finishes you should use for...
Published on Dec 10 2006 by Jeff D Marshall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars HIgh Level Renovation Book
A bit too high level for my liking. I wish it was providing a bit more technical details and not only general advices how to choose a contractor and ceramic tiles!
Published 20 months ago by Alexandre Ritchot


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make It Right - Get The Book!, Dec 10 2006
This review is from: Make It Right (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for anyone thinking about doing a reno or even building a new home. The book is jam packed with ways to make sure you pick the right general contractor, how much the project should cost on average, and how much time the project should take. Mike also makes many recommendations on what types of building materials and finishes you should use for each type of project and if you will need a permit for that project. I know this book will help me when I start building my new home. If you liked this book I would also recommend checking out the "Holmes on Homes" TV series on DVD from which some of the pictures in the book came from. Keep up the good work Mike!!

Jeff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make it Right, Nov. 20 2006
This review is from: Make It Right (Hardcover)
I just wish that I had this book when I went through my 1st reno. Mike's advice is so straight forward, well thought out, and jam packed with valuable advice that could save you thousands of dollars and many headaches!! Reading this book is like having Mike's hand on your shoulder guiding you through your renovation.

Thanks Mike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you cant go wrong when you make it right, Feb. 17 2008
By 
Garrett Hardy "HemelGroup.com" (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make It Right (Paperback)
Mike Holmes - my hero?

This is a book is a no-nonsense guide for homeowners.

It covers all the basics like how to find a reliable contractor, building codes, new materials and techniques

The book goes into detail about renovating kitchens, bathrooms, basements and additions. I found the checklists and photographs are a big help too.

The more you know as a home owner the better it is for all us pros too.
Get informed with mike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, March 31 2010
By 
This review is from: Make It Right (Hardcover)
Thank you Mike Holmes for writing such an exceptional book. I haven't read the whole book yet, but the parts I've read have been real eye openers. I'm remodeling and hoping to build my own home in the near future and already I have learned the correct techniques for doing a job once and doing it right. Exceptional book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mike Holmes, March 19 2009
By 
L. J. Tubbs (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make It Right (Paperback)
Mike Holmes really does help you "make it right". He explains why some methods work and others don't when you are renovating. His instructions are very easy to follow and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank-you Mike, Dec 23 2008
This review is from: Make It Right (Hardcover)
Thank-you Mike to you and your Dad for having the philosophy of "doing it right the first time". This book provides a load of insights and good knowledge in renovating or building new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars make it right by mike holmes, April 11 2009
By 
Christiane Corriveau "fan of agatha" (montréal, qc, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make It Right (Paperback)
Offered has a gift and very much appreciated for all the informations that it contains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile book for the home renovator., Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make It Right (Paperback)
A gift from my wife to ensure my work is up to par. I think she is pleased with the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a must have for all home owner, Oct. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book showed me little actual steps to fix a home, that was my initial expectation. Rather, it showed a mind set that I should have to maintain my house. It definitely helps me get my foot in areas like home Reno, house maintenance and expectation for a contractor.

A couple of take away for whom didn't have a chance to read the book--- A, hiring Mike to Reno your house. Because finding a right contractor to do the right job is ridiculously tough. Which leads to option B, take the time finding a contractor, teach yourself thoroughly before you start any job, even it's a small job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very helpful, April 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make It Right (Paperback)
lots of help with our renovation project. Book was in good shape and arrived on time. Would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make It Right
Make It Right by Mike Holmes (Paperback - Oct. 18 2007)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 15.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews