Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survive- anywhere.
No need for a long review here. This book was written by a professional soldier who was in the SAS, or the Special Air Service. For those not in the know, that's an elite unit of the British Army trained to carry out operations in ALL parts of the world. Eventually, the author became a survival instructor to the SAS, so you can be sure that this guy knows his stuff...
Published on Jan. 17 2008 by "Outdoor" Jack

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for some environments, not all
It may be impossible to write a survival book that is accurate and authoritative on all environments and all areas of the world, and this is something to keep in mind when purchasing a general survival book like the SAS Survival Handbook. For the most part, it's quite good and gives excellent information on outdoors survival in most temperate climates. HOWEVER, one place...
Published on Nov. 4 2003 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense information that you might actually use!, Oct. 7 2002
This review is from: The SAS Survival Handbook: How to Survive in the Wild, in Any Climate, on Land or at Sea (Paperback)
The first time I read this book, was as a teen. I "borrowed" the copy belonging to my brother, and have never been without a copy since then.
The information contained within is aimed at surviving in the most extreme conditions. Granted, not many of us will be stranded in the North Pole - but if we were, we'd know not to eat a polar bear's liver, because the amount of vitamin A contained therein is toxic!
More usable information includes:
- Beautiful, accurate pictures of edible and poisonous plants
- How-to advice on setting up temporary camps
- Basic first aid and medical care
- How to survive a nuclear attack, war conditions, fire/ice/extreme weather conditions
- A virtually complete instruction on how to set up different traps to catch your food,
And other amazing pieces of information simply too numerous to list.
All in all, there are probably more professional, intensive survival guides - but this is by far one of the more approachable, with common sense advice that we can use even in a non-survival situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAS Survival Handbook, Nov. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very detailed survival manual, with lots of information and easy to follow guidelines, tips, and advice. It goes in more detail than needed for general use, but by the same token, it covers absolutely every item and every situation to be encountered in a survival or emergency situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, June 5 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The SAS Survival Handbook: How to Survive in the Wild, in Any Climate, on Land or at Sea (Paperback)
All together a pretty good book. The book gives you a lot of useful information and is well organized. Discusses knot tying, trapping, ways to obtain drinking water, building shelters and starting fires. Covers various climates and terrain. A good basic guide but I'm still searching for something a little more detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, Dec 20 2011
This is the book I was looking for. Beware there is another one that says "How to survive in the wild, on the land or at sea." instead of "For any climate, in any situation."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for the survivalist:, June 7 2011
This book is a wealth of information arranged in an attractive format with a good mix of illustrations, facts, and anectodal accounts. The pages and binding are also durable. Excellent book to read thru, then take camping to try various skills. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great information, April 29 2011
I had already read part of this book prior to ordering it so I knew how good it was. I couldn't put it down for a couple of hours.
This book is good because it gives you more than enough information on most topics.
I am an avid hiker and can use a lot of the information in here.
Would defiantly recommend to anyone who enjoys the outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good - not the end all, June 8 2010
This review is from: The SAS Survival Handbook: How to Survive in the Wild, in Any Climate, on Land or at Sea (Paperback)
As mentioned through other reviews particularly Peter, this book is not the end all. To compile a book about every environment that one may encounter would be quite lengthy and encompassing. Mr. Wiseman does a superb job in what he does deliver though.

A true survivalist who has no doubt been tested, he conveys his experiences and wisdom through a very to read and understand book. This book is ideal for any military person, camper who may find himself or herself ever in a situation wanting this wisdom.

I would purchase again having read and used the knowledge conveyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good info, Oct. 7 2009
I own and have read 13 other "survival" books - this one is one of easiest to read and understand as well as being filled with ideas and tips not found in many other books. Good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, Aug. 13 2009
By 
Louise Larabie (Arnprior, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
found it interesting, not sure I would need a lot of the advice but nice to have it if needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SAS Survival Guide, Nov. 27 2006
This review is from: SAS Survival Guide (Paperback)
sooooooo useful!

My mom bought it for every members in my family before we go to camp!

I learn a lot!!

Good Book For Everyone To Read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0a12dec)

This product

The SAS Survival Handbook:  How to Survive in the Wild, in Any Climate, on Land or at Sea
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews