Customer Reviews


515 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (129)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sex crazed utopia
I read this book in university and it was one of my favorites. It is such a warped look a utopian society but it is everything we want....isn't it. Casual sex is the norm and the introduction of soma, a drug with no side effects makes the future and adults playground. There is no families, babies are not born, but decanted test tubes. People are born into a specific...
Published on Sept. 25 2009 by Amy Sinclair

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK
For me, it was just OK. This is a book of course I have heard about all my life, but never got around to reading it. Perhaps because of the era we are in, the concepts in the book are as not as interesting or wild as they would have been back then.
Published 10 months ago by Charles


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sex crazed utopia, Sept. 25 2009
By 
Amy Sinclair (seattle WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
I read this book in university and it was one of my favorites. It is such a warped look a utopian society but it is everything we want....isn't it. Casual sex is the norm and the introduction of soma, a drug with no side effects makes the future and adults playground. There is no families, babies are not born, but decanted test tubes. People are born into a specific class, and intellegence is altered. I don't want to give too much away, but I'll just say that I highly recomend reading it if you like dystopic fiction or sience fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIGHT THE POWER!, May 11 2005
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
With its vivid description of everyday activities such as the "feelie" movies and classification of every human into one of five letter and color groups, Huxley's Brave New World is a fun read for young adults and teens.
The Brave New World is a sort of Utopia, where humans are not born to mothers; they are bred in bottles and slowly travel by way of a huge conveyor belt through various machines during the gestational period. Those babies who will become astronauts spend a majority of time upside-down in the bottles, and those who will work in the jungles are submitted to a higher than normal temperature throughout the process. The embryos which are destined to be in one of the lower classes (Epsilons or Deltas) are purposefully deprived of oxygen so that they will not be "born" too intelligent for their class. In light of the current progressions that we have made with cloning and genetic alteration, it seems that Huxley has shown us one distinctly possible direction that society could wind up taking...
The book begins with a tour through the "decanting" factory.. recently fertilized eggs are artificially multiplied in the "Bokanovsky Process", which can create almost 100 identical embryos from a single egg. The lower classes will be multiplied to the highest degree, while the Alphas (the upper administrative class) will be individuals. The tour continues up to the nurseries where the children are conditioned every day to enjoy their lot in life. Some of this conditioning is done through aversion therapy, while some of it is drilled into the childrens' heads while they sleep. This sort of conditioning is what leads to a perfectly controlled world. (The controlled drug called Soma which is distributed faithfully to the masses doesn't hurt, either).
It is easy to determine which caste one person is in by the color they are wearing; each class wears a different color. The classes range from Alpha (highest) down to Beta, Gamma, Delta, and finally Epsilon. Deltas, for example, wear only khaki and are conditioned to hate books so that they will not waste their time reading. Betas, by contrast, are conditioned to be glad they're smart, but not as smart as Alphas because Alphas work too hard.
The older folks are so ingrained with these thoughts that they know nothing but happiness with their lives, regardless of whether they are the hard labor force or in one of the upper classes. However, the people in charge, as a result of knowing what is actually going on, can become a little bit jaded. When one "Alpha" decides to take a holiday, he sneaks off to a reservation of "savages" (folks who don't want any part of the Brave New World's society) and sees his illegitimate son. This is soon discovered, and he is brought forth before a committee which is shocked because they consider natural birth to be downright barbaric. The mother and son are brought into the "civilized" society, and everything quickly falls apart.
This book is fascinating in every way, from the colorful images that Huxley paints for the reader, to the parallels it draws to our current society. Brave New World is absolutely a must-read for anyone who is old enough to understand the implications, but try it for yourself! Pick up a copy! Another book I need to recommend -- completely unrelated to the science fiction, but very much on my mind since I purchased a "used" copy off Amazon is "The Losers' Club: Complete Restored Edition" by Richard Perez, a fun, highly entertaining little novel I can't stop thinking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarily relevant, Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Kindle Edition)
I was amazed at how this book, written 80+ years ago, seemed to capture current society's obsession with material goods and shallow pursuits. My first time reading it, somehow never crossed paths with it before. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very great read!!, July 24 2014
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
This is the first time book that I had read in class that I actually enjoyed. A lot of the themes in the book can be compared to today's society such as the promiscuous sex and drug use to solve our problems. This book was an overall easy read with only a few chapters that were tedious. I would recommend this book to anyone of late middle school to high school age because it will not only make them think but also be enjoyable to read and have a laughs at some of things that happen in their society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bam Bam, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
Lets all go back to this classic novel! Make sure to read "1984" afterwards. If you are wondering what book to read during summer holidays, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the spirit of 1984, May 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Kindle Edition)
a thought provoking classic. Is this where society is heading? Do we prefer to be sheep or live and feel? I thoroughly enjoyed rereading this classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huxley's warning, Jan. 31 2013
By 
RJ-MTL (Montreal, QC, Canada.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
Huxley knew way ahead of time where our consumerist society was going and boy, was he spot on. Hard to believe this was published before WW2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book makes you think, March 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
I think the topic that this author explores for the time that it was written, while using the knowledge and events of the time... -it's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book; Bad Publication (spelling and layout errors throughout), Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Kindle Edition)
Brave New World entered Canadian Public Domain on January 1, 2014. This publication has numerous errors in spelling, punctuation, layout and more. While the price is reasonable for a public domain work, I might suggest a better publisher.

Book 5/5 stars; this sloppy publication, 1/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, Sept. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Kindle Edition)
For me, it was just OK. This is a book of course I have heard about all my life, but never got around to reading it. Perhaps because of the era we are in, the concepts in the book are as not as interesting or wild as they would have been back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brave New World B Format
Brave New World B Format by Aldous Huxley (Paperback - Jan. 10 1994)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews