Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for serious students and teachers
Although I do agree with the fellow who noted that this particular edition of Light on Yoga is poorly bound and an awkward size, the book remains a classic. Try to get it used. Luckily, I have an older paperback copy that has remained mostly bound. The book serves the beginner as well as the adept, with good practices listed in the back. I learned my sanskrit words...
Published on Feb. 20 2010 by Krisna Zawaduk

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A classic, but expect the binding the crack
It's obviously the classic of yoga books in English, and every student of the practice should have a copy. This is not a particularly useful book for the novice. Personally I find the postures mostly too extreme, but that's Iyengar Yoga. I would exercise caution and work with a qualified teacher, if you're attempting some of these postures or any of the other practices in...
Published on Aug. 25 2009 by Steven


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for serious students and teachers, Feb. 20 2010
By 
Krisna Zawaduk (Kelowna BC CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light On Yoga (Paperback)
Although I do agree with the fellow who noted that this particular edition of Light on Yoga is poorly bound and an awkward size, the book remains a classic. Try to get it used. Luckily, I have an older paperback copy that has remained mostly bound. The book serves the beginner as well as the adept, with good practices listed in the back. I learned my sanskrit words out of neccessity, to minimize the flipping back and forth from the practices to the plates and instructions. Each time I pick up this grand volume, a new little gem is revealed--so much is contained in this book. The introduction is well-written, explaining the 8 limbs of ashtanga yoga and some of the main philosophical elements from Patanjali's Yoga Sutras. There are also hints and cautions, special practices for ailments and pranayama techniques. An oldie but a goodie. As Iyengar himself one exclaimed, "a good book is better than a bad teacher".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light on Yoga, March 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Light On Yoga (Paperback)
Great book, It was an assigned reading for my yoga teacher training and it is very helpful complete with pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A classic, but expect the binding the crack, Aug. 25 2009
By 
Steven "philosopherdog" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Light On Yoga (Paperback)
It's obviously the classic of yoga books in English, and every student of the practice should have a copy. This is not a particularly useful book for the novice. Personally I find the postures mostly too extreme, but that's Iyengar Yoga. I would exercise caution and work with a qualified teacher, if you're attempting some of these postures or any of the other practices in the book. The book is also pretty poorly organized. If you want to use the suggested sequencing then you will find yourself flipping all over the book to find them. Sticky notes are your friend.

The thing that annoys me about this particular printing of the book is 1) it's a very awkward size (there are other editions that are much easier to transport and hold), 2) the binding is very poor quality and is sure to crack.

I would buy this used (hardcover or stitched binding) or buy the American edition available for much cheaper on the US sight. The book is worth 4 stars, but in light of my other points, I'm giving it 2 stars in total.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loving Yoga, June 2 2011
This review is from: Light On Yoga (Paperback)
B.K.S. Iyengar's book "Light on Yoga" is an amazing reference book in advancing your yoga skills & learning more about your own personal journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on Hatha-yoga, Nov. 6 2011
This review is from: Light On Yoga (Paperback)
Best pictures, with best descriptions, week by week 6 years course plan, with gradual increase of difficulty level, so that you don't have to be flexible at all when you start the first week routine, and gradually progress in flexibility. If you'll have the persistence and perseverance then in 6 years you'll become a yoga master, if not, then you'll just improve your health, looks and flexibility to some extent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1703bac)

This product

Light On Yoga
Light On Yoga by B.K.S. Iyengar (Paperback - May 17 2001)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 15.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews