summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars63
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$67.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 15, 2015
There are three 'guide' books of Tolkien - The Complete Tolkien Companion by J.EA. Tyler, The Complete Guide to Middle Earth by Robert Foster and A Dictionary of Tolkien by David Day. The first two are vastly superior to the Dictionary. While David Day's book gets 10 stars for presentation and layout, it is sadly lacking in content. Both Tyler and Foster's guides have almost twice as many entries and go much further into detail than Day. Also, Day is guilty of his own fantasizing, sometimes making up 'facts' or enhancing the truth. I prefer Tyler's Complete Tolkien Companion myself - I find his wording a bit easier to grasp. These really are terrific books if you're into Tolkien, you can learn the history of Middle Earth just by flipping through them at your own pace. Either of the first two guides are well worth the investment but steer clear of A Dictionary of Tolkien.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
We play Tolkien trivia in one of the websites I frequent and this is an absolute gem when it comes to stumping other players. It's comprehensive and useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon September 20, 2006
The book has a well thought out design in a dictionary form. You find information on every character, every place, and every thing. There is a section on how to read the sources and abbreviations in the book. There are appendixes with A Chronology of the First Age, Genealogical Tables, and Conversion of page references to Houghton Mifflin Editions.

Some may think this guide is geared towards those that already have a basic knowledge of Middle earth. But upon exam one finds it is like any other dictionary those with a large vocabulary may need an occasional glance; while others may have to look up the words that explain the words.

I find it indispensable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2004
This is a must have for all Tolkien Fans. It has everything you need to know about characters and places to make you a Middle Earth expert!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2004
My thirteen-year-old daughter has become a solid Tolkien fan, and picked up this book for further study. Organized into dictionary form, this wonderful book contains all of the information on people, places and things found in J.R.R. Tolkien's books on Middle-Earth. Do you want to know more about Elrond or the great Wizards? What about the Grey Havens or the Rings of Power? Well, it's all here!
The information is nicely organized, including translations (where necessary) and source reference. Now, the one thing I must say is that if you have not read the Silmarillion, then a good deal of the information here will not mean much to you. If you have read it, then this book will be a great resource for you. If you haven't read the Silmarillion (like my daughter), then you will still find this a treasure trove of fascinating information. My daughter and I both highly recommend this book to you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2004
When I bought this book my focus was not on the history (which there was much of), but the elves and their languages. This book contains lots of their words and helpful comments on the origins and developments, but no distinction between the words as to which languages they fit into. Overall helpful as far as history (and very extensive character explanations).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2004
This is a very well written though guide book for the Middel-earth world. I personally think that it's great for any one who wants to learn more about the world that Tolkien created. It answers a lot of questions that aren't difficult to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2004
I agree with others that the definitions aren't often that clear and require that you know the character/item ahead of time. But there are a few areas of improvement that would really make this book shine:
-Including guide words on the top of pages would make finding terms easier.
-The genealogical charts at the end are full of errors - mostly typographical - including obvious ones such as switching the names "Aragorn II" and "Arathorn II".
-Maps would make geographical descriptions so much easier. They may have not been included for other reasons, but would make this truly a superb reference.
In conclusion, this book may be misleading in its appeal and not be so well suited to the casual reader. It may also spoil some events you have not yet read if you are reading Tolkien for the first time. It is great for that occasional (aka frequent) confusion though. It is a useful reference and with a good edit would be vastly more excellent and accurate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon January 31, 2004
The book has a well thought out design in a dictionary form. You find information on every character, every place, and every thing. There is a section on how to read the sources and abbreviations in the book. There are appendixes with A Chronology of the First Age, Genealogical Tables, and Conversion of page references to Houghton Mifflin Editions.
Some may think this guide is geared towards those that already have a basic knowledge of Middle earth. But upon exam one finds it is like any other dictionary those with a large vocabulary may need an occasional glance; while others may have to look up the words that explain the words.
I find it indispensable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2004
I give kudos for this book. I truly enjoy it. The only complaint I have is I feel it is incomplete. There are characters I'd care to know more about from Simarillion that aren't included. It is a great resource otherwise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse