Customer Reviews


1,262 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,051)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comment on the product
While a Lord of the Rings fanatic myself, I don't see a reason to write an extensive commentary on the trilogy. If you want a review on the book there are more than sufficient amounts of widely varied opinions below my own that should satiate one's curiosity as to the virtues (or lack thereof) of Tolkien's most acclaimed work.

I feel it more important to note...
Published on Oct. 11 2006 by S. Peters

versus
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but *not* leather binding
Only an balrog could object to an revised 50th anniversary edition, with corrections beyond those in the the standard revised version. BUT...

This edition is *not* "leather bound:" it's a less-than-ordinary hardcover binding with paper-thin faux-leather glued over paper boards. The bookmark ribbon breaks the binding. Signatures are glued rather than sewn...
Published on Feb. 9 2010 by mcewin


‹ Previous | 1 2127 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comment on the product, Oct. 11 2006
By 
S. Peters (Calgary, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Paperback)
While a Lord of the Rings fanatic myself, I don't see a reason to write an extensive commentary on the trilogy. If you want a review on the book there are more than sufficient amounts of widely varied opinions below my own that should satiate one's curiosity as to the virtues (or lack thereof) of Tolkien's most acclaimed work.

I feel it more important to note that the item you will be receiving is NOT the one portrayed in the image, but rather a boxset of the three individual novels from the relatively recent Harper Collins reprinting. These three novels are the mass market stylized black ones which have a ring of yellow, red or green on the covers, distinguishing one novel from the next, as well as the glossy black background markings. Unfortunately, I had ordered this item thinking that it was a different printing (due to cover art) that I didn't yet possess and upon receiving the product, I was a little put out to discover that I now have two identical boxsets of black covers. The second will still make a great gift for someone else, but you should be aware that this item is inconsistent with the picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Edition, Nov. 15 2004
By 
Michael R. Zwarun "phenker" (Thornhill, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Hardcover)
As an owner of numerous editions, I welcome this latest revision in honour of the 50th anniversary. The soft leather cover is quite nice to the touch and the printing quality is superlative. The numerous revisions to the text are welcome and the two-coloured printing in spots is similar to the deluxe editions from 30 years ago.
If you desire an excellent edition at a very affordable price, this is the one to get. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but *not* leather binding, Feb. 9 2010
By 
mcewin "mac" (St. John's, NL, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Hardcover)
Only an balrog could object to an revised 50th anniversary edition, with corrections beyond those in the the standard revised version. BUT...

This edition is *not* "leather bound:" it's a less-than-ordinary hardcover binding with paper-thin faux-leather glued over paper boards. The bookmark ribbon breaks the binding. Signatures are glued rather than sewn together, not held together by the 'leather', but glued onto the paper end sheets, which are separated from the paper spine. Poor production generally: end papers badly centred, more than a little random glue and rubber cement on the covers that really mars the appearance. [See annotated Customer Image #2]. Reviewers elsewhere have commented on uneven type quality; this 2nd printing does not have that problem.

It's an OK one-volume edition, given the revisions. *Not* a 'collectible', definitely not worth the CDN$86 list, barely worth the discounted $56 given the disappointment factor. Don't give this as a gift to a Tolkien fan, expecting rapture. I kept mine for the revisions, first-time readers look elsewhere.

Amazon: please *stop* advertising this edition as 'leather bound': it is *serious* misrepresentation of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Nov. 30 2008
By 
Loran M. Olfert (Abbotsford, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful edition of an already supremely amazing publication that any true Tolkien fan shouldn't be without. It combines all three parts of the trilogy, including all prefaces and appendices, into a drool-inspiring leatherbound single edition with gold-gilded pages. Simply the nicest edition of Lord of the Rings to date, though since they have published the three books again with many full colour illustrations, which I am going to need to add to my collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From one Tolkien fan to another ..., Dec 18 2004
By 
Deena (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Hardcover)
For anyone who is a true fan of Professor Tolkien's works, this is a must-have book. The quality of the pages is fabulous and the case and cover are first-class. I have the paperback version of the book, which I will continue to use for reading purposes ... This beautiful 50th edition book needs to be put on your bookshelf on display. It is a collector's edition that will be passed on from generation to generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings et all., June 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great Review. The Lord of the Rings et all:
Wonderful DVD's. Clean, crisp and all additional material included. Excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, April 22 2014
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Paperback)
I had to try three times before I could get into this book, but it was worth it. Lots of details which I like in fantasy stories. Was sad when I reached the end. A classic. Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing deal!, March 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great price for a beautiful book I haven't seen it cheaper anywhere else! Lightweight and easy to hold and read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good price, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Paperback)
Sometimes its a pain to find books in a book store but Amazon makes it easy to get those ones that you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battle of Good and Evil, Jan. 18 2014
The films have introduced a new generation to the books. The first hundred pages are a continuation of The Hobbit but it is well worth ploughing your way through them to read the rest of the Lord of the Rings which is a more adult novel. The concepts of evil are fully explored in the book and the good characters have enough reality to them to make the narrative interesting. Good characters often appear insipid beside evil ones in fiction but that is not the case here.

It is a heavy book so the kindle version might be preferable :)

The Concept of Evil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2127 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Two Towers
The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien (Hardcover - Dec 15 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 20.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews