summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars187
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$46.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 4, 2003
A Review by Charlie
Frodo and Sam continue their journey to Mordor while Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli are off chasing the orcs that stole Merry and Pippen, (little did they know Merry and Pippen were on their own adventure as well!) Frodo and Sam capture the creature Gollum and make him their guide who is to take them to the black gate of Mordor, or will he? Meanwhile saruman the white plans to kill all the men of middle earth and acts on that plan! Will the story end happily? Only you can find out.
I love how this book can creep you out! It's crazy, I mean you'll be reading and cold shiver will go down your spine or you'll jump mid sentence. This is a creepy line near the end of the book: "For long now she has been hungry...but nothing of this evil which they had stirred up against them did poor Sam know!" I also love the action in this story here's an excerpt from my favorite chapter Helms Deep: An axe swung and swept back, two orcs fell headless, the others fled. The final strongpoint in this novel is in the descriptions of the landscapes, characters, and other things. Here is a description of and Ent's hand: "A large knob-knuckled hand was laid on each of their shoulders."
I recommend this book to lovers of fantasy and imaginative stories. I think men may prefer it but women like it too. You should have some free time though, it's kind of long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2003
A Review by Charlie
Marie Antonia is given a diary by her teacher so she may learn to be a better writer and speller. For years she writes in this diary. When she was 7 she's told that when she's older she is to marry the Dauphine of France (prince). At the age of 13 the official marriage proposal comes from the king. There is much preparation to be done before she is married. When she meets her husband for the first time she is repulsed by him, but later grows to love him.
One of the things that I didn't like about Marie and all the royal characters in general was the way they thought of the "common" people. The rule that they have that common people can not talk to a royal or noble unless spoken to first is ridiculous. though I do know that was just the way it was in the past, I'm glad people don't act like that anymore. I did like how the author made the Dauphin though. How she made Louis "repulsive" looking but a little more lovable in the end.
I would not recommend this book for everyone. I think you would have to be interested in history and the lifestyles of the royals long ago, or how people then dealt with things. Though otherwise I would have to say it's a good book and I would recommend it to quite a few people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2003
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
By: J.r.r Tolkien
Reviewed By: J. Soon
Period: 6
This book has section 3 and 4 of the Lord of the Rings series, and tells about the companies' deeds. It all starts when Bromir, a fiends who has tried taken the ring from Frodo, dies. Meanwhile, Merry and Pippin were caught by orc-guards and are taken to the city of IsenGard. Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli are in pursuit, though. Then the riders of Rohan apper, and they destroy the orcs. The hobbits now escaped and now they meet Treebeard, the ent. Later on, Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli meet Gandalf again, who has returned from the dead. When they met with Gandalf, he takes Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli to King Theoden's castle. Gandalf heals the king of a curse, and they are now both allied. All of them now continue their journey towards Isengard. Meanwhile, Saruman and Wormtoung are stuck in the tower of Orthanc. Saruman was no longer a wizard after this because he would not repent towards Gandalf. Wormtongue threw a stone out the window, but it failed to Gandalf, because the stone was a palantir, one of the seeing stones of Numenor. Peregrin picks the stone up and gives it to Gandalf, but later steals it at night. Peregrin looked at it, and he is revealed at Sauron. But Gandalf forgives Pippin, and gives the stone to Aragorn, who rides away to Minas Tirith. Meanwhile, in a distant land, Frodo and Samwise are lost in Emyn Muil. Gollum has been on their trail. But later on, Frodo tames Gollum and Gollum becomes Frodo's servant. Gollum leads Sam and Frodo through the Dead Marshes and then they reach Morranon, the Black Gate of the Land of Mordor in the north. They can't pass through the gate, so Gollum tells Frodo to go to a secret entrance in the Mordor Mountains. While on their journey, they met Faromir, the brother of Boromir, who was leading an army of Men of Gordon. Faramir learned about the Ring, then tried to overcome his brother, Baromir. faramir then helps the hobbits by replenishing their supplies. After that, Frodo, Sam, and Gollum make their way through Cirith Ungol, the spider's pass. Faramir warned that that place was dangerous, unliked Gollum had told. Then they reach the Cross-roads, and take the path towards Minas Morgul. Meanwhile, they see Sauron's first army, led by the Black King of Ringwraiths. Gollum then guides the hobbits to Cirith Ungol. At that same time, Gollum betrays them, and leads them to a monster called Shelob. But Gollum was frustrated after that because of Sam's bravery. Samwise chases Gollum away and hurts Shelob. After that, Frodo is stung by Shelob and dies. Samwise then realizes that he must complete the journey alone, but as he goes into Mordor, he overhears the Orcs. He now learned that Frodo is not dead, but drugged. The orcs then carry Frodo's body down a tunnel where Sam cannot catch up...
I liked the book because they gave italicized poems or songs. I like the songs in this book because they are both cheerful and emotional. They also might give clues what happens next in the story. For example,"Trough Rohan over fen and field where the long grass grows. The west wind comes walking, and about the walls it goes. What news from the west O wandering wind, do you bring to me tonight. Have you seen Boromir the Tall by moon or by starlight? "I saw him ride over seven streams, over waters wide and grey; I saw him in the empty lands, until he passed away in the shadows of the North. I saw him then no more. The North Wind may have heard the horn of the son of Denethor. O Boromir! From the highwalls westward I looked afar, but you came not from the empty lands where no men are."This song gave me clues what would happen next, so that's what I like about the Story.
What I don't like about the story is that there were too many words I couldn't pronounce. Sometimes I read pretty fast, them a hard word that I can't pronounce comes up, and then I'm going to have to read the word slowly. For example,"The skirts of the storm were lifting, ragged and wet, and the main battle had passed to spread its great wings over Emyn Muil, upon which the dark thought of Sauron brooded for a while. Thence it turned, smiting the vale of Anduin with hail and lightning, and casting its shadows upon Minas Tirith with threat of war." In those sentences, I had to stop and pronounce the hard words I couldn't pronounce. That's what I don't like about the story.
My favorite part in the story was near the end of the book. Actually, it is the end of the book. It is the part when Frodo get drugged by Shelob and then taken down to the tunnel where Samwise couldn't catch up. It reminds me of a brother and he is being taken away, and the little brother cries in tears trying to catch up to him. Also I like it because in movie format, there was so much suspense. in the movies, the orcs take away Frodo, carryng him down the tunnel, when Sam tries to get him back. Then after that, it just says "The End."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2002
The Two Towers is the second book in the J.R.R Tolkein Classic Trilogy, Lord of The Rings.
The Book starts at the ending of the first book in the Lord Of The Rings, Fellowship of the Ring, when The Fellowship splits and goes different paths. The hobbits Frodo and Sam go to Mordor to finish the quest of destroying the Ring Of Power. As they pass towards Mordor, Frodo and Sam capture Gollum, who has been stalking after them for the ring.They force him to be their guide to Mordor. As they pass into the edge of Mordor, They go to Cirith Ungol to take a hidden route though the mountains. Gollum tricks Frodo and Sam by taking them to the Shelob, a giant spider. They sneak through its cave and Sam kills the Shelob. But Frodo was poisoned and taken by Orcs to a guardhouse.
As Sam and Frodo are on their quest in Mordor, Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas are tracking The Orcs who stole Merry and Pippin. The Orcs are killed by Riders of The Mark. Merry and Pippin escape and meet Faragorn,part of large living tree race known as the Ents. Faragorn and the other ents attack Sauraman and defeat him with the help of the Riders of The Mark and Gandalf after their battle at Helm's Deep. Aragorn , Gimili, and Legolas rejoin Merry and Pippin and head to Tithral Minias to aid Gondor from Mordor's Attacks.
I thought that this was a very enjoyable book and I would read it again. The book added many interest creatures and charaters that made J.R.R Tolkein's series famous such as the Ents.I liked how it showed the charaters progression as they passed on their separate quest and conflicts and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each charater developed a distinct personality and showed how they changed from the beginning of the book to the end. The problem with the book was if you had not seen the movie or read the first book , you would be completly lost. At times the book was confusing but eventully it made sense.
I think this was a very enjoyable book and should be read with the rest of the Lord of the Rings trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2002
The second book of the "Lord of the Rings" series is named "The Two Towers." The first part of the book is about the company of Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas following the trail of an Orc company who captured two of their Hobbit companions (Merry and Pippin). With the help of an old friend and other the company finally finds the lost Hobbits and they overtake Saruman at Isengard in the process.
During the second part of the novel Frodo and Sam (two other Hobbits) were traveling to seek Mount Doom to get rid of the evil ring. They capture Gollum who had been following them for a long time and he agrees to take them where they want to go. They trust Gollum and follow him. Eventually Gollum flees in fright of Boromir's brother. Frodo and Sam however stay and get great provisions from him. Then they move on and run into danger witch leads Frodo and Sam to be separated.
I have enjoyed the trills of the first two books in the "Lord of the Rings" series. I am sure to read the final book soon. Even if you do not enjoy the science fiction genre I still recommend this book. It is a great read and always keeps you interested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2002
"The Two Towers" opens with the dispersal of the Fellowship Of The Ring. Boromir, eldest son of the Steward of Gondor, is killed by marauding Orcs intent on capturing Merry and Pippin. In a sense, his heroic death is an act of redemption on his part, after trying to seize the Ring from Frodo. Merry and Pippin are carried off by these Orcs, servants of the corrupt wizard Saruman. Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas begin their trek towards Minas Tirith, the capital of Gondor, hoping to overtake Saruman's Orcs. And Frodo and Samwise proceed towards Mordor and Mount Doom.
This second installment of "The Lord Of The Rings" is in two parts; the first deals with the exploits of Merry, Pippin, Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas. The second recounts Frodo's and Samwise's perilous journey to Mordor. Without a doubt, this is the most character driven installment of the entire "Lord Of The Rings" saga. Without giving away the plot, the book is an insightful survey of the main characters and their motivations. Suffice it to say that their interactions amongst themselves as well as with important minor characters such as Fangorn, the chief of the Ents, play an important part in determining the outcome of the war of the Ring.
Much of Tolkien's best writing can be found in this book. I found "The Two Towers" as engrossing as either "Fellowship Of The Ring" or "The Return Of The King", the third book in the trilogy. Incidentally, "The Two Towers" refers to Saruman's tower, Orthanc, at Isengard, and the Dark Lord Sauron's tower in Mordor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2002
Fantasy tales have long been recognized for their tales of magic, mythical creatures, and far-off lands of make-believe. Magical rings have often been used in such tales of magic to provide an intriguing source of magic and mystery. Most of these rings play important roles in the stories they are found in. Howerver, there is one magical ring whose significance far exceeds the importance of any other magical ring in any other fantasy story so much that it causes an entire trilogy to evolve around it. This ring is known as the Ring of Power. The continuing story of this magical ring and its bearer, Frodo Baggins, a young hobbit of the Shire, is told the second part of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Two Towers. The Lord of the Rings tells of the adventures of Frodo Baggins in his quest to destroy the Ring of Power. In the land of Middle-Earth, the trilogy's setting, Frodo, along with his friend, Samwise Gamgee, must take the fated voyage to the land of Mordor. When the two travelling hobbits cross paths with a villain who is having second thoughts about his villainous ways, they must decide how they will get to Mordor. Now it is up to Frodo to decide whether or not it is worth placing the entire fate of Middle-Earth into the hands of a creature that was once a member of the enemy. While reading this book I found myself totally absorbed in the story. In this sequel to The Fellowship of the Ring, Tolkien once again uses vivid descriptions of people, places, battles, and thoughts to captivate his readers. Be it a character or a plain old rock, Tolkien takes the time to describe every detail. Tolkien has written the book so that there is never a dull moment in the story. The battles are so real that the reader feels that they are in the middle of the action. These are only a few of the qualities that made J.R.R. Tolkien such a great author. What lies ahead for Frodo on his journey to Mordor? Frodo and Sam both know that people who achieve something great are remembered in songs. If Frodo can accomplish this task, he could possibly be the subject of a song that will live longer than time itself. How could such a small creature like Frodo accomplish the single greatest challenge that all of Middle-Earth has ever seen? Only time will tell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2002
The Two Towers consists of the second part of three in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. It
is about a group of people and their quest to destroy the source of all evil in Middle-Earth.
At the beginning of the story, Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas are searching for Pippin and
Merry. They find them living with Ents (very big, strong, talking, walking, trees). They
and the Ents fight a bloody battle with orcs. The action then turns to Frodo and Sam who
separated from the "Fellowship". They are led by Gollum to Mordor, where they are
attacked by a giant spider. The rest is a mystery for you until you read the book for
yourself!
One of my Favorite quotes in this story occurs when Gandalf, Aragorn, and the
rest, find Saruman in his tower and call him out for a chat. "Have we ridden fourth to
victory, only to stand at last amazed by an old liar with honey on his forked tongue? So
would the trapped hound speak to the hounds, if he could." This describes Saruman, a
very evil man, trying to sweet-talk his way out of a jam. As you read The Two Towers
you find many unique quotes like this one. It is one of the reasons that I like the book.
I would recomed this book to a patient reader who doesn't need non-stop action,
and likes vivid descriptions. The author takes so much time describing the events in a
certain scene that not many events really take place in the course of the story. This book,
and the whole trilogy for that matter, is perfect for someone who enjoys fantasy and using
your imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2002
Well, if you liked The Fellowship of the Ring of The Lord of the Rings series, then you'll have a ball with The Two Towers. In the second part of this story, it continues off with the scattered fellowship looking for their ring-bearer, Frodo, who somehow disappeared along with Samwise. Along with that, the quest continues with Frodo continuing his quest of destroying the ring of all evil in Mordor.
J.R.R. Tolkien is a tremendous writer. Besides The Lord of the Rings, others stories like The Silmarillion is a great example of his work. This book is like an introduction of Middle-Earth, which is where The Lord of the Rings series take place. If Tolkien hadn't existed in his time, then how would fans of the him be able to live without his stories? Without J.R.R. Tolkien, then his stories wouldn't exist and how could we live with that? He also uses great imagery in his stories, which is a great asset to the series.
For the fans of Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings is highly recommended, for it is written by a great author. Not only that, you don't even have to be a fan of the author. If you love stories with magic, friendship, and a fight between good and evil, then this series is a perfect match for you. For friendship, both Frodo and Sam will go far beyond the dangers of Middle-Earth to destroy that ring. If one falls, then the other falls also. That's how friendships work between Frodo and Sam. Their bond is their courage to continue on to Mordor. For me, this is why I love this story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2002
Gandalf is gone. Boromir is dying. Frodo and Sam are gone, and the rest of the Fellowship has been disbanded. Things couldn't be worse for the 9. But things eventually begin to go up. Frodo and Sam encounter Gollum, the creature that Bilbo took the Ring from, and he promises that he'll help them get to Mordor to destroy the Ring. However, things and people aren't always what or who they seem to be. Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli search for Merry and Pippin who were captured by Orcs. Gandalf returns to help them in their search, and plans to take on Saruman in a duel to get at least one enemy out of the way. Merry and Pippin meet up with the Ents, a species of talking trees, and they agree to help in the fight against Saruman because of Saruman's tendency to kill trees. Meanwhile, Frodo, Sam, and Gollum meet Faramir, Boromir's brother, and then they are off to Mordor. But when they get there, things go horribly wrong... Once again, this is an amazing story, and if you liked Part 1, continue with this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.81