Customer Reviews


1,262 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,051)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comment on the product
While a Lord of the Rings fanatic myself, I don't see a reason to write an extensive commentary on the trilogy. If you want a review on the book there are more than sufficient amounts of widely varied opinions below my own that should satiate one's curiosity as to the virtues (or lack thereof) of Tolkien's most acclaimed work.

I feel it more important to note...
Published on Oct. 11 2006 by S. Peters

versus
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but *not* leather binding
Only an balrog could object to an revised 50th anniversary edition, with corrections beyond those in the the standard revised version. BUT...

This edition is *not* "leather bound:" it's a less-than-ordinary hardcover binding with paper-thin faux-leather glued over paper boards. The bookmark ribbon breaks the binding. Signatures are glued rather than sewn...
Published on Feb. 9 2010 by mcewin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Genius Book Reviews - Novel Review, Dec 11 2013
Format: Paperback

Rating: 9

Review: The Two Towers was a fantastic continuation of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. The book broke off into different story lines, so the reader could get a full view of everything that was happening. This novel built onto the first book by having more action, and the ability to keep the reader intrigued throughout. Being the second book in the trilogy, The Two Towers succeeded in setting up the storyline for the finale, while also keeping the tale upbeat and interesting on it’s own. This impressed me, for most of the time the middle book in a trilogy is disappointing. In conclusion, I suggest this novel to those who have read the first book in the trilogy, enjoyed it, and are looking for more. I am hoping for great things in the final instalment of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good litterature., Oct. 25 2013
By 
R. Paquette (Granby, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Paperback)
Item shipped promptly and was well packaged.
Read it in french many years ago and own all three movies..
Bought it in English for the purpose of rereading it simultaneously in French and English in order to improve my fluency in English.
Since it is high end littérature, the vocabulary is elaborate, both in French and in English, which provides for an excellent learning opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tolkien, Oct. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the best of this genre. start by reading "the hobbit" then go into the trilogy. Tolkien also has a variety of other books worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Completed for the 18th time, Aug. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first read LOTR when I was 18. Thirty years later I have just completed it for the 18th time. The only other book I have read more than twice is Dune. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sweet book!!!!!!!!!!, July 21 2013
By 
Lynae Yankee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the book was a blast! The hobbits are funny,especially Samwise.It is a little violent but I still enjoyed it.Can't wait to buy the next book……!

Caleb yankee,10 years old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificient Box Set, July 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord Of The Rings (Paperback)
I was really surprised at the quality of the product. It's beautiful and the quality amazing. I bought it to read it again, since the first time I read the story the book didn't belong to me. I recommend this product to every Tolkien fan! It is worth it and the price was just so irresistible! I had to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, May 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Its more complete than the movies of course, and it clarified some questions that I had about the story. I'm happy with all of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great boxed set, May 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Paperback)
Love the books, and I love the packaging of the set. They look great on display around the house. Arrived very quickly and I am very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Listening, April 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the unabridged recording with Robert Inglis and is well read and paced appropriately. However, I later found out that you can get this on iTunes for less if you are willing to forego the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the lord of the rings, March 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i like this book and i am reading it. it is a good choice to read it when you are free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Two Towers
The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien (Hardcover - Dec 15 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 20.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews