Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of a huge range of survival topics
This is a great book for reviewing the basic concepts around a huge range of survival situations and skills. The book starts off with a few chapters on the basics of survival- mental attitudes, equipment, planning, and general tips. It then briefly explores how to survive, in basic terms, in different wilderness environments, from deserts to rain forests to the arctic...
Published on Feb. 19 2011 by A. Volk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tiny book with TONS of info
I haven't really read much of it yet, but it seems to be packed with info.
It would be nice if it was a larger size with bigger text, though...
Published 5 months ago by Byronic


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Loov the book, April 15 2014
By 
Draco mcfair (Hamilton Ontario) - See all my reviews
The only problem I had wasthat it is the pocket version not the slightly bigger one buti have not the best eyes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD -- concise, cheap, reliable. BAD -- bad pics, outdated, no depth, no app, Feb. 25 2014
By 
High-Tech Prepper (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sas Survival Handbook: The Ultimate Guide To Surviving Anywhere (Paperback)
*Owned both the pocket and full versions, as well I have purchased the app for android.

PROS

1) Concise, is an encyclopedia of info on how to survive in most biomes.

2) Cheap, for the information it contains the price is incredible. To think that all this knowledge is only 10$!!!

3) Organized. Because its been around for so long the organization has been optimized.

4) Written by a well researched and experienced author.

CONS

1) There is an app available for iOS and Android that you must purchase on top of this book, it would be nice if that were included in the package. The digital version includes some useful tools that utilize your smart phones sensors.

2) Bad pictures. The recent survival craze has unleashed a massive amount of high quality survival books with comparable info to this one, some of which are very well illustrated with real photos especially of plants, user friendly infographics etc this has black and white drawings and some colored drawings of plants that are useless.

3) Plant pictures won't help you much. Its hard to identify certain plants accuratley even with real photos due to look alikes and the fact that plants look widley different depending on what stage of growth its at. Relying on the drawings in this book may be rolling the dice...

4) No depth. This book covers a broad array of topics in a narrow way, you are likely better off buying a survival book tailored to your ecosystem/ biome.

5) Redundant weight. As said above, carrying a heavy book in the boreal forest in which only 50% of it will be pertainent to your environment may be a waste of weight and space...

*Years ago this book would have earned a 4-5 star rating, but nowadays modern publishing has enabled the production of cheap, user friendly graphics, waterproof paper etc, that is tailored to your environment. It simply isn't the most practical, and I would give it a 2.5 if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, Feb. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sas Survival Handbook: The Ultimate Guide To Surviving Anywhere (Paperback)
Book is clear and informative. There are things you will never use but still a good read. Nice and small that it can fit in ones backpack with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, Feb. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sas Survival Handbook: The Ultimate Guide To Surviving Anywhere (Paperback)
the best bush craft book ever from camping to skinning toeing rope shelter if you want a bush craft book just get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive!, Feb. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sas Survival Handbook: The Ultimate Guide To Surviving Anywhere (Paperback)
A really good survival guide. I love trying out some of the stuff while camping and it is really easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive but basic, Jan. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sas Survival Handbook: The Ultimate Guide To Surviving Anywhere (Paperback)
Covers a very broad range of topics, but only in a very brief and generic sort of way. If you really want to know how to do some of these things, you'd need to get books on just those topics to get a much more in depth sort of treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Survival for all regions in the world, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sas Survival Handbook: The Ultimate Guide To Surviving Anywhere (Paperback)
I am still half way through and is jam packed book with a survival tips and techniques.I can not comment in full but so far is very good book.But for all weekend warriors and survivalist applying these skills in real life situation is something that this book will provide, but does require practice.Like the fact that I can learn how to skin small animal etc...Print quality is fairly decent some color stuff too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised, June 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sas Survival Handbook: The Ultimate Guide To Surviving Anywhere (Paperback)
Simply the best. Often imitated; never duplicated.

Shouldn't be a question if you're looking for the most comprehensive survival book on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it!!!!!, May 21 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not an outdoorsman. However, I am I interested in that knowledge that will help me. That knowledge that would have never occurred to me unless I came accross a book such as this. I LOVE it, and you will too!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Survival? YEAH!, April 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an all in one book. Very complete, very small, it fits pretty much everywhere. A must have in a car or a camping backpack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sas Survival Handbook: The Ultimate Guide To Surviving Anywhere
Sas Survival Handbook: The Ultimate Guide To Surviving Anywhere by John Wiseman (Paperback - March 9 2009)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 19.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews