Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars GAME
good morning I play with my scrabble and excellent distraction see many words see many country see many new obstacle
Published 19 months ago by girard

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful
I found this book to be close to useless--extremely hard to figure out how it's supposed to be organized, close to impossible to find anything.
Published on Jan. 4 2003 by J. Marren


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful, Jan. 4 2003
By 
J. Marren "jtm497" (Glen Ridge, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Word-Finder (Mass Market Paperback)
I found this book to be close to useless--extremely hard to figure out how it's supposed to be organized, close to impossible to find anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Listless Word-Finder, Feb. 10 2000
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Word-Finder (Mass Market Paperback)
This was an extremely frustrating book to read. There were many gaps in the word lists. The two letter word list only contained 85 of the 96 acceptable two letter words. It was missing ag, ex, hm, mm, mo, mu, ne, uh, um, wo, and xu. All of those words are contained in The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary (1995) but not contained in this 1998 edition based on that dictionary. The Three Letter Words from Two Letter Words also had many gaps. The very first two letter word (AA - cindery lava)only listed BAA, and totally missed AAH, AAL, and AAS. This is just one of many, many, omissions through out the book. The only benefit I found in having the book was in finding some words which contain a particular letter in the middle or the end of the word. But even these lists were incomplete. This book is not worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Listless Word-Finder, Feb. 10 2000
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Word-Finder (Mass Market Paperback)
This was an extremely frustrating book to read. There were many gaps in the word lists. The two letter word list only contained 85 of the 96 acceptable two letter words. It was missing ag, ex, hm, mm, mo, mu, ne, uh, um, wo, and xu. All of those words are contained in The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary (1995) but not contained in this 1998 book based on that dictionary. The Three Letter Words from Two Letter Words also had many gaps. The very first two letter word (AA - cindery lava)only listed BAA, and totally missed AAH, AAL, and AAS. This is just one of many, many, omissions through out the book. The only benefit I found in having the book was in finding some words which contain a particular letter in the middle of the end of the word. But even these lists were incomplete. This book is not worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book, Nov. 13 2002
By 
Benjamin Good (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Word-Finder (Mass Market Paperback)
I'll add to what's already been written, in case some people are still considering buying it. There's too many legal words missing. Additionally, the author recommends you memorize all the three-letter words, but he doesn't actually list them (except those formed from 2-letter words, and of course his 2-letter word list is inaccurate), as if we're never going to need to make 3-letter words in a game.
Don't let 'Official' in the title fool you either, this book is not endorsed by the makers of Scrabble or any kind of Scrabble players' organization.
Given what else is out there, this book is to be avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I would rather use Anagrammer, June 6 2011
By 
I. Computing - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Word-Finder (Mass Market Paperback)
I got this book, its pretty much impossible to lookup scrabble words. It is not organized properly, no proper index. Online tools like Anagrammer is head and shoulders above this. Google it.

This book is also very outdated and missing many words such as AAH, AAL, AAS. So, I'd rather use the anagrammer. Wasted 9 bucks on this book, now collecting dust on my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars less than one star, Feb. 22 2000
By 
Renee Hauser (Utah, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Word-Finder (Mass Market Paperback)
This was an extremely useless book. It lacked many words and was very hard to use. I wish I had read the other reveiw before I bought it. How can this be called "Official" when it is lacking in so much information? For example, DA is listed as a two letter word in the book, but was actually removed from the official dictionary in 1998. And, many words that ARE acceptable in the dictionary are not listed at all. This can really mess a player up. If you want to lose at the game, use this book. Otherwise, just don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A great idea... but..., May 23 2003
By 
James Conley (Sunnyvale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Word-Finder (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a good idea badly executed. The two major flaws are that (1) it is nearly impossible to look things up in it because of a lack of header/footers to tell what section you are in, and (2) it is woefully out-of-date with even the two-letter words being incorrect. I found this out the hard way playing "da" a few too many times.
Fix those two things and include the actual 3-word letter list and you've got a useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, April 24 2001
By A Customer
I, too, wish I had read the reviews before buying this useless book. I purchased it thinking it was a different book, an excellent one I recall from the 1980s, that actually had useful lists. In addition to the problems mentioned by other reviewers, I warn that the print in this book is very tiny, jammed together, and somewhat blurred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GAME, April 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Word-Finder (Mass Market Paperback)
good morning I play with my scrabble and excellent distraction see many words see many country see many new obstacle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Official Scrabble Word-Finder, Jan. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Word-Finder (Mass Market Paperback)
Le livre est bien fait assez facile à travailler avec ...dans ce cas jouer avec.
Seul chose à reprocher devrait séparer le alphabet A-B-C etc. sont à la continuité quand on cherche les lettres pas facile(les A sont finis une autre page pour les B) et même les indiquer en haut des pages
Le format est bien facile à transporter etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Official Scrabble Word-Finder
The Official Scrabble Word-Finder by Robert W. Schachner (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 30 1998)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews