Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Buy!
OUT OF SIGHT sounded like a great read, dramatic, fast-paced, and sensual. The synopsis, in fact, greatly understated the quality of this book. Popular author Elmore Leonard provides a sharp, intelligent, quick read in this novel. Bank robber Jack Foley and federal marshal Karen Sisco have an undeniable chemistry that Leonard explores fully in every witty, clever page of...
Published on Sept. 1 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I Suppose He's Done Better
I'm new to Elmore Leonard and finally decided to check out his work. I also haven't seen the movie for this book. Since the guy gets so many rave reviews, and his books have been made into movies, and since he's written around thirty books, he must be doing something right. Some of his other books are probably awesome, but I wasn't too impressed by this one. The plot is...
Published on Feb. 24 2002 by doomsdayer520


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars From Florida To Detroit, Does Love Win?, May 25 2004
By 
Untouchable (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out Of Sight (Hardcover)
Starting in a Florida prison, the opening few chapters of OUT OF SIGHT are set as a frenetic pace as bank robber extraordinaire, Jack Foley plans and executes a daring escape. Helping him in his bid for freedom is his former partner in crime, Buddy who is waiting with a car in the prison car park. Also waiting in the car park happens to be US Marshall Karen Sisco who is sitting in her car, preparing to enter the facility when Foley makes his unexpected appearance. Quickly overpowering her, they stuff her in the trunk of her car with Foley climbing in behind her and Buddy slipping behind the wheel to affect the getaway.
Unbelievably cool in the crisis involved in the jail break, Foley attempts to engage Karen in conversation, even wondering aloud whether it might be possible, if circumstances were different, for the two of them to become attracted to one another. Karen of course is incredulous and wants nothing to do with the escaped prisoner, apart from capturing him and delivering him back to prison. Thinking on the events later, after escaping from Buddy and Foley, she does find herself impressed with Foley's cool head under pressure.
There is a brief lull in the action as we recover from the excitement of the opening scenes and the thought of the next score is placed in Foley's head. This takes the form of a robbery target in Detroit, supposedly a low-risk venture made easier by some local help. After narrowly escaping capture from the US Marshalls that includes another run-in with Karen Sisco, he decides that it's time for a change of scenery and he and Buddy heads north.
By this time, it becomes obvious that there's some sort of weird fascination between Jack Foley and Karen Sisco taking place. They're somehow drawn to one another, even though they are on directly opposite sides of the law.
In Detroit, Foley and Buddy are out of their comfort zones. They don't know the city, they don't know the people and it's just started to snow. They hook up with a truly dangerous fellow ex-con named Maurice. He is their aforementioned local help, but they realise that the low-risk operation is shaping up as anything but. With nothing better on offer and against their better judgement, they go ahead with the plan but are extremely wary.
Meanwhile Karen Sisco has tracked Foley to Detroit after some very slick detective work, and after talking her way onto the Foley case. The inevitability of their meeting is obvious. What remains up in the air is what will happen after they meet and when it comes to plots created by Elmore Leonard, this means that the story could lead anywhere from here.
On the surface this is told in a light, breezy tone thanks mainly to the cool behaviour of Foley in times of crisis backed up by Buddy's comical acceptance of Foley's decisions, no matter how unusual they seemed. When the setting changed to the colder wintry city of Detroit, the tone darkened considerably to reflect the dangerous Maurice, with whom they have to deal. You get a definite sense that the significant scenes are going to take place in Detroit thanks to these strong mood changes.
Elmore Leonard mixes an easy conversational tone with tight, tough dialogue. He manages to give each of his characters their own distinctive voice thanks to his clever use of phraseology. Even though Foley and Buddy are ex-cons, in this book they can be considered the good guys and their language reflects this through a minimum of swearing and slang. In glaring comparison, we find that the Detroit "bad guys" such as Maurice, although also ex-cons, litter their dialogue with constant and extreme profanities. It's a simple but effective way to differentiate the difference between bad and downright evil.
Ultimately, OUT OF SIGHT is a love story. Sure it's an unusual love story in the extreme, but a love story just the same. With plenty of action taking place on the periphery of the Foley and Sisco mating dance, it's an absorbing book that provided me with an unexpected ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Buy!, Sept. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Out Of Sight (Mass Market Paperback)
OUT OF SIGHT sounded like a great read, dramatic, fast-paced, and sensual. The synopsis, in fact, greatly understated the quality of this book. Popular author Elmore Leonard provides a sharp, intelligent, quick read in this novel. Bank robber Jack Foley and federal marshal Karen Sisco have an undeniable chemistry that Leonard explores fully in every witty, clever page of this exciting book. The humor is constantly sharp, the dialogue always plausible, and the plot intriguing and sexy. Fans of this novel should definitely see the film version, which is surprisingly true to the plot of the novel. I purchased this book through Amazon.com right after another great purchase, THE LOSERS' CLUB by Richard Perez, about an unlucky writer addicted to the personals. Both are fun, recommended books. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Out of Sight, Out of Mind..., March 27 2003
This review is from: Out Of Sight (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was poorly written. Its plot was somewhat implausible and the characters were anything but dynamic. It seemed more like a screenplay thinly disguised as a novel, as it possessed very little literary merit. I would not recommend this book to anyone who values his or her leisure time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The movie is very close, March 10 2002
By 
Jeffrey Leeper "kem2070" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Sight (Hardcover)
I picked this up after seeing the great movie with George Clooney, Jennifer Lopez, and Ving Rhames. I wanted to see how close to the original the movie came. Yes, it is very close.
The book is very heavy on dialogue. I found this well done. The book moved rapidly, but I felt I understood the characters involved. It is hard to read the book without seeing the actors in the movie, because the words in the script are identical, in places, to the words in the novel.
Some of the characters described by Leonard are not as you would find in the movie. In the book, Buddy (Foley's partner) is described as a white redneck. For Mr. Ripley, the stock swindler, he has little to no part in the novel, just a brief mention.
If you think you shouldn't read the book because you know how it ends, you are mistaken. Without giving details, the ending of the book is not the same as the ending of the movie. It is a quick, but good, ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I Suppose He's Done Better, Feb. 24 2002
By 
I'm new to Elmore Leonard and finally decided to check out his work. I also haven't seen the movie for this book. Since the guy gets so many rave reviews, and his books have been made into movies, and since he's written around thirty books, he must be doing something right. Some of his other books are probably awesome, but I wasn't too impressed by this one. The plot is rather creative, but the twists and turns seem forced as if Leonard was trying desperately to make the action look less predictable. The dialogue is stunted and poorly constructed, with conversations between characters taking abrupt and nonsensical turns, once again in a forced attempt to avoid predictability. The female and non-white characters here are hardly plausible in their actions or speech. The supposed centerpiece of the story, the relationship between Karen the US Marshall and Foley the bad guy, is poorly developed. Their relationship moves along illogically in fits and starts, and their interactions are far from believable. I guess I'll try a different Leonard book and then I'll see what the fuss is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the movie, Feb. 3 2002
By 
Neel Aroon "jaroon7648" (Lexington, KY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of Sight (Paperback)
Out of sight is a pretty good book but is not as great as the movie which is strange because typically the other way around. The book still is a great crime novel that would please any fan of elmore leonard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An offbeat, intriguing crime novel., Aug. 10 2001
By 
This review is from: Out of Sight (Paperback)
What an intriguing, original and awesomely offbeat crime comedy Out of Sight is! I really enjoyed reading this book and it was quite hard to put it down. Sure, the movie is better but this still remains a sassy story with guns, sex, robbery, escape and action. All of these genres are timed impeccably well and we get into the story straight away. The main characters unfortunately aren't described very well in terms of appearance, but we can sort of picture them out ourselves using Leonard's great description of the characters actions, what they're like and what they feel. The humour in this book is black and devious, just the way I like it. The best parts of this book are when the two main characters, Karen and Jack, are together. The writing in these chapters is really relaxed, cool and really easy to get into. You actually want to find out what happens to them. I think the ending came a bit too fast, but I still really enjoyed reading it. The memorable characters, original story, meaty chapters and offbeat brilliance make this book really worth the while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Cops and Robbers Romance Born in a Prison Break, June 5 2001
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Out of Sight (Paperback)
Stories about criminals trying to escape from prison have always fascinated me. They have much of the same appeal as a locked room mystery. And they also have the possibility of a good tale covering the chase after the prison is left behind. In Out of Sight, Elmore Leonard has created the most unique prison escape story that I have ever read.
Here's the situation. Jack Foley, a career bank robber, has thought of a way to use a planned escape by some other convicts to help him get out. Everything goes smoothly until . . . the way out ends up being covered by a deputy U.S. marshal carrying a shotgun who's visiting the prison to serve a subpoena. What now?
Sound interesting?
Then, Mr. Leonard throws in a role reversal. The deputy is an attractive 28 year-old woman wearing designer clothes.
I think that many of the best novels are those that propose a totally unique situation, and then let the characters deal with the situation. That seems to be how this book was written, and it's fascinating.
She doesn't shoot. He ends up taking her along, and riding in the trunk with her. They start talking . . . and discover they are interested in each other. What if they had met in some other way?
She escapes. Foley's on the run, and she's after him. What will happen to them?
As usual, the dialogue reflects Mr. Leonard's almost-perfect ear for spoken language.
Mr. Leonard's famous wit concerning the foibles of criminals is in evidence in almost every paragraph. If you are ready for lots of laughs from a crime novel, this book may well appeal to you. In fact, the book will remind you a lot of the romantic comedies that the two main characters find that they both adore. Don't be surprised if you are asked to suspend your disbelief from time to time.
On the other hand, there are some truly nasty criminals in the story who do despicable things. If such events disturb or annoy you, this book's darkness should cause you to prefer another source of romantic comedy. You will see this book as a two or three star effort. I graded the book down one star for needless violence.
After you have read the book or thought about the situation that kicks off the plot, think about where you may be missing opportunities to get to know others whom you would like. For example, I have just read a book by Stephen Ambrose in which he describes the pleasure that enemy commanders who have fought against each other find in their post-war friendships.
Speak up or act . . . or forever miss your opportunity to connect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book Made Into a Good Movie!, May 30 2001
By 
Leah Jesse "Giggling Archaeologist" (Victoria, B.C., Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of Sight (Paperback)
I own the movie 'Out of Sight' and I wanted to read the book to see how well it was adapted for the screen. To my relief, the movie did not deviate far from the original plot. Great story with interesting characters that I could read in one afternoon. And a great movie with George Clooney and Jennifer Lopez playing the main characters that was acclaimed by critics, but missed by an unappreciative movie audience. I hope after reading this review people will read the book and see what they've missed on video. I can't wait to read 'Get Shorty' now as well as its sequel 'Be Cool'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A SHOT TO THE GUT., May 23 2001
This review is from: Out of Sight (Paperback)
An absolute winner. Leonard is the master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out Of Sight
Out Of Sight by Elmore Leonard (Mass Market Paperback - July 11 2002)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews