Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review: The Boy Next Door
The book The Boy Next Door by Meg Cabot is about a girl named Mel, who had a neighbor who was an old lady. The old lady was knocked on the head by an anonymous person and she went into a coma. This old lady, named Helen Friedlander had two cats and a dog. Somebody had to take care of the animals so Mel had to do the job but it interfered with her life and her work...
Published on May 24 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Enough
I read "Boy Meets Girl" before this one, so I enjoyed reading about the characters that reapper in "Boy Meets..." However, I still couldn't get past the fact that this was written in emails. I wish it had been written in novel form. Also, the story line is repeated in "Boy Meets Girl." It was entertaining enough, but not entertaining enough...
Published on July 19 2004 by Lauren


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Enough, July 19 2004
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
I read "Boy Meets Girl" before this one, so I enjoyed reading about the characters that reapper in "Boy Meets..." However, I still couldn't get past the fact that this was written in emails. I wish it had been written in novel form. Also, the story line is repeated in "Boy Meets Girl." It was entertaining enough, but not entertaining enough for a second read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review: The Boy Next Door, May 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
The book The Boy Next Door by Meg Cabot is about a girl named Mel, who had a neighbor who was an old lady. The old lady was knocked on the head by an anonymous person and she went into a coma. This old lady, named Helen Friedlander had two cats and a dog. Somebody had to take care of the animals so Mel had to do the job but it interfered with her life and her work. Helen's only relative is her nephew Max Friendlander. Mel e-mailed Max and asked him to come and stay with the animals. He said yes, but he secretly sent one of his friends in his place, John. Mel and John fell in love, and there are even more hardships and conflicts from there on. It was a fun book to read. The author, Meg Cabot used very great details.The whole book is e-mails back and forth among different people. Meg Cabot always kept me wanting to keep turning the pages; this book was never boring. I felt like I was actually there in the book it was so real. I think teenage girls would like this book, and maybe even women in their twenties or thirties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Boy Next Door, May 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
The Boy Next Door
By Meg Cabot
Reviewed by Johanna Saunders
The Boy Next Door is a book that is filled with emails about people's lives. The main character, Melissa Fuller, tells about her life after her eighty-five year old neighbor has gone into a coma. Melissa must then decide how to balance work, and taking care of her neighbors pets. Until she realizes that her neighbor has a grandson who's a famous photographer. And must then try to find out how to track him down. After finally finding his email address, she emails him to ask if he could come up (from the Florida Keys) to look after his grandmas pets. Although he says that he can come up, he doesn't. And instead, decides to send up his best friend in his place, without informing Melissa that it really isn't him. He only did this because he wishes to stay in Key West with the beautiful supermodel Vivica. Not only did Alex see no harm in sending his best friend in his place, but the last thing that he even imagined happening, came true. And now his best friend, John Trent, is in love with Melissa. Now they are in the tightest situation possible, they could either tell Melissa all that has happened, and that he isn't really Alex. Or his other possibility is to get out of there as quickly as possible, without even warning Melissa or Alex about his problem. Not only that, but now John has been showing up on many different scenes that might suspect that he isn't really who she thinks, for example, showing up on crime scenes, so that he can write some of his newspaper articles for The New York Post. What will happen between Melissa and John? Read The Boy Next Door to find out!
This book really appealed to me because of the main plot. It's always fun to read about people with different, untrue identities, and how they deal with telling people that it's not really them. And the many scenes when it was a close call for Melissa to find out that John's not really who he appears to be. The Boy Next Door would definitely be a good book for anyone who enjoys reading an interesting romance novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book!, May 20 2004
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
Definitely a book for a die hard romantic... I'm not sure if I would have enjoyed the story more or less if it had been written in the "regular" way. The emails made it very different than most romances that are out there today. So, if you're getting a little bored with the same old stuff, you should try this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Redheads Rise to Good-looking Rich Guys Standards, May 17 2004
By 
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
This book is one of the best Meg Cabot books I have read in a while. Her main character, Mel Fuller, a redhead is a genuine girl who needs a boyfriend badly. Then one day, her luck changes, when her neighbor has to go to the hospital after getting attacked. And she has to take care of her pets until the neighbor's nephew comes. The neighbor's nephew comes but as a photographer Mel finds him a little odd. Soon though, they are spending a lot of time together, falling in love. Through the books e-mails you hear from a person named John Trent who's family and friends comment on the details of the novel. You also learn of the nephew, Max Friedlander's dirty little secret. Its a bit of romantic comedy mixed with mystery, that suits every teenage girl and any woman. Meg Cabot brings her winning Princess Diaries style to this wonderful beach book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous romance, May 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
I picked up this book because of the fact that it was written purely in emails from one character to another. Amazingly, she pulls off the plot without any narration. I enjoyed the style of writing - being basically pure dialog - although sometimes I was frustrated that you couldn't be 'at' an important event taking place because since it is just emails, you had to wait for that character to email another character about it later to find out what happened.
But, who wouldn't love to read everyone else's personal emails?
The story was interesting and humorous.
I'd recommend her 'sequel' to this book, Boy Meets Girl, it deals w/ different charcters who are connected to the ones you get to know in this book. Plus she adds voicemail, transcripts, receipts, menus and other devices to her staple of e-mails.
Different from your typical chick-lit novel in style. Over all, it was a pretty good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!!, May 8 2004
By 
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
My roommate loaned me this book after she finished reading it. I have to admit that I was a little apprehensive at first but I'm so glad I got over that feeling. It had me hooked with the first few pages. I'm an avid reader and I can't wait to buy the next book written by Ms. Cabot...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny- 'Chic Lit' -Quick-read, April 12 2004
By 
erin (Jackson, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
*I love author Meggin(Meg) Cabot and having read her Princess Diaries series, I thought I would try out something else by her. I read The Boy Next Door recently, while I was traveling and it is a great light, fun, quick-read that helps take the stress away. It is written in the form of e-mail(which gives it its fast pacing) and you get introduced to many characters through their e-mails (this gives the book a lot of dramatic irony because through the various e-mails you know certain important things that the charaters don't know).
*The Boy Next Door is the story of a young women, New York gossip columnist, Melissa Fuller. Her adventure starts when her elderly neighbor goes into a coma, as a result of being hit in the head and knocked-out in the living room of her apartment by an unknown person. When walking the neighbor's dog becomes too much for Melissa she sets of to find her neighbor's only family member, a bad-boy nephew-Max. Melissa contacts Max and he tells her he will come and take care of the dog. What Mel doesn't know is that he himself won't be coming, but instead a friend (John Trent)who owes him a favor. Of course Mel and John fall in love with in only problem being that Mel doesn't know who John is, thinking he is Max. This fact comes out and causes problems, but everything turns out okay as they work together to catch the person who left Mel neighbor in a coma.
*This book has an ordinary plot, one that's not really new or ground-breaking or anything. But the book is fun to read and entertaining, but predictable.
*Bottom Line-Read and enjoy, but don't accept anything too serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, April 6 2004
By 
Jason Collins (Morehead City, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
LOVE IT! I love the emails which made it easy to read on the plane and pick up and put down with my 2 1/2 year old! LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original and Fun!, March 26 2004
By 
S. J. Pfrimmer (Canon City, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Boy Next Door: A Novel (Paperback)
Loved the way it was written as a series of e-mails. It was refreshingly different. Couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boy Next Door: A Novel
The Boy Next Door: A Novel by Meg Cabot (Paperback - Sept. 26 2002)
CDN$ 18.50 CDN$ 13.36
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews