Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously Enticing Resource for Fine French Meals, March 6 2004
By 
B. Marold "Bruce W. Marold" (Bethlehem, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
This recent book by Patricia Wells is a selection of the author's favorite recipes from the restaurants, Boulangerie, and patisseries in Paris. In a sense, it broadens her focus of the book 'Simply French' from the single restaurant of Joel Robuchon to look at many leading Parisian establishments. While being broader, it is also just a bit less deep in it's exploration of complicated recipes, as very few in this book match the complexity of the typical recipe in 'Simply French'.
I would place this book as my third or fourth French cookbook after Julia Child's 'Mastering the Art of French Cooking', Richard Olney's 'Simple French Food', and Madeline Kamman's 'The New Making of a Cook'. While these are some of the best texts on the principles and techniques of French cooking, this book by Wells is real world application of the principles. As it looks at the real world, it offers the reader some pretty unusual dishes in giving us a variety you may not find in a single restaurant cookbook, even one so good as the recent 'Balthazar Cookbook' from the chefs at the New York restaurant of the same name.
While this book is not a teaching book, it is still true to the style of cooking you will find in Paris and, as such, it is primarily a book for the gourmet, the entertainer, the traveler to Paris, and the wine lover. Like 'Simply French', the book gives wine suggestions for all savory courses. These wine suggestions are a bit more generic than those in 'Simply French', so it will be easier to find something to match, even in the oenologically backward state of Pennsylvania.
Before you get the impression that none of the recipes in this book have any general currency for the average cook, I must say that many are really very easy, especially the salad, vegetable, and soup recipes. Even some meat recipes are fairly simple, such as the braised lamb shank recipe Wells did on 'Emeril Live' when she made a promotional appearance after the book first came out. Everyone does braised lamb shanks, but Wells does it just a little differently, and offers some good suggestions on choosing the best cuts. But, there are some real novelties, such as the Arpege Eggs with Maple Syrup. I will be content to simply read about these dishes.
The organization of recipes is classic, following almost exactly the same chapter headings as in 'Simply French'. These are:
Appetizers, Starters, and First Courses
Salads
Breads
Vegetables
Potatoes
Pasta, Rice, Beans, and Grains
Soups
Fish and Shellfish
Poultry
Meats
Desserts
The Pantry
The first two chapters plus the third and fourth are real gems. At the $30 list price of this book, they are worth the price of admission. The Breads chapter is a little teaser with only six recipes, each fairly complicated, but very rewarding. Just enough to whet your appetite for a book by a bread heavyweight such as Nancy Silverton or Peter Reinhart. The chapters on protein dishes are surprisingly simple. They are certainly less complicated than the soups and desserts. The desserts chapter is quite large, with many recipes for apples, cherries, and ice cream. The Pantry chapter gives all the expected recipes for vinaigrettes, mayonnaise, spice mixes, stocks, and sauces. This is somewhat better than average.
In spite of the utility of cookbooks that organize by menu for occasions and themes, this is still my favorite organization for a cookbook covering many types of dishes. One entertains once a month, maybe. One cooks for your small family in a single household every day. This is better for the latter situation.
I am not a fan of splashy color photography in cookbooks. When it is there, I rarely look at it except to judge its quality for a review. To my mind, the photography in this book is just right. Its occasional black and white pictures of people and places have informative captions and decorate the book with views of Paris and its people.
If you are traveling to Paris or love French food or need new recipes for entertaining with a lot of ta-da, this is the book for you. Be aware, however, that basic cooking skills and a well-equipped kitchen are a must in order to accomplish many of the recipes in this book.
You may also find yourself developing irrational urges to visit your favorite travel web site for plane tickets to Paris. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a "Community" cookbook, April 6 2003
By 
Joseph F. Mcconnell "jfrancismcluggage" (Ann Arbor, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
Wells wanders around Paris, gathering recipes from her friends, grocers, mentors, and even taxi drivers; that turns out to be fine, since she knows lots of people who cook brilliantly. What's even better is that many of the dishes illustrate the return to long cooking techniques, using less-expensive meats. This is right up my alley -- I'm a braisen' fool -- and so far, I've been happy with everything I've made. One caveat: Wells is no wine expert. Approach her wine pairing recommendations with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, reliable recipes, Jan. 13 2003
By 
Cynthia S. Froning "astrocyn" (Longmont, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
I've only had this cookbook for a few months, but I already rely on it as a source of creative, well-crafted recipes. The dishes are fresh, simple, accessible. Try the Green Olive Tapanade. It takes about 10 minutes to make and was a huge hit. I think it will be a great use for spring/summer basil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, Nov. 25 2002
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
If you love Paris and or French food you will love this book. It is like a visit to that great city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book if you love to cook., Aug. 9 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
Patricia Wells really knows her stuff, and it shows in her latest book. The recipies are easy to follow and the techniques are not too advanced, although many of the recipies are time consuming (but well worth the effort).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love French cuisine, this is for you, July 18 2002
By 
Joanna Daneman (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
I was so impressed with this cookbook. First, I adore Paris and love the art of French cooking. I learned French style cooking years ago and I love to watch how my French friends put together a seemingly simple meal that turns out so impressively. And the black-and-white photos of Paris that illustrate the book are great reminders of visits past.
The key to these seemingly simple recipes in "The Paris Cookbook" is good ingredients, a knack for combination, some fundamental traditional ideas, and a passion for excellence. For example, some of the most interesting recipes to me were for peasant cooking from Provence. There was a soup of spelt (a wheat-like grain with many healthful properties.) It was combined with barley and the green French de Puy lentils to make a Mediterranean-style meal-in-a-pot soup. The use of spelt is more common in Germany --however the Provencal use it as one would use rice, in risottos or as here, in a soup. There is also a recipe for a simple version of bouillabaise fish soup that I really want to try.
The other recipe that got me excited was for an ordinary gazpacho cold tomato soup but...with a savory mustard ice cream as a garnish. Now THERE'S an interesting idea. If you have ever had a blob of cream in a tomato-based soup, you know how nicely cream blends and smooths the flavor of the acid fruit. But to add the cream in the form of ice cream, but unsweetened and with a spicy mustard, now that is exciting! I will be making that for my next summer dinner party. I also got the idea to modify the recipe and make wasabi green tea ice cream (wasabi is the green Japanese mustard you get with sushi.) I can pair that with a cold cucumber-crab soup.
That's what I adore about this cookbook. Not only great recipes, but they are in essence, fundamental and can be adapted with your own creative ideas.
The author also includes information about each restaurant where she obtained the recipes--chef, address, notes. So if you go to Paris, you essentially have quite a good restaurant guide.
The only caveat about this cookbook is that to make any of these recipes, you must get top-quality ingredients, as they are the backbone of each dish. This means a trek to the farmer's market, to the specialty shop, the farm, your backyard garden, the dairy or mail-order as many grocery store items will just not measure up. I can tell you from experience that the quality of the ingredients is paramount to success, and grocery store cream and butter in most of the US just can't do the job. And don't get me started on the vegetables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paris cookbook, April 8 2002
By 
Doane R Broggi (Mount Dora, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
Love this cookbook, (I'm ordering two more to give as gifts, Little tips I never knew. Names and address's of restuarants in paris, cant wait to go back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patricia Wells Does it Again!, Feb. 23 2002
By 
R. Laurich "Madlibrarian" (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
Having just returned from Paris, and already missing the food, 'The Paris Cookbook' is just what I needed. Patricia Wells again combines wonderful recipes, lovely mood photos of Paris with stories of each recipe. What I love about Wells, is the lack of photos of completed dishes. Instead the written word is used to provoke your taste buds. A lovely addition to any Francophile or Cookbook Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patricia Wells Does it Again!, Feb. 23 2002
By 
R. Laurich "Madlibrarian" (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
Having just returned from Paris, and already missing the food, 'The Paris Cookbook' is just what I needed. Patricia Wells again combines wonderful recipes, lovely mood photos of Paris with stories of each recipe. What I love about Wells, is the lack of photos of completed dishes. Instead the written word is used to provoke your taste buds. A lovely addition to any Francophile or Cookbook Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chalk full of Flavor!!, Feb. 2 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Paris Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book is wonderful. The chicken fricassee is to die for. Trust me, she's a wonderful chef who shares her wealth of knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Paris Cookbook
The Paris Cookbook by Patricia Wells (Hardcover - Oct. 18 2001)
CDN$ 44.95 CDN$ 28.18
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews