Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this novel!
"Set This House in Order" is truly one of the best-crafted novels I have read- a deftly, cleverly written story with captivating characters. It has an intriguing premise that is carried through to its full potential: Andrew Gage, a narrator and the main protagonist, is one personality belonging to a person with multiple personality disorder. Andrew has been...
Published on June 22 2004 by qabooklover

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled, it's not perfect.
Matt Ruff's book Fool on the Hill has gotten lots of indie acclaim, so much so that I was reluctant to read it at first. Needless to say I wouldn't be reviewing this book if the other hadn't made a very good impression on me. It was a wonderful book.
This is not that book. This book started off very good. As a matter of a fact, the review you may have read from the...
Published on June 27 2004 by Benjamin N. Borden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled, it's not perfect., June 27 2004
By 
Benjamin N. Borden (Grapevine, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Matt Ruff's book Fool on the Hill has gotten lots of indie acclaim, so much so that I was reluctant to read it at first. Needless to say I wouldn't be reviewing this book if the other hadn't made a very good impression on me. It was a wonderful book.
This is not that book. This book started off very good. As a matter of a fact, the review you may have read from the person that was halfway through was very close to what I would have written at that point.
But then the book had to end. And I just felt that the ending was much much weaker than the book was angling toward.
It's still a good read, but it's not anywhere near the brilliance of Fool on the Hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this novel!, June 22 2004
By 
"qabooklover" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
"Set This House in Order" is truly one of the best-crafted novels I have read- a deftly, cleverly written story with captivating characters. It has an intriguing premise that is carried through to its full potential: Andrew Gage, a narrator and the main protagonist, is one personality belonging to a person with multiple personality disorder. Andrew has been chosen to be the responsible, regulating public persona for his body. Through Andrew, the different personalities inhabiting the body have input, but order is maintained, transforming what is usually considered a psychological disorder into a somewhat bizarre but rich and interesting way of life. When Andrew realizes that his co-worker Penny suffers from multiple personality disorder, he attempts to help her come to grips with her situation and find a better way of handling the many souls vying for dominance in her life. Amazingly, even though there are many characters residing in two bodies, each personality is so distinctive that the story is clear and free of confusion. The plot has a great mix of romance, adventure, and mystery, but it's the characters that make this a truly magnificent novel. The empathy of Ruff's writing imbues each personality with a unique and human soul. Though the idea of multiple personalities might sound difficult or disturbing, the story itself is full of gentleness and compassion. Like "Middlesex" or "The Curious Incident of the Dog at Nighttime," "Set This House is Order" is an amazingly well-written and empathetic novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ruff has done it again!, May 27 2004
By 
Guy L. Gonzalez "Malcontent" (Bloomfield, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After his first two books - quirky and sharply written, deftly straddling the imaginary fence between fantasy and literary - Ruff made an interesting decision in choosing his subject matter for his third novel. Instead of taking the "easy" route and returning to a fantasy setting, he steps into the real world, choosing a difficult premise, and delivers his best story yet.
While his first two books showed off his ability to handle large casts of distinctive characters and their overlapping stories, he flips the script here by focusing on two characters, both of whom house large and distinctive casts IN THEIR HEADS.
Describing the plot doesn't do the book justice as, like any worthwhile journey, half the pleasure is in getting there, and this book is a rare pleasure, indeed. In the end, Andy Gage and Penny Driver will be two people whose lives stick with you long after you reluctantly put the book down.
Matt Ruff has done it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, disappointing if you've read his others, April 28 2004
By 
S. Robins "ScottR" (Pittsford, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is better than 99% of the books you could read. And for a mainstream novel, it's very well written.
But compared to his first two novels, which had strong elements of the fantastic, this is a disappointment. Sure, it's unusual to have main characters with MPD. And I feel that many of the major souls were more interesting than some of the minor characters who were "whole" people.
But "Fool on the Hill" and "Sewer, Gas and Electric" are novels which I will never be able to forget, even if I wanted to try. Besides being stunningly original and inventive in style and content, they have characters that are unforgettable. As I read them, I kept hoping that the novel would never end, that's how enjoyable they were.
And while "House" has well-written characters, I'm not sure I'll remember them for a long time. And it lacks the originality and inventiveness of "Fool" and "Sewer".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars to help with this, Nov. 23 2003
This review is from: Set This House In Order: A Romance Of Souls (Hardcover)
the basis of this book is all to familiar. Check out "When Rabbit Howls" a true life acount of a woman with several personalities if not several dozens. After reading "When Rabbit Howls" I read "Set This House in Order" and enjoyed it a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unique isn't the word for this book, Oct. 26 2003
By 
William Sugarman "nprfan1" (Great Neck, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Set This House In Order: A Romance Of Souls (Hardcover)
I've read hundreds of books over the years, but I don't think I've ever read anything quite like this before: a novel whose main character is the dominant soul (to use Matt Ruff's own terminology) of a person with Multiple Personality Disorder (MPD).
That soul is Andrew Gage - who, in the chronology of Ruff's novel, was "born" just two years ago. Andrew was created by the former dominant soul, Aaron, to take over that role because he (Aaron) was exhausted from dealing with all the other souls in the body and from building the "house" that they all (but one) now reside in. It would take more space than is available in this review to explain about the "house", but Ruff explains this rather interesting concept extremely well.
The story deals with Andrew's getting his "house" in order, so to speak; his interaction with a fellow, "immature" victim of MPD, Penny Driver; and his discovery of several things in his body's past that could potentially cause Andrew to lose his place as the dominant personality.
I was extremely impressed with Ruff's ability to establish each soul with its own distinct personality. He must have done quite a lot of research on the subject to be able to do this. And to do it with two people (Andrew & Penny) is nothing short of amazing.
Penny and her souls are somewhat weaker characters than Andrew and his, but considering Penny's state when Andrew first encounters her that's hardly surprising. Julie Sivik, the woman who brings Andrew and Penny together, seems to me to be a bit of a caricature - she definitely has her own psychological hangups (as does everyone in this book, to one degree or another) - but she is definitely essential to the story, as you'll see.
As you read this book you'll encounter quite a few surprises along the way, including one that had me reeling for quite a while - suffice it to say that Andrew and Julie do not get together, despite all the indications Ruff throws at you up to that point. Towards the end he even throws in the elements of a mystery novel. That part of the book is somewhat weaker than the rest of the story, but it's still a vastly entertaining novel and one of the strangest stories I've ever read.
From other reviewers I get the impression that this is not at all similar to other fiction Ruff has written. I'm wondering if Ruff can be pigeonholed into any particular category of fiction. I'll pick up another one of his novels and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Ruff's Best Novel To Date, Oct. 7 2003
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Set This House In Order: A Romance Of Souls (Hardcover)
"Set This House In Order" is Matt Ruff's finest work of fiction to date, brilliantly adding to a splendid body of work that includes such classics as his literary debut "Fool On The Hill" and the Ayn Rand-influenced cyberpunk novel "Sewer, Gas, Electric: The Public Works Trilogy". He offers a fascinating twist on the coming-of-age tale, exploring the lives of the multiple personalities inhabiting the bodies of Andrew Gage and Penny Driver. Like Jonathan Lethem in "Motherless Brooklyn", Ruff writes eloquently and with much compassion about two characters afflicted with a severe personality disorder. None of his splendid prose lapses into cliche or melodramatic writing. It's one of the few books I have read lately that I found almost impossible to put down, compelled to read vast portions of the novel at one clip. Without a doubt, Matt Ruff has become the most distinguished writer ever to have graduated from New York City's prestigious Stuyvesant High School. He is also among my generation's most talented writers, comparable in quality to the likes of Jonathan Lethem, Jeffrey Eugenides and Michael Chabon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'll keep this short and sweet, Sept. 19 2003
By 
monique madigan (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Set This House In Order: A Romance Of Souls (Hardcover)
This was the best, most original book I've read all year. No one has ever written a book like this, and I was completely engrossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable !, Sept. 1 2003
By 
Thomas Ehmer "hector_et_al" (Heidelberg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Set This House In Order: A Romance Of Souls (Hardcover)
Knowing (and admiring) Matt from his last two books, I was very much looking forward to read more "simply crazily entertaining stuff". Now, I was more than positively surpised, Matt not only kept his humor, but also mixed it with psychotherapy and neurology to write a romance, a journey, a novel that is beyond description.
I dare not to write more about the content, because it would simply spoil the surprise. This book is what I call a STRONG BUY.
Bravo Matt, looking again forward for the next evolution step in romance-fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little dissapointing at the end, May 23 2003
This review is from: Set This House In Order: A Romance Of Souls (Hardcover)
I was introduced to Matt Ruff by a friend who insisted that everyone he knew read Fool On A Hill. I did, and discovered that I had read another book from the same man, called Sewer, Gas, and Electric. Both of those books are absoilutely fabulous. Set This House In Order was a good read, and very engrossing, but I think it fell flat at the end. It seemed to me that everything was resolved too easily, and too quickly. The buildup of character development and background story had been fabulous (as expected from Matt Ruff), but the final solution wasn't really that interesting, and when the book ended I felt like I should have stopped 3/4 of the way through instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbd40e24c)

This product

Set This House In Order: A Romance Of Souls
Set This House In Order: A Romance Of Souls by Matt Ruff (Hardcover - Jan. 23 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews