Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Well Done Update of a Classic
~As a typical homebrewer I enjoy reading as many books about the art as I can find. I was a big fan of the 2nd E of this book. That book got me started. Unfortunately it did go out of date... I am now happy to report that C.P. has done a great job updating his book. It has new information on extracts, hops, yeast, the works. Yet, the basic brewing technique is...
Published on Nov. 3 2003

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less enamoured than others
I know I'm in the minority, but I don't love this book.

To start with, it's out of date. For instance, Papazian recommends boiling the beer mixture before starting the fermentation. No concentrate manufacturer I have found recommends this. Several recommend *against* it, saying that it will boil off the good flavours.

Beginners will find little of...
Published on Sept. 3 2010 by Adam R. Norman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Well Done Update of a Classic, Nov. 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition (Paperback)
~As a typical homebrewer I enjoy reading as many books about the art as I can find. I was a big fan of the 2nd E of this book. That book got me started. Unfortunately it did go out of date... I am now happy to report that C.P. has done a great job updating his book. It has new information on extracts, hops, yeast, the works. Yet, the basic brewing technique is relatively unchanged. Papazian's writing is easy to read and I enjoy the laid-back style. The tables make more sense now (some~~ minor changes) and the recipes are also nicely revamped. I recommend this book to anyone interested in getting started with homebrewing.~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original and still one of the best, Sept. 22 2010
This review is from: The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition (Paperback)
This book is probably responsible for more people getting into homebrewing than any other book. It's the gateway through which many of the great micro-breweries' founders got their start in brewing.
Charlie has a wonderful casual writing style which is easy to read while not dumbing down the material. While nominally a technical guide, it's also entertaining and extolls the spiritual virtues of great beer, beer with soul.
Some other books may be more technically accurate or up-to-date on specifics of technique, but they just aren't as enjoyable.

If you like beer and brew beer, have wanted to brew beer, you should own this book. Papazian's infectious passion for beer and his straight-forward approach are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Book to learn to brew!, Sept. 18 2010
This review is from: The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition (Paperback)
Just one tip for homebrewers... Relax... Have a homebrew!

This book is easy to read, full of useful informations about how to start brewing your own beer at home. Took some time at first, but with this book I got lots of useful tips about the different stages of fermentation, the kits you can buy, different recipes and so on!

Thanks Charlie Papazian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't worry, have a home brew!, Oct. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition (Paperback)
This book was recommended by a friend as the "bible of home brewing". It didn't disappoint. In a playful manner it reviews all aspects of home brewing beer from kits, extracts, and all grain. It includes details on common home made equipment and many good recipes. It touches on the science, but doesn't overwhelm the reader.

I've read this book cover to cover and reference it a couple times a year. This is a must for anyone interested in the hobby of home brewing beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Dec 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition (Paperback)
This is a great book. Especially if you are moving from extract to all-grain brewing. There are lots of recipes for the transition. The book is also really well written, some of the descriptions made my girlfriend ask me to make certain recipes, just based on the description of the taste. Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide, May 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition (Paperback)
This is my go-to book for just about everything involving homebrewing. Charles is very thorough, and presents the info in a clear and exciting manner. From starting from scratch, to more advanced techniques, plus a ton of great recipes....no homebrewer should be without this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !, Oct. 28 2008
This review is from: The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition (Paperback)
I brew a few batch with commercial kits but they were not all good. After a read that book, I found a lot of usefull information. I recomended it for those of you who wants to improve your brewing technics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars required reading!, June 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can I say except "every home-brewer needs to read this book" I plan to revisit it again soon and often
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to Brew, Dec 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition (Paperback)
This is where you start (and I started) when learning the basics of homebrewing. It is an essential first step and offers simple step by step guidance along with more advanced considerations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great brew., June 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition (Paperback)
This book takes you from total beginner to expert in a most enjoyable way.
It is both informative and humorous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition
The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing Third Edition by Charles Papazian (Paperback - Sept. 11 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews