Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really easy to understand for newbie investor
I actually have the PDF file of this book (on my smartphone and tablet), but I think it's just not the same comparing to reading the paperback version. I actually hope they would make it hard cover, with stronger and durable paper materials since you will read it many many times.

I have novels in similar construct before and they tend to fall apart after...
Published 21 months ago by Cougarite

versus
38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic book, but annoying commentaries
I was deciding between getting this edition or the more expensive hardbound edition (which does not contain the Jason Zweig commentaries). I naturally thought, why not go for the cheaper one and get the commentary for free? After all, I could just ignore the commentary if it doesn't help.
Bad bad choice. It was like choosing between a Beethoven CD and the same CD...
Published on June 29 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Timeless advice on investing. A must for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book is still great, revision stunk, Aug. 4 2003
By 
Henderson "Hendro" (New York City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
The book is still great, however the revision was the worst. I bought the book being as it was cheeper than the hardcover, and half the book was filled with this guy's (Jason Zweig's) insights on the reasons for the numerous tech companies bursting with the bubble. Everyone already knows what happened when the bubble burst. Its quite odvious that's all the revising author knows about securities, being as half the book was filled with comments about it. My advise, the extra money for the hardcover is worth not having to read the revisions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of, if not the best, equity investment book, May 2 2004
By 
Denise (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
this is buffets' bible for good reason.
the book's central concept, the margin of safety, is reinforced time and again w/ supporting ratios and working examples, both from the 60-70s and from zweig's excellent supplements (an extremely valuable supplement to the original text, if for no other reason than to show that graham's teachings are timeless). while occasionally ratios will appear dated and no longer relevant (i.e. book value's importance has declined w/ the transition of the US eq mkt to increasing intellectual capital in a company's mkt cap), its discipline, focus and litmus tests (i.e. bond yields vs E/P ratios) still remain valid.
for the individual investor, there simply is no better book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, Sept. 11 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
If you are going to be investing in the market place I suggest you educate yourself and begin with this book. Well written and very detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good audiobook for the investor, Sept. 9 2011
By 
Alain Audet (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ideas & concepts are clearly explained, very logic & simple to understand. I liked this audio book CD and will use it to invest my own portfolio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Update by Jason Zweig, Aug. 23 2010
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I bought the Jason Zweig Edition even though the reviews on his comments weren't that good. The original text by Graham has been updated in 1972. Thus, the new comments by Zweig are really useful for the modern investor. If you have read less than 10 investing books, buy this one.

One negative point: this version has been released in 2003. There is a need for an updated version talking about the effects of the 2007+ global housing bubble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Value Investing, April 10 2010
By 
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
There is a timeless wisdom to the ideas in this book. Somehow it feels like no matter what happens to the world or to financial markets, nothing can shake the highly personal philosophy that Benjamin Graham presents in this tome.

Singularly responsible for my interest in investing, I feel like this layman's book can set anyone free of the need for a commission-based investment sales industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Note to "A customer from New York, NY:, Nov. 7 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Newsflash:
The guy's dead - and has been for years.
Not getting that "big advance" you would begrudge him (unless there is a market in Heaven?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, March 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
This is an excellent text for anyone who wants to learn about investing. Strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Value Investors Bible, March 1 2004
By 
Jared Ullman (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Anyone who chooses to comprehend this classic text will without a doubt expand their knowledge within the universe of value investment techniques. Moreover, in these times of muddled distinction between the investor and speculator, there is no better reason to buy this precious peice of Graham's intellectual genious than now. For myself, this book was truly the first necessary step to bring the perpetual pernicious chaos of what is convieniently termed speculating, to a more lucid order as I learned the true value of Graham's principles of value investing. We can all benefit to learn from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing
The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing by Benjamin Graham (Paperback - June 24 2003)
CDN$ 28.50 CDN$ 17.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews