march Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis boutiques-francophones Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars94
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 29, 2015
Good book but it felt outdated even with the additional sections added. I couldn't figure out how to take action from reading this information. I bought a few more investing books and hopefully they can help. This book seems like good general knowledge from the early days of the stock market but misses whats going on in present day, especially in the technology industry and how to understand these companies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2010
There is a timeless wisdom to the ideas in this book. Somehow it feels like no matter what happens to the world or to financial markets, nothing can shake the highly personal philosophy that Benjamin Graham presents in this tome.

Singularly responsible for my interest in investing, I feel like this layman's book can set anyone free of the need for a commission-based investment sales industry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
Even if some macro parts of this book are outdated now, the principles of value investing explained in this book are timeless. It's a good complement to the Security Analysis book. The additional comments are either annoying, either informative depending on the subject, but for the first case you can ignore them by the way.
It's my second bible beside Security Analysis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2004
I had always avoided reading Graham on the assumption that he would be an uninteresting read. He is fabulous. Clear, straightforward guidelines come out in clear english. Zweig's updating is perfect - telling you when items are outdated enough to deserve skipping as well as including more up to date data. Its clear, easy to understand, and straight from the guru's mouth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
Smart man. Some really in depth information for me lol. But still some very useful information to take from it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
Audio CD was well packaged. Product contains 3 CDs. The book itself is very informative however the examples used and the numbers presented are very outdated (mid 1900's). As a person who is relatively new to personal finance I could not help but wonder if the methods described in the book were similarly outdated. Overall a very enjoyable listen and a great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2003
This book represents all things solid and stable in the world of stock market fluctuations that can turnabout on you in a second. Graham gives good advice that helps to avoid the common errors most people make in the stock market. The only gripe is its a rather droll and dry read. But if you stick through it and finish it, you'll find yourself much wiser.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2015
As someone who knew nothing about investing, this book seemed like a good start. So far I am 3/4 of the way through and have been surprised at all of the information in it. It is definitely worth having on your shelf because you'll need to reread it dozens of times to fully absorb all of the fantastic advice that Graham gives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2003
When I first came across the first edition of this book in my local library in 1959, I was a teenager. Back in those days there were only a handful of books about the stock market. And I've read all of them during my junior high and high school years.
This latest updated 623-page paperback (the index alone is 33 pages) version updated by Jason Zweig is a welcome addition to this classic. The original chapters are intact, but with footnoted comments by Zweig. Moreover, he provides his own commentary on each chapter contents in a separate chapter following each original chapter. He provides extensive research, charts, tables and commentary that updates the book to the present years. He is not afraid to take on the big guns of Wall Street and show how wrong they were in some of their extremely bullish predictions during January-March 2000, when the market was at its peak.
The first nine chapters cover investing basics that all investors could benefit from. There are many truisms spouted on Wall Street that are not really true. These chapters provide the investor with a realistic picture of how Wall Street works and what investors need to do to come out ahead.
Chapters 10-20 focus strictly on fundamental analysis, stock selection, convertible issues and warrants, and other subjects. Investors who plan to invest directly in stocks should make sure to read these chapters. However, for readers more interested in investing in mutual funds, and in particular index funds, they need not concern themselves with all the detail in these chapters unless they have the time or interest in the subject matter presented.
In conclusion, the combination of pioneer Ben Graham's original work coupled with Zweig's meticulous and enjoyable update, make this a remarkable book about investments and investor behavior that every new and experienced investor should read. Of the 500 investing books that I've read, this one certainly is one of the greats of all time.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2015
The first book on investing that I read cover to cover, and it still remains the most inciteful and relevant (despite its age). The views on investing within these pages are just so counterintuitive to what's taught in the mainstream, and that is precisely what makes The Intelligent Investor so important.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse