Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh Look at an Investment Classic
When it comes to the subject of investment, one cannot speak about it without mentioning the household name, Warren Buffett. After all, this is a man who had made himself the second richest man in the world solely by investing money in companies. It is through learning more about Buffett that lead me to Benjamin Graham and his investment classic, The Intelligent Investor...
Published on June 12 2006 by Henry Bee

versus
38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic book, but annoying commentaries
I was deciding between getting this edition or the more expensive hardbound edition (which does not contain the Jason Zweig commentaries). I naturally thought, why not go for the cheaper one and get the commentary for free? After all, I could just ignore the commentary if it doesn't help.
Bad bad choice. It was like choosing between a Beethoven CD and the same CD...
Published on June 29 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good audiobook for the investor, Sept. 9 2011
By 
Alain Audet (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ideas & concepts are clearly explained, very logic & simple to understand. I liked this audio book CD and will use it to invest my own portfolio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Update by Jason Zweig, Aug. 23 2010
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I bought the Jason Zweig Edition even though the reviews on his comments weren't that good. The original text by Graham has been updated in 1972. Thus, the new comments by Zweig are really useful for the modern investor. If you have read less than 10 investing books, buy this one.

One negative point: this version has been released in 2003. There is a need for an updated version talking about the effects of the 2007+ global housing bubble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Value Investing, April 10 2010
By 
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
There is a timeless wisdom to the ideas in this book. Somehow it feels like no matter what happens to the world or to financial markets, nothing can shake the highly personal philosophy that Benjamin Graham presents in this tome.

Singularly responsible for my interest in investing, I feel like this layman's book can set anyone free of the need for a commission-based investment sales industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Note to "A customer from New York, NY:, Nov. 7 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Newsflash:
The guy's dead - and has been for years.
Not getting that "big advance" you would begrudge him (unless there is a market in Heaven?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, March 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
This is an excellent text for anyone who wants to learn about investing. Strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Value Investors Bible, March 1 2004
By 
Jared Ullman (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Anyone who chooses to comprehend this classic text will without a doubt expand their knowledge within the universe of value investment techniques. Moreover, in these times of muddled distinction between the investor and speculator, there is no better reason to buy this precious peice of Graham's intellectual genious than now. For myself, this book was truly the first necessary step to bring the perpetual pernicious chaos of what is convieniently termed speculating, to a more lucid order as I learned the true value of Graham's principles of value investing. We can all benefit to learn from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first and last book you need, Feb. 23 2004
By 
Jianxiang Jin "T J" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I am amazed that things are still repeating the similiar way even decades after this book published.
This book costed me $13.97. By reading it, I can save much much more -- I think it is an great investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate, Jan. 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I had a recent hardcover edition from the library, but liked it enough I asked for the book for Xmas. I was glad I did, as the trade paperback edition I got for Xmas had the Zweig commentary after each chapter that my library version didn't. The commentary really helps clarify and update Graham's points (including much about the dot.commers dot.bombing). If you have the old edition with no Zweig commentary, I'd recommend getting the new edition. And if you have neither copy, get one! Buffet's afterword is priceless, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars guidelines from the man who taught Warren Buffett, Jan. 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I had always avoided reading Graham on the assumption that he would be an uninteresting read. He is fabulous. Clear, straightforward guidelines come out in clear english. Zweig's updating is perfect - telling you when items are outdated enough to deserve skipping as well as including more up to date data. Its clear, easy to understand, and straight from the guru's mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Nov. 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
This review is based on reading the book in one day, and so not really having time to put into practice what Graham recommends. I'm however reviewing the text and style of the book, which is superb.
Good information and analysis, the web references are invaluable, and very balanced synopsis of the past performance of the market. What I would suggest for future revisions is the updating of the market's performance since 1972, upon which the original text is based. It's somewhat disconcerting to be reading about events that occurred almost 30 years ago in the conext of today's market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbff8a120)

This product

The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing
The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing by Benjamin Graham (Paperback - June 24 2003)
CDN$ 28.50 CDN$ 17.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews