Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really easy to understand for newbie investor
I actually have the PDF file of this book (on my smartphone and tablet), but I think it's just not the same comparing to reading the paperback version. I actually hope they would make it hard cover, with stronger and durable paper materials since you will read it many many times.

I have novels in similar construct before and they tend to fall apart after...
Published on Oct. 23 2012 by Cougarite

versus
41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic book, but annoying commentaries
I was deciding between getting this edition or the more expensive hardbound edition (which does not contain the Jason Zweig commentaries). I naturally thought, why not go for the cheaper one and get the commentary for free? After all, I could just ignore the commentary if it doesn't help.
Bad bad choice. It was like choosing between a Beethoven CD and the same CD...
Published on June 29 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Sound advice, July 15 2003
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
This book represents all things solid and stable in the world of stock market fluctuations that can turnabout on you in a second. Graham gives good advice that helps to avoid the common errors most people make in the stock market. The only gripe is its a rather droll and dry read. But if you stick through it and finish it, you'll find yourself much wiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book is still great, revision stunk, Aug. 4 2003
By 
Henderson "Hendro" (New York City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
The book is still great, however the revision was the worst. I bought the book being as it was cheeper than the hardcover, and half the book was filled with this guy's (Jason Zweig's) insights on the reasons for the numerous tech companies bursting with the bubble. Everyone already knows what happened when the bubble burst. Its quite odvious that's all the revising author knows about securities, being as half the book was filled with comments about it. My advise, the extra money for the hardcover is worth not having to read the revisions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Investment Book Enhanced for Today�s Investors, Aug. 11 2003
By 
L. Masonson (Monroe, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
When I first came across the first edition of this book in my local library in 1959, I was a teenager. Back in those days there were only a handful of books about the stock market. And I've read all of them during my junior high and high school years.
This latest updated 623-page paperback (the index alone is 33 pages) version updated by Jason Zweig is a welcome addition to this classic. The original chapters are intact, but with footnoted comments by Zweig. Moreover, he provides his own commentary on each chapter contents in a separate chapter following each original chapter. He provides extensive research, charts, tables and commentary that updates the book to the present years. He is not afraid to take on the big guns of Wall Street and show how wrong they were in some of their extremely bullish predictions during January-March 2000, when the market was at its peak.
The first nine chapters cover investing basics that all investors could benefit from. There are many truisms spouted on Wall Street that are not really true. These chapters provide the investor with a realistic picture of how Wall Street works and what investors need to do to come out ahead.
Chapters 10-20 focus strictly on fundamental analysis, stock selection, convertible issues and warrants, and other subjects. Investors who plan to invest directly in stocks should make sure to read these chapters. However, for readers more interested in investing in mutual funds, and in particular index funds, they need not concern themselves with all the detail in these chapters unless they have the time or interest in the subject matter presented.
In conclusion, the combination of pioneer Ben Graham's original work coupled with Zweig's meticulous and enjoyable update, make this a remarkable book about investments and investor behavior that every new and experienced investor should read. Of the 500 investing books that I've read, this one certainly is one of the greats of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, Aug. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
A must read for anyone who wants to be a stock market guru. It's not that you'll become this hot stock picker, and your dreams of wealth will be answered, but you'll understand the psychology behind why the market moves in certain directions, and how to profit from those moves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first and last book you need, Feb. 23 2004
By 
Jianxiang Jin "T J" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I am amazed that things are still repeating the similiar way even decades after this book published.
This book costed me $13.97. By reading it, I can save much much more -- I think it is an great investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fundamentals for All Investors, Aug. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
This should be required reading before anyone invests in the equity market. This book gives clear examples of how to compare the fundamental values of companies. The only thing it doesn't address is how to defend oneself against accounting misrepresentation (other than through diversifying the portfolio), but that should also be part of a fundamental analysis, especially since Sarbanes-Oxley will requre that off balance sheet transactions and off balance sheet vehicles be disclosed in financial statements.
Serious finance professionals may also want to buy a book that explains various ways corporations and banks can abuse structured finance and derivatives. I also highly recommend Janet Tavakoli's (esp. Chapters 3 and 8) "Collateralized Debt Obligations and Structured Finance".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Good book to be read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK WITH GREAT PRICE, April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Great price and fast delivery.
Great book to read as an introductory investment book.
Definitely should buy one if you don't have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a staple read for any investor, March 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Anyone who is into investing should read this book. I would even go as far as saying it is somewhat of a bible on the topic of investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best book on Value Investing, Feb. 13 2014
By 
Anthony Samuel "http://www.sanjen.com/pips.html" (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I use the principles in this book to choose the mutual funds for my retirement fund and I've never failed to be in a profitable position year after year.

It's the Tortoise approach to investing but it's less risky and I can sleep at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing
The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing by Benjamin Graham (Paperback - June 24 2003)
CDN$ 28.50 CDN$ 17.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews