Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Valid Today.
This book is a very helpful discussion of the basic philosophy of SENSIBLE investing. Graham explains why preservation of capital is a vital component of any investment plan, and how to achieve it. There may be people who achieve much better returns than Graham, but do they sleep at night? Read Graham, follow his advice and you will not need the Valium or Pepto. His...
Published 10 months ago by Keith Crossland

versus
43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic book, but annoying commentaries
I was deciding between getting this edition or the more expensive hardbound edition (which does not contain the Jason Zweig commentaries). I naturally thought, why not go for the cheaper one and get the commentary for free? After all, I could just ignore the commentary if it doesn't help.
Bad bad choice. It was like choosing between a Beethoven CD and the same CD...
Published on June 29 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars guidelines from the man who taught Warren Buffett, Jan. 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I had always avoided reading Graham on the assumption that he would be an uninteresting read. He is fabulous. Clear, straightforward guidelines come out in clear english. Zweig's updating is perfect - telling you when items are outdated enough to deserve skipping as well as including more up to date data. Its clear, easy to understand, and straight from the guru's mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for value investors !, Aug. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
As a pure beginner in matter of investing, I must say that this book was very helpfull. I adored the fact that the chapter are commented by Jason Zweig which made the lecture a lot more comprehensible and lighter. If your are really new to the economy and investement terms, I strongly suggest you to go check the definitions on investopedia. 5 stars, would recommend it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Audio CD, Jan. 28 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Audio CD was well packaged. Product contains 3 CDs. The book itself is very informative however the examples used and the numbers presented are very outdated (mid 1900's). As a person who is relatively new to personal finance I could not help but wonder if the methods described in the book were similarly outdated. Overall a very enjoyable listen and a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sound advice, July 15 2003
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
This book represents all things solid and stable in the world of stock market fluctuations that can turnabout on you in a second. Graham gives good advice that helps to avoid the common errors most people make in the stock market. The only gripe is its a rather droll and dry read. But if you stick through it and finish it, you'll find yourself much wiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Investment Book Enhanced for Today�s Investors, Aug. 11 2003
By 
L. Masonson (Monroe, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
When I first came across the first edition of this book in my local library in 1959, I was a teenager. Back in those days there were only a handful of books about the stock market. And I've read all of them during my junior high and high school years.
This latest updated 623-page paperback (the index alone is 33 pages) version updated by Jason Zweig is a welcome addition to this classic. The original chapters are intact, but with footnoted comments by Zweig. Moreover, he provides his own commentary on each chapter contents in a separate chapter following each original chapter. He provides extensive research, charts, tables and commentary that updates the book to the present years. He is not afraid to take on the big guns of Wall Street and show how wrong they were in some of their extremely bullish predictions during January-March 2000, when the market was at its peak.
The first nine chapters cover investing basics that all investors could benefit from. There are many truisms spouted on Wall Street that are not really true. These chapters provide the investor with a realistic picture of how Wall Street works and what investors need to do to come out ahead.
Chapters 10-20 focus strictly on fundamental analysis, stock selection, convertible issues and warrants, and other subjects. Investors who plan to invest directly in stocks should make sure to read these chapters. However, for readers more interested in investing in mutual funds, and in particular index funds, they need not concern themselves with all the detail in these chapters unless they have the time or interest in the subject matter presented.
In conclusion, the combination of pioneer Ben Graham's original work coupled with Zweig's meticulous and enjoyable update, make this a remarkable book about investments and investor behavior that every new and experienced investor should read. Of the 500 investing books that I've read, this one certainly is one of the greats of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, Feb. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Zwieg's humour and knowledge flow as if Graham were writing himself. Must read for anyone wanting to understand that the game is fixed, but can be played to advantage as long as expectations are kept real. For those of us with a gambler's heart this is a must continuous diet of reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, Aug. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
A must read for anyone who wants to be a stock market guru. It's not that you'll become this hot stock picker, and your dreams of wealth will be answered, but you'll understand the psychology behind why the market moves in certain directions, and how to profit from those moves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best book on Value Investing, Feb. 13 2014
By 
Anthony Samuel "http://www.sanjen.com/pips.html" (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I use the principles in this book to choose the mutual funds for my retirement fund and I've never failed to be in a profitable position year after year.

It's the Tortoise approach to investing but it's less risky and I can sleep at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first and last book you need, Feb. 23 2004
By 
Jianxiang Jin "T J" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I am amazed that things are still repeating the similiar way even decades after this book published.
This book costed me $13.97. By reading it, I can save much much more -- I think it is an great investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fundamentals for All Investors, Aug. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
This should be required reading before anyone invests in the equity market. This book gives clear examples of how to compare the fundamental values of companies. The only thing it doesn't address is how to defend oneself against accounting misrepresentation (other than through diversifying the portfolio), but that should also be part of a fundamental analysis, especially since Sarbanes-Oxley will requre that off balance sheet transactions and off balance sheet vehicles be disclosed in financial statements.
Serious finance professionals may also want to buy a book that explains various ways corporations and banks can abuse structured finance and derivatives. I also highly recommend Janet Tavakoli's (esp. Chapters 3 and 8) "Collateralized Debt Obligations and Structured Finance".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing
The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing by Benjamin Graham (Paperback - June 24 2003)
CDN$ 28.50 CDN$ 17.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews