Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh Look at an Investment Classic
When it comes to the subject of investment, one cannot speak about it without mentioning the household name, Warren Buffett. After all, this is a man who had made himself the second richest man in the world solely by investing money in companies. It is through learning more about Buffett that lead me to Benjamin Graham and his investment classic, The Intelligent Investor...
Published on June 12 2006 by Henry Bee

versus
38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic book, but annoying commentaries
I was deciding between getting this edition or the more expensive hardbound edition (which does not contain the Jason Zweig commentaries). I naturally thought, why not go for the cheaper one and get the commentary for free? After all, I could just ignore the commentary if it doesn't help.
Bad bad choice. It was like choosing between a Beethoven CD and the same CD...
Published on June 29 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The first and last book you need, Feb. 23 2004
By 
Jianxiang Jin "T J" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I am amazed that things are still repeating the similiar way even decades after this book published.
This book costed me $13.97. By reading it, I can save much much more -- I think it is an great investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fundamentals for All Investors, Aug. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
This should be required reading before anyone invests in the equity market. This book gives clear examples of how to compare the fundamental values of companies. The only thing it doesn't address is how to defend oneself against accounting misrepresentation (other than through diversifying the portfolio), but that should also be part of a fundamental analysis, especially since Sarbanes-Oxley will requre that off balance sheet transactions and off balance sheet vehicles be disclosed in financial statements.
Serious finance professionals may also want to buy a book that explains various ways corporations and banks can abuse structured finance and derivatives. I also highly recommend Janet Tavakoli's (esp. Chapters 3 and 8) "Collateralized Debt Obligations and Structured Finance".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Good book to be read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Valid Today., May 28 2014
By 
Keith Crossland (Oshawa, Ont. Canada.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a very helpful discussion of the basic philosophy of SENSIBLE investing. Graham explains why preservation of capital is a vital component of any investment plan, and how to achieve it. There may be people who achieve much better returns than Graham, but do they sleep at night? Read Graham, follow his advice and you will not need the Valium or Pepto. His explanations just make so much sense that, if you are not as greedy as a politician, you soon understand what to do in the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK WITH GREAT PRICE, April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Great price and fast delivery.
Great book to read as an introductory investment book.
Definitely should buy one if you don't have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a staple read for any investor, March 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Anyone who is into investing should read this book. I would even go as far as saying it is somewhat of a bible on the topic of investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best book on Value Investing, Feb. 13 2014
By 
Anthony Samuel "http://www.sanjen.com/pips.html" (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
I use the principles in this book to choose the mutual funds for my retirement fund and I've never failed to be in a profitable position year after year.

It's the Tortoise approach to investing but it's less risky and I can sleep at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars document de référence, March 11 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
classique et incontournable
livre de base
un outil de référence pour choisir la façon la plus adéquate de s'introduire au domaine de l'économie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, Feb. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing (Paperback)
Zwieg's humour and knowledge flow as if Graham were writing himself. Must read for anyone wanting to understand that the game is fixed, but can be played to advantage as long as expectations are kept real. For those of us with a gambler's heart this is a must continuous diet of reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Audio CD, Jan. 28 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Audio CD was well packaged. Product contains 3 CDs. The book itself is very informative however the examples used and the numbers presented are very outdated (mid 1900's). As a person who is relatively new to personal finance I could not help but wonder if the methods described in the book were similarly outdated. Overall a very enjoyable listen and a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing
The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing by Benjamin Graham (Paperback - June 24 2003)
CDN$ 28.50 CDN$ 17.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews