Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a series
Sonea is poor and lives in the slums. Once a year the King orders the Guild of Magicians to purge the slums of beggars and vagrants. It is during one of these purges that Sonea, in a fit of rage, discovers she has the power of magic. Only the Magicians are allowed to practice this craft and Sonea does not belong to their elitist group. In fear of her life, she goes into...
Published on Sept. 9 2006 by Ms. H. Sinton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough material for a trilogy
Poor girl discovers she has magic powers, rich powerful magician's organization must find her or her uncontrolled power will destroy her, many others and perhaps the whole city. She thinks the magicians are evil and trying to kill her, so she hides. Two magicians are leading the search. One who wants to find her out of the goodness of his heart and the other for...
Published on July 15 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a series, Sept. 9 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
Sonea is poor and lives in the slums. Once a year the King orders the Guild of Magicians to purge the slums of beggars and vagrants. It is during one of these purges that Sonea, in a fit of rage, discovers she has the power of magic. Only the Magicians are allowed to practice this craft and Sonea does not belong to their elitist group. In fear of her life, she goes into hiding whilst the Magicians do all in their power to find this 'rogue' user of magic.

This is a fantastic start to a new series, very readable and keeps the interest going from the first page to the last. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough material for a trilogy, July 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
Poor girl discovers she has magic powers, rich powerful magician's organization must find her or her uncontrolled power will destroy her, many others and perhaps the whole city. She thinks the magicians are evil and trying to kill her, so she hides. Two magicians are leading the search. One who wants to find her out of the goodness of his heart and the other for revenge/his own evil ends. After finding her, the two magicians manuever to control the girl and convince her to join them. At the VERY end (last 10 pages) a great evil is revealed (which will obviously be the center of book two).
All of this info is pretty much laid out for you in the first 30 pages (so I don't feel I'm giving anything away) and NOTHING else really happens for the rest of the book!
Trudi Canavan is an excellent writer. The writing was very suspensful and engaging. Like other reviewers I couldn't put the book down. But nothing really happened! It feels like she has taken an excellent 500 page story and stretched the material into a 1200 page trilogy. This would be the death of a book for most authors, but Trudi Canavan manages to keep it entertaining.
I will read the rest of the series because Ms. Canavan is such a good writer, that I really do want to know what happens next. I Advise others to buy all three books at once (so wait for the third to be released).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a charming book!, June 18 2004
By 
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read so many fantasy novels lately that I'm on the run for new authors...I'm so glad I found Trudi Canavan! This book just flew, and left me panting for the next.
Sonea is a slum girl who, accidentaly during the yearly 'purge' of unwanted poor folk from her city, throws a rock at a magician and breaks through the barrier. This sends both the slums and the Magicians into chaos as Sonea seeks to control her new found powers and hide from the magicians and the magicians squabble amoung themselves about what to do about this. They never test people from the slums for magic. A good half of the book is this cat and mouse chase between Sonea and her allies and the magicians...and the rest...well I won't give the plot away.
Canavan is excellant at creating characters. Sonea is vivid in her terror and her stuborness and the loyalty of her friend Cery is touching. The Thief she hides with for a while is an intriuginig character as is the head of the Magicians, Akkarin. There are good magicians and not so good ones, but they are all so colourfully created that I know them well in my mind. Her two most central magicians, Rothen and Dannyl, so remind me of excentric proffessors at a universit...they certainly made me smile.
In anycase, this is a charming, wonderful book. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Onward... to the next book, March 23 2004
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
Rather enjoyable read. Sonea was a real person, she made mistakes she had her flaws. While we could see different people's perpectives the storyline wasn't spoilt by this but it seemed as though it was enhanced by this.
I love the way Trudi Canavan makes things flow. She just has this way with words and The Magician's Guild leaves off with a sense of closure but with enough promise for a reader to make them wanting more and begging for a sequel.
Although I have a couple of complaints. There were too many characters introduced in the first few chapters and as a result I tended to confuse one character with another. Still you firgure out who's who and get definate pictures of what kind of people they are after awhile. It would be something you would need to read twice to make sure you understood properly. Also it was a bit short but that seems to be rather common in the first book.
I recommend getting all three books and waiting for a raining day that way you can fully enjoy the Black Magician Trilogy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Author from Down Under, Feb. 10 2004
By 
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
We discovered Trudi Canavan's first trilogy while on a vacation in Australia and we LOVE her. Even had her books shipped from Australia before they were published here (before there were even plans to publish here, I think). Her model of magic and society is very interesting and her storytelling skills fantastic. The author also has an interesting personal website with sketches and paintings she did as background work. A truly compelling read-you will be unable to wait till the other two are published here in the U.S.!
Canavan does an excellent job of developing very real characters-something not always found in fantasy novels. She also has an interesting way of painting a totally complete world while still allowing the reader to fill it in as they see fit. My husband and I had an interesting discussion about what 'time period' this book might be set in (or what it correllates to in real history)-she certainly doesn't beat you over the head with allusions to a Tolkien like world (not that Tolkien is bad, but a change of pace is nice in fantasy!).
Truly a fabulous author (and a fabulous first effort!) and a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wild magic, March 19 2004
By 
Fred Camfield (Vicksburg, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
In Imarden, there is a Magicians' Guild among the upper classes and a Thieves' Guild among the lower classes in the slums. The slum dwellers hate magicians who represent the upper classes and do little to help the poor. Sonea has magical powers emerge when a conflict arises during a purge affecting her family and friends. The problem is that her powers are strong and uncontolled, and a danger to the city.
The Magicians' Guild seeks to find her and bring her under control. The Thieves' Guild (or some parts of it) want to hide her to use her powers. Things are complicated by the elitist attitude of some magicians, who feel that only upper class citizens should be allowed into their guild. All of this comes together as competing interests collide.
Events in the plot and the epilogue lead into a sequel. Overall, it is a good novel, but I subtract a star from novels that require reading a sequel to continue the plot, i.e., there are loose ends left to sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than decent, April 10 2004
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
Though I wasn't quite as happy with this book as I was with Elizabeth Haydon's Rhaposody, Prophesy, and Destiny series, the book still receives five stars. There is strong setting and characterization, even if the plot moves a little slower than I like (though I think that's almost unavoidable in the first book of a series), but there isn't a want of action. It's completely worthy of being bought. The book is well put together in terms of the culture and society of the setting, and the characters that it might produce. Character motivations are good, though they aren't particularly complicated or deep. The author should be applauded for effective use of imagery. The book came off as a little simplistic, with the small number of characters, indications of black and white views of good and evil, and single setting. However, I have a feeling some of that will change in the next couple of books, and it didn't prevent me from enjoying the book, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheer for the little guy (or gal), May 12 2004
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
The underdog gives it to the powers that be.
Sonea tries to stay out of trouble, yes she has some friends on the shady side, but she has stayed clear of them for awhile. Then comes the purge, where the poor are cast out of the inner city, if that wasn't bad enough, an arrogant magician makes a snide comment about her and her friends, her people...well usually rocks don't make it through the magician's shield, but what if one did? what if that rock hit the arrogant sob magician in the head?
Although this story is part of a trilogy its a good read on its own, but if you are like me you will want to own all three before begining, as waiting feverishly for the next book can be torture.
I am a lover of good fantasy stories and this trilogy is one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!, June 6 2004
By 
Carlin (The Bay Area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
This is almost certainly one of the best books I have read in a long time. I picked it out with a couple other books, and after reading it, I quickly had to go find the sequel. The plot is captivating and never lets up, and Sonea-the heroine-is an original and definitely likeable character. After reading series that basically involved girls with the same personality, reading about Sonea is a big relief. She doesn't constantly stupid decisions, and she's tough. She doesn't allow her emotions to get the best of her, but she is thinking ahead to protect those she loves. I had to order the third one from Australia because I couldn't wait until September!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!, Jan. 31 2004
By 
J. Stinson "dragonflykelly" (Klamath Falls, OR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 (Mass Market Paperback)
I took a chance on an author I have never heard of and man oh man am I glad that I did! The first book in this trilogy has well drawn characters, rich story line and her imagry is superb. I have not run across a new author that I have liked so well in a long time. I highly recommend that you pick this book up and be prepared to not put it down until the last page. I do, however, suggest that you go to the back of the book first and read Lord Dannyl's slang terms so that you are not lost when certain terms are used and you are left piecing together what you think the characters really meant. Other than that?? Sit down and read this book and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1
The Magicians' Guild: The Black Magician Trilogy Book 1 by Trudi Canavan (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 8 2004)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
Usually ships in 1 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews