Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Landmark Resource!
Most peoples' bookshelves are weighed down with self-help books. Some teach you how to lose weight. Others refocus your financial development. Still others help you with relationships. Yet others look at better habits. And others propound moral principles to guide you. What most of these books have in common is that they are usually superseded by a new and better book...
Published on July 15 2006 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bunch of Crap
This book as a few tidbits of good, useful information but 90% of it just hot air. A very unhealthy way to live your life.
Published on Nov. 2 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Landmark Resource!, July 15 2006
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Most peoples' bookshelves are weighed down with self-help books. Some teach you how to lose weight. Others refocus your financial development. Still others help you with relationships. Yet others look at better habits. And others propound moral principles to guide you. What most of these books have in common is that they are usually superseded by a new and better book . . . soon after being published. How can you hope to keep up? Well, you couldn't . . . until now.

Jack Canfield and Janet Switzer have created something different in the self-help literature -- a compendium of the principles that have stood the test of time. I didn't find a single source of ideas that I like (except those that are only grounded in my religious beliefs) that wasn't included here somewhere.

The book is organized in several sections to make these references easier to follow: The Fundamental of Success (which includes principles like Take 100% Responsibility for Your Life, Be Clear Why You're Here, Decide What You Want, Believe It's Possible, Believe in Yourself, Unleash the Power of Goal-Setting, Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway, Be Willing to Pay the Price, Reject Rejection, Use Feedback to Your Advantage, Commit to Constant and Never-Ending Improvement, Practice Persistence, and Exceed Expectations); Transform Yourself for Success (which includes principles like Drop Out of the "Ain't It Awful" Club . . . and Surround Yourself with Successful People, Acknowledge Your Positive Past, Face What Isn't Working, Transform Your Inner Critic into an Inner Coach, Stay Motivated with the Masters, and Fuel Your Success with Passion and Enthusiasm); Build Your Success Team; Creative Successful Relationships; Success and Money; and Success Starts Now.

The authors also provide many free tools to help you succeed.

If the strength of this approach is that you cover the waterfront of sound principles, the weakness is that the coverage is pretty thin in places. That will be the gripe of many people against this book. But unless it was to be 2,000 pages long, that weakness is unavoidable. The suggested reading and other references in the back, however, are more than adequate to lead someone to deeper resources where they are needed.

I only noticed one unmitigated weakness in the book: a preference for evolutionary change and improvement rather than encouraging readers to develop breakthrough skills as well.

To give you a sense of how valuable I found this book, I persuaded the dean of the university where I teach to let me launch a new course for self-improvement based on The Success Principles as the text. This one book will replace what many students are now acquiring through taking as many as six other courses. I see that as an important step forward for their educations . . . and yours, too, if you read and apply this book as I have been doing since I read it. I've seen immediate results . . . and believe that you will, too!

If you are a writer, you will also enjoy the many places in the book where Mr. Canfield shares lessons from his remarkable success with developing the series, Chicken Soup for the Soul.

If you have already read much of the success literature, you probably think this book isn't for you. I beg to differ. Seeing so many good ideas in one book will help you weld together good habits and actions in even more constructive ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE ON EVERY BOOKSHELF!!, Nov. 3 2007
By 
Kelly (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Success Principles(Tm): How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be (Paperback)
If you read this book and take the actions suggested you will not fail! Uplifting, inspirational and definaltey thought provoking, a MUST read for any who is serious about being successful in every aspect of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Energy flows where attention goes, Jan. 16 2009
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Success Principles(Tm): How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be (Paperback)
I have read many self help books, and opening this book, and reading the 6 pages of testimonials and quotes, many from renowned authors or business people forms the impression that this book is out of the ordinary.

This book is a great reference and an excellent teaching manual for either a relentless self improver, or aspiring life coach. In the first 20 pages alone is major information about discovering your life purpose. Everything else flows from having a major definite purpose.

Taking 100% responsibility for what happens in your life, as opposed to blaming is also a very powerful concept. The greater the sense of responsibilty you take for what happens in your life, the more you can control and direct what happens.

As your sense of responsibility increases, your response ability improves.

I am also really liking the formula E + R =O. Event + response = Outcome. When events happen, how we respond, determines the outcome. We don't necessarily control the event, we do have control over how we respond, and that is what determines the outcome. So, if you don't like the outcome, of if you want a different outcome, change the response, or you will keep getting similar outcomes. This is how we break out of unproductive habits.

I have passed this idea along to several people who all loved it, and bought the book on the strenth of this one idea.

All these concepts are in the early part of the book, so you can probably imagine how much benefit can be derived from the remainder of this amazing book. More recently, I acquired the audio version of this book, which is narrated by Jack Canfield. If you like the book, you'll like this too.

I hope you find this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Success and wellbeing take time and effort, Nov. 14 2006
"Attitude is Everything" says Keith Harrell in his book. Jack Canfield elaborates about that throughout the pages of his book as he lays out his 64 Success Principles. Learn the basics of success -- "reject rejection"; think positively; overcome your self-defeating beliefs, fears and habits; don't settle for second best; set your goals, and find someone who can help you achieve these goals; etc, etc. Anyone who is serious about getting ahead in his or her life needs to get this book and keep it among other MUST HAVES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Success Textbook, Dec 27 2006
By 
This book is a must have for everyone who wants to learn every theory about being successful. It teaches the principles, the theories, the ways in and out, the mindsets, the old quotes and the moderm wisdoms, EVERYTHING you can find on PAPER, you can find in this book. And, to really succeed, it 99% depends on Integrating all these theories into ACTION! And ACTION is always the VITAL part! 5 stars for this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great buy !! enjoying it so far!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can not miss it!, June 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a gem! Clear and easy understanding with all the information, tools and wisdom to inspire you for your success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing., Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Success Principles(Tm): How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be (Paperback)
Never in my life have I learnt so much about how much controls I have in my life, and that as long as I move forward I will always be able to achieve my goal via the law of attraction. The most life changing book I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The First Chapter Is Worth The Price, Dec 12 2013
By 
LinuxMint (Calgary, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've only read the first 3 chapters due to lack of time. But I've already experienced tremendous life change just because of the 1st Principle in the book: "Take 100% Responsibility For Your Life"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, July 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Success Principles(Tm): How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be (Paperback)
Jack writes an easy to follow self help book. I enjoy reading the real life examples he uses to show individuals that used particular concepts and succeeded! This is a great motivational piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Success Principles(Tm): How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 17.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews