Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ninth Key-Review
The Ninth Key is about Susannah Simon (Suze), a mediator, as well as a high school sophomore who deals with standard teenage problems. She has lived in California for nearly two weeks and she is already having a great time with her new school, friends, and stepbrothers.
When Suze was trying to sleep a ghost of a dead woman woke her up, screaming and begging Suze to...
Published on Feb. 15 2004 by Pooja

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The Only Negative Review
Am I the only person that realizes that this book would be better suited as a short story in a magazine, or perhaps incorporated into "Shadowland"?
I found all of the characters flat and unrealistic, and the plot was somewhat predictable. All in all, it irked me that "Ninth Key" seemed so much like the first book. Suze still is in search of a good boyfriend much to...
Published on Oct. 16 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ninth Key-Review, Feb. 15 2004
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
The Ninth Key is about Susannah Simon (Suze), a mediator, as well as a high school sophomore who deals with standard teenage problems. She has lived in California for nearly two weeks and she is already having a great time with her new school, friends, and stepbrothers.
When Suze was trying to sleep a ghost of a dead woman woke her up, screaming and begging Suze to tell "Red" that he isn't responsible for her death. As Suze inquired "Red", she realized that he is the father of Tad Beaumont, the cutest and richest boy in school. Suze's father and Jesse both tell her that "Red" is a vampire and to not mess with Red Beaumont, but young Suze does not listen. As she searches for more information about "Red", someone knows what Suze is trying to do.
One of my favorite scenes was the scene when the whole family was having a conversation during dinner about Dopey and his relation with Debbie Mancuso. My favorite character in this book is Doc, Suze's youngest and smartest stepbrother. Doc has an interesting personality; he is a character who is ingenuous, innocent and naive.
This book was very interesting. Although the first book was more interesting, I still enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Only Negative Review, Oct. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
Am I the only person that realizes that this book would be better suited as a short story in a magazine, or perhaps incorporated into "Shadowland"?
I found all of the characters flat and unrealistic, and the plot was somewhat predictable. All in all, it irked me that "Ninth Key" seemed so much like the first book. Suze still is in search of a good boyfriend much to her dismay, and she still poses as a tough girl, with plenty of cursing, although she seems to care an awful lot about her appearance; too much to really make her tough image seem genuine. My favorite part of the first book was the clever portrayals of Suze's stepbrothers, but Doc was the only one that truly played a part in the story, and instead of the funny genius he was in the first book, his personality is more that of a puppy, innocent and naive.
If you're going to read true teen novels I suggest "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants" for realistic portraits of teens, or "A Series of Unfortunate Events" for humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can It Get Weirder Than This, Aug. 29 2003
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
The second installment of The Mediator series is full of fun, action and romance (something new for Suze)! Suze is of course a mediator, a person who can see ghosts and she helps them move on to the afterlife, but it doesn't make it any easier if the ghost appears in Suze's room screaming at the top of her lungs in the middle of the night! She only asks Suze to tell "Red" that he didn't kill her, but didn't give anymore info leaving Suze basically clueless. Not only that, she also acquired "monster hands" when she accidentally grabbed some poison oak, had to take care of this wild, ugly cat by the request of the ghost of a little boy and also got a reading done by her friend Cee Cee's psychic aunt with unexpected results! But her investigation of "Red" continues when she meets another female ghost leading to Suze being asked for a date by this cute, rich boy named Tad and getting her first kiss!
All is not well, however, when she finds out that Tad may be in a family of killers and vampires and that she has actually got the wrong "Red". Things got out of hands in the end when murder was planned for our mediator though Suze may finally realise who "Red" really was.
This does live up to its predecessor with the plot twists and funny incidents - I particularly liked Jesse's (handsome ghost haunting Suze's bedroom)reaction to Tad and Suze's adventures with the cat. We get to find out a bit more of Suze's stepbrothers and the meaning of the Ninth Key which is actually a card in the tarot deck. The story never bores and though a great book on its own, if you like this then you should read all in the series, cos why not, it's fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's No Such Thing As Ghosts., Aug. 19 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
Yeah, right. High school sophomore Susannah "Suze" Simon wishes that she was like everyone else and couldn't see ghosts, well, except for Jesse, the hot ghost who lives in her room. Anyway, Suze has only lived in California with her new stepfather and stepbrothers for two weeks and her life has already been a whirlwind of events - pool parties, dates with hot guys, exorcising killer schoolgirls, you know, the usual. Everything is going well until a woman shows up one night screaming and begging Suze to find "Red" and to tell him that he isn't responsible for her death.
Right. Tracking down a murderer is never easy, but tracking down someone who didn't murder someone isn't exactly easy either. Luckily, Suze is able to find out that "Red" is actually Tad Beaumont's father. Too bad that Tad is gorgeous, rich and one of the most popular guys in the area - and he even asked Suze out! Now, if only Suze can get at Tad's father and give him the message, she can get on with her social life. Unfortunately, once she does get in to see him, Suze finds out that Tad's father thinks he is a vampire and totally creeps her out. Suze knows that she has to do something to make Tad see that his dad and his uncle aren't exactly playing with a full deck, but she sure can't tell him how she knows!
This was a fabulous addition to the Mediator series and a great sequel to Shadowland, especially since they are so close timewise. Suze is in fine form in this book and lets nothing and no one get in her way. Sure, she gets scared, but when she gets scared she usually gets angry, too, so it is pretty entertaining. The supporting characters are great in this book and the story just sucks you in. If you haven't read Shadowland (the first book in the Mediator series), you will still understand what is going on, but I highly recommend that you read all of the books in the series as they are excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's No Such Thing As Ghosts., Aug. 19 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
Yeah, right. High school sophomore Susannah "Suze" Simon wishes that she was like everyone else and couldn't see ghosts, well, except for Jesse, the hot ghost who lives in her room. Anyway, Suze has only lived in California with her new stepfather and stepbrothers for two weeks and her life has already been a whirlwind of events - pool parties, dates with hot guys, exorcising killer schoolgirls, you know, the usual. Everything is going well until a woman shows up one night screaming and begging Suze to find "Red" and to tell him that he isn't responsible for her death.
Right. Tracking down a murderer is never easy, but tracking down someone who didn't murder someone isn't exactly easy either. Luckily, Suze is able to find out that "Red" is actually Tad Beaumont's father. Too bad that Tad is gorgeous, rich and one of the most popular guys in the area - and he even asked Suze out! Now, if only Suze can get at Tad's father and give him the message, she can get on with her social life. Unfortunately, once she does get in to see him, Suze finds out that Tad's father thinks he is a vampire and totally creeps her out. Suze knows that she has to do something to make Tad see that his dad and his uncle aren't exactly playing with a full deck, but she sure can't tell him how she knows!
This was a fabulous addition to the Mediator series and a great sequel to Shadowland, especially since they are so close timewise. Suze is in fine form in this book and lets nothing and no one get in her way. Sure, she gets scared, but when she gets scared she usually gets angry, too, so it is pretty entertaining. The supporting characters are great in this book and the story just sucks you in. If you haven't read Shadowland (the first book in the Mediator series), you will still understand what is going on, but I highly recommend that you read all of the books in the series as they are excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than the first, May 28 2003
By 
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
In "Ninth Key" - the second of the Mediator books - Suze Simon is back, and funnier than ever. She wakes up one night to a woman screaming bloody murder, and the woman says "Tell Red he didn't kill me." So, Suze is looking all over for Red, and finds one...Red Beaumont, businessman. When she goes to tell him the message, she finds him totally strange - he keeps looking at her neck, doesn't like sunlight, and has no red hair...so why is he called Red?
When Suze tells Father Dom all about this, he comes to the stratling conclusion that Red Beaumont is a vampire. Suze doesn't believe in vampires, but is a little afraid of Red. She goes back there, and ultimately gets into much deeper trouble than she could ever have imagined.
Will Suze get into more trouble than she can handle with the possible vampire?
This book's really good, I'd say better than the first...from the first line (which I believe is "Nobody told me about the poison oak") to the last, this book is absolutely hilarious. You won't be able to put it down, I highly reccommend this.
Overall grade: A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just an observation..., March 21 2003
By 
Lea Dimarucut (California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
I love Jenny Carroll (aka Meg Cabot), and this second book in her Mediator series was just as entertaining for me as the first one. Our tough but beloved lead character Suze Simon continues her paranormal adventures, but winds up kicking human, rather than ghost, butt in this installment. Oh, there are still ghosts in NINTH KEY all right (they're what this series is all about after all), but some twists end up pitting Suze against a particularly mean real LIVE human this time around.
There was just something I noticed in this little volume that made me wonder about inconsistencies in series such as this. If we take a close look at the name of one of the characters in SHADOWLAND, we see that it's spelled Bryce M-A-R-T-I-N-S-O-N. In NINTH KEY that same character's name is spelled M-A-R-T-I-N-S-E-N, almost as if someone else wrote it. It's just a minor detail, and we shouldn't let it detract our attention from the enjoyable tale in this book's pages. I just couldn't help but wonder about it, especially since there are other inconsistencies in books three and four.
Still, this second Mediator book is definitely a fun read. Check it out if you enjoyed the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ninth Key, June 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
In Ninth Key, sequel to Shadowland in The Mediator series, Susannah Simon receives a request from a rather insistent ghost to "tell Red he didn't kill me." Susan then seeks and discovers a man by the name of Red and finds one who's son,as it turns out, is the first guy to show any interest in her. Susan then has the help of one Father Dominic, fellow mediator from her school, and Jesse, an absolutely gorgeous Spanish ghost who "lived" in Susan's room for about 100 years before Susan did, has a habit of saving her life and who Susan is madly in love with to deliver this rather odd message. Except, with the help of some of her living friends Susan discovers that many who get in Red's way seem to disappear. Susan,as usual, doesn't wait to consider the danger and delivers the message. Only it seems he believes he's a vampire. And for someone who has been dealing with people that no one else could see, in fact who are dead, that isn't something to dismiss.
I loved it. I eagerly await each sequel to this series and to her 1-800-WHERE-R-YOU series. The female leads in each series are witty and very human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another exciting edition to the series, June 1 2002
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
Suze is not your normal sixteen year old girl. She is a mediator---a person who guards wayward souls(ghost)back to where they should be. Of course being a mediator also causes some social problems for Suze. After moving to California, so far for Suze things have been a fab. Even the hottest guy in town, Tad Beaumont, asked her out! Everything couldn't be better. That is until the ghose of a dead woman shows up in the middle of the night and scream for Suze to find a guy named "Red" and tell him he isn't responsible for her death. Tracking down a murderer is pretty hard but when things lead to "Red" Beaumont, Tad's dad thing get alittle tricker. After not listening to Father Dominick, a fellow Mediator, who also happens to be Suze's principal, Suze goes all by herself to see Red only to find out he might be a vampire. Things get even crazier as Suze digs deeper into the mystery and finds out about coverups, mysterious disappearances, and a web of deceit.
Another good edition to the Mediator series. A lot of unexpected twists and turns and I like Jesse and Suze a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit!, Aug. 30 2001
This review is from: Ninth Key (Mass Market Paperback)
Suze is trying to get at least ONE night of rest away from her Mediation job. But no. As soon as the girl is about to catch some Z's, a woman comes to her bedside SCREAMING that she tell "Red" that he didn't kill her. Before Suze could get any information out of the woman, she dissapears, and Jesse is there to bawl her out for not bieng the kindest person to the woman (which i honestly can't blame her for bieng so because of lack of sleep and bieng bothered by ghosts every two seconds).
She finds a guy named Red, and is sure she has the right one. Only to find out that the guy is a bit odd...scary even. She is caught up in the mystery of murder and lies when she investigates.
ANOTHER thing she has to go through is trying to deny her attraction to Jesse. She is falling in love and is trying not to show it.
Jenny Carrol scores AGAIN with this book! Eye candy all the way. I didn't put the thing down for a minute! Not to mention the fact that i proceeded to read the book a second, third, and fourth time right after the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mediator #2: Ninth Key
The Mediator #2: Ninth Key by Meg Cabot (Paperback - Dec 16 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews