Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read!
I enjoyed this book. Good suspense, interesting twists and turns. :)

Buy if you enjoy loosing yourself in a good, non complicated book!
Published 15 months ago by Eric M. St Amand

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars long to start
But once it gets going, tough not to finish. I was wondering at first if I should finish the book, but at one point, I just kept going and was intrigued to see the end.
Published 2 months ago by Jean-Sébastien Monty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars long to start, May 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
But once it gets going, tough not to finish. I was wondering at first if I should finish the book, but at one point, I just kept going and was intrigued to see the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read!, April 14 2013
By 
I enjoyed this book. Good suspense, interesting twists and turns. :)

Buy if you enjoy loosing yourself in a good, non complicated book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars BLEAK PLOT RHYTHM - SCIENCE OUT OF ORDER, Nov. 18 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Black Order: A Sigma Force Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
James Rollins is not a bad writer. By now I must have given a try to most of his books - and discovered the same weaknesses to almost all of them: he aims too high for his writing wingspan; his suspense is constantly peaking so that, when the big moments do come, they fail to convey the climaxing feeling; and his science gets weaker and weaker.

MICHAEL CRICHTON used to be able to both educate on cutting-edge scientific theories and yarn a good story at the same time (not with his latest couple of novels I am afraid though). James Rollins probably gets impressed by new concepts, feels they could help the credibility of his fiction - and then does not know how to use them properly.

I remember in SANDSTORM, he used bucky-balls (60-carbon atoms spherical crystals) to enclose ancient...anti-matter - and then used it, all in all, to..propel a boat across a subterranean lake and cause a couple of minor explosions.

BLACK ORDER suffers from similar shortcomings: there is one narrative peak after the other and this never lets the story unfold; and he scrapes up quantum effects on evolution only to create a bunch of superhumans and enlarged animals.
By the way, to anyone who has studied even one semester of Evolutionary Biology, the concept of...de-evolution is a B-Movie gimmick: evolution can only move forward (yes, even if the resulting organism seems more "primitive"). Even if it were a possibility, it would probably need more than ...a few days - say, a few MILLION years.

I am willing to suspend my disbelief when reading a work of fiction: after all, good fiction does not have to be real. This, however, sticks out too much to ignore.

Give one of his other books a try instead. AMAZONIA was good and ICEHUNT even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an incredible book, Oct. 30 2007
By 
This review is from: Black Order: A Sigma Force Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
What an incredible book. Once you start reading it, you won't be able to set it down. I even got yelled at by my boss for reading the book on company time. I've read it 4 times and each time is like the first time. There is alot of information to process so get ready be blown away. It's awsome. Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The king or the thriller writers!, July 19 2007
By 
Shauna King "Happy Mom!" (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Order: A Sigma Force Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
There are very few authors whose books I have to go buy the day they come out, but James Rollins is one of those authors (Patterson used to be but no more). I fell in love with this author two years ago when I started reading my husband's copy of "Sandstorm," I was hooked from the first page. With "Black Order" Rollins has taken the action, suspense, and non stop thrills up another notch. I wont go over all the plot details as that has already been done enough here, plus it just ruins the surprises (be careful of some of the other reviews, I think they give too much away). In this one Rollins brings back Sigma force led by Painter Crowe and Grayson Pierce, then mixes the descendants of Heinrich Himmler, quantum mechanics, theories of evolution and intelligent design, and in includes a dash of spirituality for a wildly fun read. This may seem like a stretch but he makes it all work! The twists and turns will keep you guessing while the heart pounding action will keep you turning the pages! Fans of Cussler, Crichton, and Dan Brown should all enjoy this book. And I also have to recommend "Tourist in the Yucatan," a thriller adventure that has become a cult classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read for a trip, July 17 2007
By 
Doctor I "Doctor I" (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Order: A Sigma Force Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
The Black Order by James Rollins took me by surprise. I hadn't read any other book by this author before and decided to buy it and read it on my holidays to Europe. What a fantastic book full of suspence, mystery, surprise,...literally made you hold your breath in case you miss something.
Very good story line (although of course fiction!!). Time will pass by pleasantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quantum Schmantum, July 13 2007
This review is from: Black Order: A Sigma Force Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
It's not all bad. As a matter of fact it's an A for plot bunnies and storytelling, even if the ending stumbles into outright sanctimony--though much enjoyment can be derived from imagining how Jewish people everywhere would react if they found out that their Messiah is not just a Catholic priest, but a *Polish* Catholic priest to boot. Oi gevalt! The irony is without doubt unintentional on the part of the author. His grasp of World War II history doesn't extend far enough. (Adolf Hitler was captured? When? And by whom?)

Characterization is a mixed bag throughout. Some of the characters (often the minor players) are well-drawn and credible. Others plain defy the reader's willingness to suspend his or her disbelief. For instance, Sigma Force agent Gray Pierce not only has studied multiple religions and other fields of spiritual belief but also is a biologist and physicist; not to mention the fact that, for no apparent reason, he seems to be fluent in such relatively obscure languages as Danish and Afrikaans. Between all the studying the man must be putting in, one wonders when he finds the time to do his agenting.

Stylistically, too, the book has its problems. Rollins can spin a yarn, no doubt about it, but there are far too many instances where it's glaringly obvious that he's been fishing for a fancy word, hit the dictionary or thesaurus, and proceeded to create a malapropism. Which, incidentally, raises the question of how a publisher as reputable as Harper Collins can employ editors who fail to pick up on this and a great many other problems.

At the end of the day, the downfall of the book lies in its execution. See, the trouble with a techno thriller always is the *techno* part (not unlike that pesky science bit in *science* fiction). In order to make that believable, an author has to do the necessary homework. Mr. Rollins has signally failed to do his. It's all the worse, because the entire premise of the book is based on quantum physics--not a field that can be digested by taking in a pop-sci volume in passing, which seems to be exactly what Rollins deems sufficient. And so the infamous double-slot experiment (generally to be found in the 'Introduction' to every Quantum Mechanics 101 textbook ever written) somehow, and quite erroneously, serves as explanation of how quantum physics influence evolution. Along the way, he misrepresents Heisenberg's Uncertainty Principle as well as Heisenberg himself and invents whole new birthplaces for major proponents in the field (while Erwin Schroedinger did in fact hold dual nationality, neither of his passports were German).

As a matter of fact, the whole thing gets so implausible that it turns out to be quite funny. What isn't funny in the slightest, however, is the attitude behind it, because ultimately it reveals a profound disrespect for the reader (yes, that would be the same person who pays Mr. Rollins's royalties). The assumption that proper research is unnecessary because the reader won't notice anyway is unacceptable. In fact, some of us even are capable of realizing that Rollins's copious offerings in German are amateurish enough to make one's eyes water (there are such things as native speakers out there, sir).

If you're looking for a tight, plausible, thoroughly researched techno thriller based on quantum physics, this isn't it. For anyone who'd like to see how it should be done, I recommend 'Timelines' by Michael Crichton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rollin Novel (Stigma Force), June 10 2007
This review is from: Black Order: A Sigma Force Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This is literally one of the best novel I've ever read. The novel Black Order deals with events after WWII, Darwin's evolution theory, and origin of life. The novel starts with events dealing with the aftermath of WWII, giving the reader a 'hook', a sense of wanting to read forth. Throughout the novel Rollins switches between events occurring in South Africa, the Himalayas in Tibet, and Copenhagen, Denmark. Rollins manages to tie three seemingly unrelated events into this well plotted storyline. Each chapter is more interested and fascinating then the last. Black Order will have you reading till the early morning. Excellent for those that enjoy mystery, action, and adventure thrillers. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Order is a page-turning thriller, impossible to put down!, Aug. 11 2006
By 
A. Grant "thriller addict" (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Order (Hardcover)
James Rollins' books always have intriguing and exciting storylines, and Black Order is no exception! The book grabs you from page one and doesn't let go. Black Order is James' third book featuring Sigma Force (the others being Sandstorm and Map Of Bones). It's premise goes back to WWII and the Nazis, their desire for the Aryan race, and their endeavour to create the perfect human. It then fast-forwards to present day where this research is still going on, with horrific results. Black Order is a page-turning thriller, and impossible to put down! I thoroughly enjoyed the book and highly recommend it to all thriller fans. If you like this book please read other books by James Rollins as they're all fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheese!!!!, Aug. 20 2007
By 
Paul Lovett "PJ" (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Order: A Sigma Force Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Cheddar, Wensleydale, Lymeswold, Caerphilly, Cheshire, Leicester, White Stilton, Double Gloucester, blue vein...
Quite possibly the cheesiest novel you'll ever read! The story tries its best to sweep you along, and at the beginning it does, but the glaringly trite cheesiness of the writing will ultimately have you putting the book down and heading for the fridge for something to go with the cheese.
Definitely aimed at teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Order: A Sigma Force Novel
Black Order: A Sigma Force Novel by James Rollins (Mass Market Paperback - May 17 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews