Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just one bad thing
The Stupidest Angel is right up there with Moore's Lamb for Christmas time must reads but it's also great for Christmas in July (or September, etc...) Just two things...
If you like this book, watch Bill Murray's SCROOGED (the movie). It is a great Christmas movie with a similar humour.
Be warned that if this is your introduction to Moore, reading anything...
Published on June 30 2008 by R. Corson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as others by Moore
A Christmas angel has come to Pine Cove looking for a child, the only problem is that the residents think he is a pervert. Joshua Barker, 7-years-old, walking home one evening from a friend's house happens to see Santa murdered with a shovel. And thus begins this humourous Christmas frolic. The book is populated with characters from previous novels and is a lot of fun but...
Published on Nov. 8 2008 by Nicola Mansfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just one bad thing, June 30 2008
By 
R. Corson "Inquisitor" (ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror (Hardcover)
The Stupidest Angel is right up there with Moore's Lamb for Christmas time must reads but it's also great for Christmas in July (or September, etc...) Just two things...
If you like this book, watch Bill Murray's SCROOGED (the movie). It is a great Christmas movie with a similar humour.
Be warned that if this is your introduction to Moore, reading anything but Lamb in its wake will be a let down.
Whether it's July or December, Merry Christmas and Happy Reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mad-Cap Christmasy Adventure With a Twist (or ten), Dec 3 2011
By 
Jay Gilbertson (Prairie Farm, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror (Hardcover)
The Stupidest Angel
A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas terror

by Christopher Moore

The book opens with `Author's Warning'

"If you're buying this book as a gift for your grandma or a kid, you should be aware that it contains cusswords as well as tasteful depictions of cannibalism and people in their forties having sex. Don't blame me. I told you."

Now how in the world would anyone in their right mind pass that up?

Welcome to Pine Grove, California, a little hamlet of pseudo-Tudor architecture all tarted up in holiday quaint-age, peopled with some of the most flawed and deviously hilarious folks about to welcome in Christmas. Well, if not Christmas, at least a big Salvation Army bell-ringers pot of Christmas spirit! Told in a snappy David Sedaris-esque bent, as a reader you really have to toss reality out the window and get out of the way--this story is a deal-changer of any Christmasy tale I've ever read.

To whet your appetite and in an attempt to not reveal too many spoilers come meet a few of the main characters.Here's Lena Marquez, 38, in terrific shape with a heart of gold and a spade that eventually murders. Dale Pearson, Lena's ex, is the towns very own evil developer and a womanizer and one heck of a Santa. Theophilus Crowe (Theo) is the town constable and has an enormous patch of top-drawer weed, the profits of which he hopes to buy his wife a special warrior sword. That would be Molly Michon an ex B-movie actress who, if not on her meds, becomes her main character, The Warrior Babe of the Outland and is often nude while making ramen noodles and, having complete conversations with, well, herself.

Then there's the angel or Archangel Raziel. Over six feet tall with shoulder-length blonde hair and eyes so blue most folks can't look into them long. Underneath his floor-length (think Matrix) black trench coat is a set of wings. Oh, and his skin glows and if he happens to get run over by say, a Volvo going fifty, he heals up on the spot and off he goes. The man or angel rather, was sent to earth on a mission. He's to find a child and grant him one Christmas wish and then his job is done. So when seven year old Josh barker witnesses the murder of Santa in the graveyard on his way home he makes his wish.

That's when the story really spins out control. There's talking dead people over behind the chapel, a rare fruit bat that wears mini Ray Bans and occasionally speaks (with a Spanish accent) and the issue of zombies is presented in a really brain-sucking way. No lie. However, in the end, the crazy Christmas chaos swirls into a truly heartwarming tale--you just have to pay a price to get there...
Oh, and as an added bonus there's Mavis Sand's fruitcake recipe. There's not one, but two secret ingredients surly to get any Christmas bash off to a bang. Xanax and Ecstacy.

Ho Ho Ho--Merry Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Feb. 16 2005
By 
"graceful_ignorance" (Peterborough, Canada) - See all my reviews
Wow, this is hilarious. I definitely recommend it for a light hearted read. I seldom get the chance to read fiction with all of the serious readings from my courses. This is a wonderful breath of fresh air. Again, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new classic!, Jan. 21 2009
This review is from: The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror (Hardcover)
I got this book for Christmas one year and it's become one of my all time favourites. It is sinful, funny, crazy and just over all fun to read. It's no Christmas Carol but close enough in its own twisted way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny!, Dec 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Christopher Moore make me actually "Laugh Out Loud" while I am reading his stories. I love his off-beat sense of humour and his books always deliver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unusual Christmas Tradition!, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great story!! I laughed till I peed. Listening to this story is added to our list of Christmas traditions...though probably not for the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious..., Aug. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Christopher Moore brings a dark and funny side to murder, mayhem and Christmas Spirit.
From the evil developer to warrior babe then onto a horn dog pilot and a drug smoking town cop are only a few characters that will have you decking the halls with laughter, eggnog and sore sides.

Very happy with the delivery and product, look forward to buy from you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not as funny as some others, Sept. 9 2010
By 
R. Burgess - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The story line is good but, it lacks the laughs you find in the vampire books or It's A Dirty Job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as others by Moore, Nov. 8 2008
By 
Nicola Mansfield (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror (Hardcover)
A Christmas angel has come to Pine Cove looking for a child, the only problem is that the residents think he is a pervert. Joshua Barker, 7-years-old, walking home one evening from a friend's house happens to see Santa murdered with a shovel. And thus begins this humourous Christmas frolic. The book is populated with characters from previous novels and is a lot of fun but not near so funny as his later work. The zombies were definitely the best part. A good book to read if you are looking for a laugh, just don't expect it to be as laugh-out-loud funny as others by Moore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book to review on Christmas day!, Dec 25 2006
I've read most of Mr. Moore's books, including Fluke and Lamb which I'd rate at the top. The Stupidest Angel isn't his best, but it is still an enjoyable read.

Fan's of other Michael Moore novels will find familiar characters (including Tucker Case and Roberto the Fruitbat, my favs from The Island of the Sequined Love Nun) and new ones. Readers new to Mr. Moore's work will enjoy the characters, as they try to keep up with the interestingly complicated storyline.

The storyline involves several misunderstanding and misinterpretations, starting with a child who thinks he saw Santa get hit on the head by a shovel (it wasn't really Santa) and a none-too-bright Angel looking for something to fix who thinks he found it. It culminates with an excellent holiday party, where, as usual, imminent destruction by forces not necessarily natural is fought by our somewhat heroes (as his characters are always full of character flaws, even when heroes).

But I read Michael Moore for the wit. Like the three word Chapter 16. And the great play on words.

I give it four stars because it isn't Lamb, which is Mr. Moore's greatest book. Unlike Lamb The Stupidest Angel's plot sometimes goes somewhat into dead end alleys, and the characters aren't as fleshed out as in Lamb. But it's hard to compare any book to Lamb, which is one of the most laugh-out-loud books I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror
The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror by Christopher Moore (Hardcover - Oct. 20 2005)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews