Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survive- anywhere.
No need for a long review here. This book was written by a professional soldier who was in the SAS, or the Special Air Service. For those not in the know, that's an elite unit of the British Army trained to carry out operations in ALL parts of the world. Eventually, the author became a survival instructor to the SAS, so you can be sure that this guy knows his stuff...
Published on Jan. 17 2008 by "Outdoor" Jack

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for general use, with a few glaring problems
It may be impossible to write a survival book that is accurate and authoritative on all environments and all areas of the world, and this is something to keep in mind when purchasing a general survival book like the SAS Survival Handbook. For the most part, it's quite good and gives excellent information on outdoors survival in most temperate climates. HOWEVER, one...
Published on Oct. 31 2003 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survive- anywhere., Jan. 17 2008
This review is from: SAS Survival Guide (Paperback)
No need for a long review here. This book was written by a professional soldier who was in the SAS, or the Special Air Service. For those not in the know, that's an elite unit of the British Army trained to carry out operations in ALL parts of the world. Eventually, the author became a survival instructor to the SAS, so you can be sure that this guy knows his stuff.

The book covers all you'd ever want to know about the essentials of surviving in climates such as: the polar region, mountains, seashores, islands, tropical regions, or even at sea. Here's few of the many topics the book covers:

-food, what you can and can't eat
-animal tracking with numerous pics
-color pics of edible plants
-pictures of traps and how to trap things
-how to handle animals you've killed for food
-how to make a camp and various shelters
-knot tying pics
-first aid
-color pics of medicinal plants
-picures of dangerous/poisonous critters
-things to have in a survival kit

A very handy resource for anybody who enjoys outdoor/wilderness activities, it's just a darn good thing to have around in case of emergencies- or even just to look at the pictures! Also recommend Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff if you have a shoulder problem that is interfering with your outdoor activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for general use, with a few glaring problems, Oct. 31 2003
It may be impossible to write a survival book that is accurate and authoritative on all environments and all areas of the world, and this is something to keep in mind when purchasing a general survival book like the SAS Survival Handbook. For the most part, it's quite good and gives excellent information on outdoors survival in most temperate climates. HOWEVER, one place the book does fall down is in areas like jungle and desert survival. There is little specialized information for those environments, ESPECIALLY important topics like navigation, first aid, water collection, and animal/plant information, and what there is can be dangerously vague. For those interested in jungle or desert survival I would definitely recommend other specialized books like Adventure Travel in the Third World by Jeff Randall or The Ultimate Desert Handbook by Mark Johnson, which do a much, much better job at covering those environments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, "must have" book, June 13 2003
By 
Harold McFarland (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The "SAS Survival Handbook" is the most comprehensive survival handbook I have ever seen. Most books have some basic advice (the importance of the correct mental attitude, finding water and shelter, etc.), a handful of edible plants, and a couple of ways to start a fire. While this book covers all those areas, it also has sections on camp craft, determining directions, rescue signals, dealing with different climates and terrains, reading clouds for weather prediction, and many others. A good example of the thoroughness of the coverage would be the food section. It covers your energy needs and how they are met from various foods, testing unknown plants in desperate situations, plants to avoid, identification of plants, using animals for food, extensive and detailed trapping mechanisms, fishing, gutting and cleaning, and other advice. The number, types, and detail on the various traps are amazing. I've never seen so many different designs. It includes several that I have not seen anywhere else before. I would consider this the authoritative text on survival skills in the wild and give it the highest recommendation for anyone interested in survival techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book everyone should have!, Dec 17 2002
This survival book is rivaled by few others. It covers basically everything you would need to know should you find yourself out in the wilds without help from civilization. The color illustrations are a great reference and the book also includes some useful information on coping with domestic survival situations. The main drawback to the book is that for Americans (like me) it is written in British style English using many vocabulary words which most folks who learned American English would have a hard time with. Of course, this is understandable given that the author is British and served with Britian's SAS. There are certain areas which could use some more thorough explaining, atlhough for its length, this book is pretty detailed. All in all, it is worth every penny, baht or pound you would spend on it and should be read by anybody who ventures outdoors. Not only is it informative, but it's also entertaining as the author does throw in some humor of his own. My hat is off to to the author! A great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and Understandable, May 6 2000
This is truly an important book for everyone to read at least once in their life. Given, most people will never end up in a situation where skills described in the SAS Survival Book will be required, but don't be cocky...learn the skills from this book and rest easy knowing that you have the background knowledge to make it in the outdoors without modern conveniences. This book covers it all -forest, desert, ocean, island, artic/arctic, mountain, tropical, temperate- you name it, this book will get through the hard times with no problem. This book HAS saved lives in the past, but many have also died in unexpected situations where the knowledge found in these pages could have saved them. I don't think anyone wants to end up classified in the latter. Get the SAS Survival Guide and read up. Someday you may look back at purchasing this book and realize it was the most important decision you ever made in your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense information that you might actually use!, Oct. 7 2002
The first time I read this book, was as a teen. I "borrowed" the copy belonging to my brother, and have never been without a copy since then.
The information contained within is aimed at surviving in the most extreme conditions. Granted, not many of us will be stranded in the North Pole - but if we were, we'd know not to eat a polar bear's liver, because the amount of vitamin A contained therein is toxic!
More usable information includes:
- Beautiful, accurate pictures of edible and poisonous plants
- How-to advice on setting up temporary camps
- Basic first aid and medical care
- How to survive a nuclear attack, war conditions, fire/ice/extreme weather conditions
- A virtually complete instruction on how to set up different traps to catch your food,
And other amazing pieces of information simply too numerous to list.
All in all, there are probably more professional, intensive survival guides - but this is by far one of the more approachable, with common sense advice that we can use even in a non-survival situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAS Handbook, Aug. 5 2011
Information overload. Almost too much. Glad i bought it but most of this information will never be used by Joe Average but its an interesting book and worth the read. You never know i guess!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!!! ., Jan. 13 2003
By A Customer
I couldn't put it down. This book is filled with all sorts of useful information. This is a must have for anyone. What i liked best about it was it had alot of information you could actually use, most survival books have situations your average joe will never find himself in. Not the case with this one. The first aid chapter alone is worth the price if the whole book. I highly reccomend it to anyone interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good illustrations, Feb. 10 2002
By 
J. Crisp (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is one of four indispensable basic, general texts on the subject of survival that anyone interested in the subject should have for reference. The others are Janowsky and Janowsky, the US Army FM 21-76, US Air Force Reg 64-4. My version is the 1986 Survive Safely Anywhere: The SAS Survival Manual. The most important characteristic of a really useful book on this subject is not just the kind and quantity of information available, but the real usefulness and authenticity of the information. Wiseman's book has that, and it's greatest asset beyond that sine qua non is the generally excellent quality of illustration. It covers much of the same ground as other texts, expands nicely on some areas, and has some discussion that is generally not discussed in other books. It has quite a bit in the areas of camp craft/improvised equipment, plants, first aid, and natural disasters. The bit on vehicle operation is not the same old information, and benefits from military experience such as that of SAS Mobility Troop. This book, with the other three, is a superb general reference and a starting point for further investigations for those interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding! The most comprehensive survival info. available, Nov. 16 1999
By 
Eric (Pensacola, Florida) - See all my reviews
The British Special Air Service (SAS) is an elite military unit trained for long range patrols,sabatoge and covert operations far behind enemy lines. The U.S. Navy SEAL teams are trained on principles developed by the SAS nearly fifty years ago. SAS troops are deployed to some of the most remote regions on the planet and for this reason, must be experts in outdoor survival. John Wiseman is a former SAS survival instructor, so you can rest assured that you are receiving the best available information. The techniques desribed in this book are simple, functional and extremely clever, all hallmarks of SAS operations. The section on traps and snares is spectacular! All drawings are clear and easy to understand and the book is organized into specific geographic regions according to climate(i.e. deserts, jungles, etc.). I have spent most of my professional career in the woods (I'm a biologist by trade)and I use the information in this book on a daily basis, including training fellow employees in the basics of land navigation, improvised direction finding, and basic "woodsmanship". Additionally, I apply the SAS mindset to daily problem solving and find that it serves me well. The book comes in two sizes and I can highly recommend the pocket sized version for your pack or field bag. I can not say enough good things about this book. I have over fifty survival books in my personal library and this is the one I use as my bible. I can also highly recommend the SAS Escape,Evasion and Survival Manual by Barry Davies. It contains the same high quality info. as this book plus some additional goodies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SAS Survival Guide
SAS Survival Guide by John 'Lofty' Wiseman (Paperback - Feb. 16 2006)
Used & New from: CDN$ 17.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews