Customer Reviews


342 Reviews
5 star:
 (272)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nice & Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch
Bad news. The Apocalypse is coming. Soon. Luckily, Heaven and Hell have left the business with the Anti-Christ in the hands of Crowley and Aziraphale, demon and angel respectively. Now they have misplaced the Anti-Christ and pretty much decided they really like humanity a lot more than their either of their bosses.
In the first edition, the full title of this book...
Published on Sept. 30 2000 by James D. DeWitt

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very droll
Good Omens is a novel of wit and humour that takes the Revelations chapter of the Bible and uses it to poke fun at human foibles and pretensions. A heartwarming story at its core, it delivers a non-stop barrage of dry British humour that will have fans of Douglas Adams rolling on the floor. Requires some, but not a lot of, familiarity with British culture and regions...
Published on Sept. 14 2006 by Krypter


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nice & Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch, Sept. 30 2000
By 
James D. DeWitt "Alaska Fan" (Fairbanks, AK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
Bad news. The Apocalypse is coming. Soon. Luckily, Heaven and Hell have left the business with the Anti-Christ in the hands of Crowley and Aziraphale, demon and angel respectively. Now they have misplaced the Anti-Christ and pretty much decided they really like humanity a lot more than their either of their bosses.
In the first edition, the full title of this book was "The Nice & Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch." "Nice," in this context, meaning precisely correct. Agnes saw it all coming, from her being burned alive as a witch to the air force base where Armageddon will begin ("Peas is our professiune."). Agnes, her descendant, Anathema, the Four Horseman - Horsepersons - and the Other Four Horseman (a different chapter of Hell's Angels); it all comes together with the serried ranks of angels and demons gathered overhead.
Yes, this is an hysterically funny book. A satire and a parody, it lampoons everything in sight. From Elvis sightings to televangelists to the destruction of all intelligent life ("nothing left but dust and fundamentalists."), little escapes the scathing wit of Gaiman and Pratchett.
Of course the demon, Crowley, drives a 1926 Bentley. Of course any tape left in its glove box for more than two weeks turns into something by Queen. Of course the flaming sword used by War is delivered to her by International Express.
And what happens to the telephone solicitor, Lisa Morrow? Come on now, you secretly thought all telephone solicitors deserved it, right?
In the tradition of Jonathan Swift and Mark Twain, the satire makes a point. That point may be unpalatable to the religiously inflexible, or to those whose sense of righteousness hampers their sense of humor. Critics of Swift and Twain would find much to criticize in Good Omens. But Pratchett and Gaiman demonstrate that we don't need Heaven or Hell to have Good and Evil in the world; we have all we need in ourselves. It's the humanity of Adam Young, the Adversary, the Angel of the Bottomless Pit, etc., it's his human-ness that ultimately makes all the difference.
Don't read this book in bed; you'll keep your spouse awake, laughing out loud. But there's nothing else bad that can be said about it. Ineffability may be beyond our understanding, but humor, even humor in the face of the End of the World, we can understand.
Try this book. I will predict, with Agnes, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a nice Apocalypse, March 10 2007
By 
Selena Elizabeth (Parry Sound, ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Omens (Paperback)
Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman are both master storytellers, whose books are constantly humorous, insightful, fantastic, and intelligent. Having them both work together in penning a tale about the Apocalypse, from the perspectives of an angel and a demon who are friendly and both kind of distressed that this rather pleasant world is about to get destroyed, but don't quite know how to stop it, is almost too good to be true. This is a light read, but it provides a great adventure full of laughs. I absolutely loved it, and it was also the first book I read by either author, although I had heard so much praise for both (and was not disappointed!) After reading GOOD OMENS I can say that I am a fan for life of both authors and am eagerly reading the rest of their works. The style is also a bit reminiscent of Douglas Adams, and fans of the HITCHHIKER or DIRK GENTLY novels may want to check this out, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like British humor..., July 19 2004
By 
Karen Prager "prager42" (Medfield, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
Think Monty Python meets Douglas Adams' Hitchiker's Guide. Throw in a bit of Dogma (the Kevin Smith film), and you have this book. If you like all three of these, you'll probably enjoy Good Omens. It helps to have a basic understanding of Biblical prophecy and a bit of appreciation for British humor. Without these, you might get a bit lost.
The only thing I didn't like about this book is that I had a hard time figuring out where it was going a lot of the time. It felt like there were a lot of unnecessary scenes. I kept waiting and waiting for the Apocalypse to come around, but it seemed to take forever.
Still, it was worth reading. I laughed outloud at several of the jokes, and the two main characters--the representitves from heaven and hell pictured on the cover were hysterical. It's worth the seven dollars just for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very droll, Sept. 14 2006
This review is from: Good Omens (Paperback)
Good Omens is a novel of wit and humour that takes the Revelations chapter of the Bible and uses it to poke fun at human foibles and pretensions. A heartwarming story at its core, it delivers a non-stop barrage of dry British humour that will have fans of Douglas Adams rolling on the floor. Requires some, but not a lot of, familiarity with British culture and regions. While its eschatological delving may not be profound, it delivers a steady stream of fun, satire and well-deserved ribbing of modern society. I'll never listen to Freddie Mercury in the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse WOW!, June 18 2003
By 
John Whaley (Forsyth County, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
Terry Pratchett has long been known (and admired) for his considerable ability to make anyone and anything a satirical target. He has taken on the police force, Death, and every conceivable political institution know to man. The Powers That Be, of course, are the only target left. And boy were they hit hard.
Teamed with the uber-talented Neil Gaiman, Pratchett has taken the wit and wisdom of his famed Discworld series and applied it to the end of the world. The result is one of the most brilliant books you will ever read.
The story of Good Omens follows a variety of characters, the principles being Crowley (a demon who has "gone native"), Aziraphale (an angel who has pretty much "gone native" as well), and Adam, the Antichrist, who was mistakenly switched at birth and has grownup away from the influence of Good and Evil. The Apocalypse has been right on schedule, until Hell realizes that the aforementioned Antichrist is not where he is supposed to be, and Crowley, now the focus of a great deal of blame, must find him. Of course, Pratchett's trademark humor is found throughout the book. The demons and angels have decidedly human qualities (Crowley attempts to enrage humanity into sinning by jamming all cell phones in London for example), which not only exposes our own flaws in a humorous way, but also adds to the appeal of the characters. Everything from poorly-made foreign cars, to bikers, to the entirety of Manchester has been lampooned with satirical perfection and when you aren't laughing at the subtle humor, you are marveling at how well the plot flows and the sheer variety of characters portrayed. Fair warning - if Douglas Adams and Monty Python have never been appealing to you, you will probably not "get" this book. For those of you who are so enlightened, however, this comes with my highest possible recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse WOW!, June 18 2003
By 
John Whaley (Forsyth County, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
Terry Pratchett has long been known (and admired) for his considerable ability to make anyone and anything a satirical target. He has taken on the police force, Death, and every conceivable political institution know to man. The Powers That Be, of course, are the only target left. And boy were they hit hard.
Teamed with the uber-talented Neil Gaiman, Pratchett has taken the wit and wisdom of his famed Discworld series and applied it to the end of the world. The result is one of the most brilliant books you will ever read.
The story of Good Omens follows a variety of characters, the principles being Crowley (a demon who has "gone native"), Aziraphale (an angel who has pretty much "gone native" as well), and Adam, the Antichrist, who was mistakenly switched at birth and has grownup away from the influence of Good and Evil. The Apocalypse has been right on schedule, until Hell realizes that the aforementioned Antichrist is not where he is supposed to be, and Crowley, now the focus of a great deal of blame, must find him. Of course, Pratchett's trademark humor is found throughout the book. The demons and angels have decidedly human qualities (Crowley attempts to enrage humanity into sinning by jamming all cell phones in London for example), which not only exposes our own flaws in a humorous way, but also adds to the appeal of the characters. Everything from poorly-made foreign cars, to bikers, to the entirety of Manchester has been lampooned with satirical perfection and when you aren't laughing at the subtle humor, you are marveling at how well the plot flows and the sheer variety of characters portrayed. Fair warning - if Douglas Adams and Monty Python have never been appealing to you, you will probably not "get" this book. For those of you who are so enlightened, however, this comes with my highest possible recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Witty, humorous, but BORING., April 15 2002
This review is from: Good Omens (Paperback)
Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite authors... i LOVED "Neverwhere," "Stardust," & "American Gods." But i just recently decided to read "Good Omens," one of Gaiman's older works.
It is a witty, humorous version of the apocalypse. I appreciate Gaiman & Pratchett's knowledge and creative attempt at the subject...
However the book is very long-winded and hard to get through...
And watch out Americans, you may not get some of the British humor... i think i missed some of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pee your pants funny!, May 24 2004
By 
Karen L. Mcginty "mcdisney2001" (Boise, ID United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
You don't need to be a fantasy or science fiction nut to love this book, just someone who appreciates a dry and twisted sense of humor. I would never have been interested in this book based on the description, but I'm so glad I gave it a try, because this is hands-down the funniest book I've ever picked up in my life! The jokes aren't slapstick-in-your-face; they're quick and inconspicuous, which makes them even funnier. Don't read this book in a library or on the bus; people will wonder why you keep bursting out laughing uncontrollably. For instance, picture a servant of Satan, threatening his plants to keep them alive. Or the biblical Famine running a fast food chain.
I *will* warn that anyone who is offended by, let's says, "creative" interpretations of biblical events may not enjoy this book. If the idea of, say, an angel of Heaven uttering the "F" word under dire circumstances isn't your cup of tea, or the idea of Satan speaking through a Freddie Mercury tape upsets you, then you probably won't enjoy this book. Otherwise, settle into a comfy chair and get ready to laugh until you can't breathe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flaming Bentleys, April 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
I believe a very good way to start a review on Good Omens is to tell you that it's a bloody amazing read. Good Omens is funny, clever, and creative. The book is centered around the actual characters just as much or more than the actual events that make up the plot. Which is fantastic because the characters are amazing. Crowley is smart, stylish, clever. Aziraphale is bumbling and a bit stuffy. Shadwell is... well... I believe Shadwell may be much more entertaining if you don't know him ahead of time. He's almost lovable in his fanaticism. No, not almost. He is lovable. When you really get into the book the characters just seem so real. The events are still totally fantastical but the characters just feel so real.
The teaming up of Mr. Gaiman and Mr. Pratchett is brilliant. Their writing styles and characters blend together so seamlessly that you almost can't tell that there's two people writing. At the same time, fans of either author can easily pick out the little bits of their style that stand out (like Mr. Pratchett's footnotes).
All in all... I highly recommend that everyone go out and read this. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars *Damned if you do, damned if you don't*, Feb. 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
Good Omens is an interesting, though sometimes tough read by authors Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. Overall the story is funny, original, and amusing. Most of the time the story moves along well.
The best parts of the story involve angel Aziraphale and devil counterpart Crowley. The way the authors put these two eternal beings into modern human society is the funniest theme in the book. Both beings have grown so accustomed to human society, that they actually dread the day of reckoning long prophesized in every religion. They just want things to stay the way they are.
Well, life staying the same as it had been will be difficult, since the anti-Christ has been growing up (in suburban England of course) for many years and is about to come of age. That is another humorous story in itself. See, there was a mix-up by the devil's agent at the time of birth, and ...
This book would be an even stronger recommendation, if it didn't bog down at times. The story could have been faster paced. Never-the-less, the story rates at an enjoyable 3.75 out of 5.00 stars, rounded up to 4.00. The originality of the story-line, the many, very funnny characterizations, and the way the plot is amusingly wrapped up, make it worth the read. Especially good book to pick up while hanging around airports for the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch
Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch by Terry Pratchett (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 28 2006)
CDN$ 8.77
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews