Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Yacoubian Building
This is an amazing book. I did have to refer to the glossary and character pages a few times but it was well worth it. It is the best book I have read in years and a very good introduction into modern Egypt. I was engrossed with all the characters and wished that it was the first of a series.
Published on Jan. 27 2012 by ladybrat67

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did I Miss Something?
The other reviewers gave the book 5 stars but I thought it was only worth a 3. I wonder if a lot was lost in the translation...This book didn't turn out to be as engrossing as I thought it would be. I was disappointed that all the characters lives didn't somehow intersect as happened in Mave Binchey's "Evening Class". Some people have already commented that this book...
Published on Feb. 23 2008 by Shepherdess Extraordinaire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Yacoubian Building, Jan. 27 2012
This review is from: The Yacoubian Building: A Novel (Paperback)
This is an amazing book. I did have to refer to the glossary and character pages a few times but it was well worth it. It is the best book I have read in years and a very good introduction into modern Egypt. I was engrossed with all the characters and wished that it was the first of a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than a romantic novel, Oct. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Yacoubian Building: A Novel (Paperback)
The Yacoubian Building caught me by surprise. It begins as a sexy, romantic novel, develops into an interesting character study, and ends as a frightening revelation of what makes a terrorist. The corruption and degradation of Egyptian society is frightening. Al Aswany knows his country; his translator is a good writer, and the book made a real impact on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating & terrifying, Feb. 5 2010
By 
This review is from: The Yacoubian Building: A Novel (Paperback)
In the style of Charles Dickens, but far more engrossing and easy to follow. A fascinating portrait of Egyptian society. Scary in the way that it presents a terrorist trainee in such a sympathetic light, but, at the same time, without justifying his actions. A very worthwhile read as a primer to visiting Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Yacoubian Building, Sept. 4 2006
This review is from: The Yacoubian Building: A Novel (Paperback)
An eye opener regarding the hypocrisy that Egyptians deal with and partake on a daily basis. The characters and the parallel story lines made it difficult to put the book down.

I congratulate the author for writing a book that may in turn put his life in danger-- but is so necessary for Egyptinas and non-Egyptians alike to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, April 27 2014
This review is from: The Yacoubian Building: A Novel (Paperback)
Fun read, helps better understand the realities of modern-day Cairo. Didn't quite want the book to end. Strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Yacoubian Building, April 7 2013
By 
Reader (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Yacoubian Building: A Novel (Paperback)
The truth is often controversal especially in cultures that do not face truths!

Aswany does not hesitate to pen truths about political corruption, sexuality and fundamentalism rampant in his country. This is not to say that such controversies are non-existent in many other parts of the world, but it is harder for such truths to come out of countries and cultures that would prefer not to be exposed. A glimpse into Aswany's country and society is painful to read, but the need to know the conclusion compels the reader to continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, Feb. 16 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Yacoubian Building (Hardcover)
I read the Arabic version and am about to read the english one, but this is the best book i've read in so long..
Definately worth the time and worth readong over and over..funny, witty and plain great!
great author and great book
a must have for every Egyptian/Egypt lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did I Miss Something?, Feb. 23 2008
By 
Shepherdess Extraordinaire (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Yacoubian Building: A Novel (Paperback)
The other reviewers gave the book 5 stars but I thought it was only worth a 3. I wonder if a lot was lost in the translation...This book didn't turn out to be as engrossing as I thought it would be. I was disappointed that all the characters lives didn't somehow intersect as happened in Mave Binchey's "Evening Class". Some people have already commented that this book is a true reflection of modern life in Cairo and I can see how this book would have been quite controversial there with it's honest portrayal of the personal lives of the characters. The movie is being released on DVD this month and I can certainly see that this novel would make a great movie. Hoping I'm right....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Yacoubian Building: A Novel
The Yacoubian Building: A Novel by Alaa Al Aswany (Paperback - July 20 2006)
CDN$ 16.99 CDN$ 12.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews