Customer Reviews


791 Reviews
5 star:
 (515)
4 star:
 (119)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity doesn't disqualify profundity.
When a book is as infamous as “The Alchemist”, debaters are no surprise. However I don’t consider simplicity a downside; a lack of depth. The word “basic” is the root of “base instincts” and “base emotions”. These are the core of who we are and a core equates profundity. A single-threaded fable is the hinge onto...
Published 1 month ago by Carolyn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Everything but The Girl
This is a nice little read and will be right up your street if you are a fan of Jonathan Livingston Seagull. I was, however, put off by the shallow characters, in particular Fatima. While her lover is busy following his destiny of travel and adventure, her lot is to content herself with household chores on a desert oasis while awaiting his return. As we are repeatedly...
Published on Dec 23 1997


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity doesn't disqualify profundity., Oct. 31 2014
By 
Carolyn (Manitoba) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When a book is as infamous as “The Alchemist”, debaters are no surprise. However I don’t consider simplicity a downside; a lack of depth. The word “basic” is the root of “base instincts” and “base emotions”. These are the core of who we are and a core equates profundity. A single-threaded fable is the hinge onto which authors hang important principals; why the message of children’s stories are more complex than the adventure carrying them. I put aside this novel a long time, expecting uppity scholastics. I was thrilled I could coast and soak up the nuggets that resonated with me.

Let’s dispense with critical analysis and just consider this: few of us have careers in what we love doing best; what our most natural talent is. We don’t dare take a pay cut in pursuit of it, we don’t want in-laws leering at us; we accept the most lucrative jobs among those readily available and stick there for life. I’m certain Paulo Coelho is addressing we, who dream of writing; who hesitate to believe we can be published authors.

We permit roadblocks to overrule treasured hobbies too, or the most sincere items on our personal wish lists; because we think them costly or impractical. I adopted a saying that I use whenever something I dream, begins to look feasible. I declare: “There will be bills whether I do something fun with the money or not. Let’s create some bills we’re happy about”! ‘None of that is new but it comes as a relief to see other people courageously asserting the same thing you believe. A new thought for me is that the universe conspires to help us, if we are true to ourselves and make a move. I smiled throughout this whole book. That says five stars to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth is beauty, beauty truth, Aug. 29 2006
By 
Asia (N.S. Canada) - See all my reviews
After you're through reading the recommended list of books that the New York Times and everyone else says you're supposed to read (Brown's "Da Vinci," McCrae's "Katzenjammer" and Martel's "Life of Pi," might I suggest you tackle this book---"The Alchemist." It is simply superb. Easy to read, it is nevertheless somewhat complex in meaning. The content of this novel is remarkable in its telling. I kept me up at night, but not in that thriller kind of way. Rather by its deep meaning and insight into human nature. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Alchemist, Dec 15 2008
This is a great book to help the world-weary soul. I helps open your heart again and see beyond the everyday problems that crust your heart with worry and toxic sludge. A very easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, May 10 2006
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This is an amazing book. It is a story of a young man who has a dream of hidden treasure. It is a book that alludes to that fact that all of us have a purpose and a dream. Yet many settle and give up their dream, and lose their passion for life. In this book it is stated again and again that each of us has our own Personal Legend, a quest; "When you pursue your personal legend the universe will conspire with you to make it happen." You will follow Santiago on his adventure and during the process be challenged to think about your goals and dreams and what you would have to do to pursue them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the snobs make you miss this wonderful book!, June 7 2003
This review is from: The Alchemist (Paperback)
If you are considering reading this book based on the comments of this page, you will find the following:
1) At this moment, 471 people have taken the time to write a review about it.
2) Out of those 471 readers, 308 gave it 5 stars, and 71 gave it 4 stars.
3) Many of those readers (including myself) identify this book as one of those which can actually change your life, or open your mind to a new way of thinking. Not every book in this world receives that type of comment.
However, there are 41 comments that give this book just one star. The sad part of this is that those bad comments are always marked as the "most useful". I feel sorrow for those who did not read this book based on the anger and bad judgement of the negative reviewers. They really missed something valuable.
Most of the negative reviews come from three kinds of people:
1) Arrogant snobs, who always care more about the form than about the content; people who adore what they don't understand and call "children reading" anything that their minds can really process. They like to consider themselves separated from what they call "the masses", or "the shallow people", but in reality their are the shallowest of all. They are looking for fancy words and constructions, not for interesting questions. When you tell to one of this persons "Run! Save your life!" they don't pay attention to you. They analyze if "Save your life" could be expressed in a more elegant manner. While they think of that, the avalanche comes over their heads.
2) Phsicologysts or other counselors, who want to save you from going crazy after you read the book. They think that you will throw away your whole life under the influence of this book. They don't realize that the book actually promotes serenity, wisdom, balance and moderation. "The Alchemist" does not talk about leaving everything to pursue your dreams. It just says that you should have dreams, and make moves towards them. To this type of reviewer I recommend to read again the part about the spoon with oil in the castle.
3) People without imagination, who take things literally. Persons who strongly believe that God made the world in six days and slept on Sunday. This type of person says that "The Alchemist" associates "meaning" with "wealth". Nothing could be more wrong! The "treasure" is just a metaphore, and actually what matters is the trip, not the result. These reviewers concentrate their attention in things like "the treasure is just some gold", "he falls in love with a woman the first time they meet" or "the story talks about elixirs of life and phylosophical stones". They don't realize that this book is about the meaning of life, about the complexity of things that look simple, about the way our universe is built and all its parts are connected. The key concepts of the book are:
a) Every life has meaning. Each of us is the star of a story that is worth living.
b) There are messages everywhere. There is a logic behing everything. If you open your eyes, you will see interesting things in simple events or objects that others would ignore.
c) The standards of our society fill our souls with fear. They make us believe that we have to follow known patterns. They make us feel small, isolated and meaningless, but each of us has a place in the universe, and a function to acomplish.
d) Balance is essential in life. If you leave everything behind, thinking that God or "the universe" is going to give you everything, life will prove you wrong; but if you stay where you are and don't pursue your dreams, you will not live at all.
Out of the negative reviews, there is one that I respect very much. It says something like "if you like this book, you deserve it". This book is what you want to make of it. If you are looking for the shape of the words or for an explicit confirmation of your beliefs, you will be disappointed. If you read this book with an open mind, you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking to follow your dream?, Dec 15 2006
If you are looking to follow your heart in a chosen path or seeking the truth then this book is for you. The book contains great insights and spiritual awareness but is written in a very easy to read style.

I would strongly recommend that before you read this book to follow the principles listed in the Fit for Life books by Harvey and Marilyn Diamond. This cleansing of the body will take several months but it is worth it, as then you can experience the insights and spiritual guidance for yourself.

Another book I would recommend following the detoxification process is The Kingdom of God is Within You by Leo Tolstoy.

Good luck and God bless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. Q: Book Addict : Visit my blog for newest reviews., Oct. 28 2009
The Alchemist is a simple fable that alludes to the fact that all of us have a purpose and a dream in life. It is a simple book, but nonetheless inspiring. It is a story about a young boy named Santiago who has reoccurring dreams about a treasure, when he goes to see a gypsy about the meaning of his dream she tells him to follow his dream and not to pay her now for her services but to pay her one tenth of his treasure once he finds it. Santiago left home to become a shepherd to follow his dreams of travel. He is hesitant to leave his flock, but begins to follow omens. Through his travels he overcomes many obstacles and meets many people who guide him in his journey. He meets to love of his life Fatima. Santiago tells her that he will need to continue on his journey but rest assured that he will come back to her. Through the story Santiago is led by many spiritual guides, and leaves the readers inspired. All of us have a purpose in life, and we need to listen to the omens around us. Our heart will lead us, where it will need to go.

I did enjoy the novel. However, near the end I did want it to end. This book was given to me from a coworker and I'm glad I read it. I do recommend the novel, especially for someone who is struggling to make life decisions. It's a spiritual and inspiring book that I'm happy to add to my "read in 2009 list."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Everything but The Girl, Dec 23 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Alchemist (Audio Cassette)
This is a nice little read and will be right up your street if you are a fan of Jonathan Livingston Seagull. I was, however, put off by the shallow characters, in particular Fatima. While her lover is busy following his destiny of travel and adventure, her lot is to content herself with household chores on a desert oasis while awaiting his return. As we are repeatedly told, this is her fate as a desert woman and she is only too pleased to live a life in waiting. I don't find this inspirational in the least and I would not pass this book to my 10 year old niece even if it is within her reading ability. Nor would I be keen for any young boys to get a hold of this lest they come to the conclusion that it is the role of all young women to simply sit around for their white knights. Sure it's a cute story - but one that is trite and somewhat thoughtless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my life!, Dec 2 2006
This book changed my life.

I still reference it on a weekly basis, whenever someone needs help; direction in life. It leads me every day.

Thanks to this book, I listen to the messages out there... Little signs that the world gives you to let you know if you're on the right or the wrong path. It never fails me.

My husband and I (he hasn't read it, but I have) base all of our decisions on our "Légende personnelle" (I read the French translation). Is this your légende personnelle? Are you meant to follow this path?

I strongly recommend this book if you're at a pitchfork in the road. If you need direction, or if you know someone who DOES, then recommend this book, and tell yourself (or that person) to read between the lines.

Thanks, Paulo - you put me on the right path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful journey in pursuit of dreams and knowledge, Feb. 28 1998
This review is from: The Alchemist (Audio Cassette)
I read The Alchemist in a single day and was enchanted by the beauty and truth in what was written as well as the immense wisdom incorperated skillfully in the story line. I loved every second of the shepard boys' search for his treasure by the pyramids and his journey through the desert. A wonderful book about seeking your personal destiny, and learning from the quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Alchemist - Gift Edition
The Alchemist - Gift Edition by Paulo Coelho (Hardcover - April 20 2006)
CDN$ 35.00 CDN$ 21.94
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews