Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But after reading that I flipped back to the beginning and enjoyed the entire book
I bought this book for one chapter - writing about one's family. But after reading that I flipped back to the beginning and enjoyed the entire book. Zinsser expresses his thoughts clearly and his examples are entertaining. There are many books about writing, but this deserves space in your reading list and book shelf!
Published 5 months ago by Margaret Amelia

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was a book on style instructions, a guide ...
As noted by other reviewers, the book lacks a lot on instructions but deserves considerable merit for its illustrative content.

The book contains many excerpts from known and respected authors. While these examples are good and can put you in the 'write' frame of mind, I was expecting more, much more, in terms of intructionnal content and format,perhaps...
Published on Feb. 8 2010 by SlowCooker Uncle Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was a book on style instructions, a guide ..., Feb. 8 2010
By 
SlowCooker Uncle Ben (Eastern Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: On Writing Well 30th Anniversary Edition: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction (Paperback)
As noted by other reviewers, the book lacks a lot on instructions but deserves considerable merit for its illustrative content.

The book contains many excerpts from known and respected authors. While these examples are good and can put you in the 'write' frame of mind, I was expecting more, much more, in terms of intructionnal content and format,perhaps somethink like "Keys to Great Writing" by Stephen Wilbers.

For those of you who are looking for instructions per se, "The Elements of Style" by William Strunk and E.B. White; and "Keys to Great Writing" are much better choices,in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But after reading that I flipped back to the beginning and enjoyed the entire book, Nov. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Writing Well 30th Anniversary Edition: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction (Paperback)
I bought this book for one chapter - writing about one's family. But after reading that I flipped back to the beginning and enjoyed the entire book. Zinsser expresses his thoughts clearly and his examples are entertaining. There are many books about writing, but this deserves space in your reading list and book shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Writing Well 30th Anniversary Edition: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction (Paperback)
It is less of a manual and more of an inspirational guide with examples of writers trying to find their way to and through a subject. The style is very readable and makes the idea of writing a memoir or tackling any subject more accessible to all of us who feel we have a story to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those rare books that changes you for the better after reading., Dec 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was never really interested in language or writing. I thought of it as a utility. I picked it up because I saw it recommended by John Gruber on the dairingfireball, and man I am glad I did.

The title of the book describes it perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zinnser on Writing Well', April 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this book two decades ago and was moved to keep the unnecessary words out of my writing, I've read it again and got even more fluff out of my stuff. Could have done without the extra chapters, but for the specialists it should be helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and entertaining, Jan. 11 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Zinsser leads you through his thought process in achieving simplicity, clarity and humanity while expressing your own voice, your own writing style. His dry humor makes this an enjoyable read for every aspiring non-fiction writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative Read, Aug. 12 2013
Beautiful and eloquently written by Zinsser. His descriptions are largely based on his own writings and experiences. An informative read for non fiction writers in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read. Very inspirational, Dec 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Writing Well 30th Anniversary Edition: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction (Paperback)
Amazing read. Very inspirational. Good solid tome, full of sage advice from an experienced, accomplished writer. Lots of examples, clearly explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Those Who Take Their Writings Seriously, Sept. 11 2014
By 
Eddie Chu (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Writing Well 30th Anniversary Edition: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction (Paperback)
This book is concise and easy to use. I use the instructions in this book in everything I write. For example, the instructions teach me to review what I write and often trim down the number of words by 20% while strengthening the impact. For those who take their writings serious, I can't imagine a better tutor.

Those who take the advice seriously will increase the clarity and impact of their words.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zinsser is always great, March 22 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On Writing Well 30th Anniversary Edition: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction (Paperback)
Zinsser is always Terrific . This book is readable , complete, a great resource for new writers and a great reminder for the experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Writing Well 30th Anniversary Edition: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews