Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The secret is how you use your internal resources
This book is written in a very upbeat and casual style and very liberally sprinkled with quotes from a fairly large selection of the hundreds of women interviewed. It is easy to read and very thought provoking. While many of the ideas and strategies seem like common sense, a few of the strategies are ideas that women (and mean) can benefit from employing no matter what...
Published on April 2 2004 by Craig Matteson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New Here
Reiterates much of what is found in other career guides.
Published on Feb. 6 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The secret is how you use your internal resources, April 2 2004
By 
Craig Matteson (Saline, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is written in a very upbeat and casual style and very liberally sprinkled with quotes from a fairly large selection of the hundreds of women interviewed. It is easy to read and very thought provoking. While many of the ideas and strategies seem like common sense, a few of the strategies are ideas that women (and mean) can benefit from employing no matter what their career and salary level. I enjoyed this book and gained a lot of insight.
One of the strategies called "The Trap" that especially caught my eye was given the motto "bite off more than you can chew, but not so much you choke," This idea involved stretching yourself but not too thin and also emphasized that some women can be too hard on themselves, extremely impatient or overly meticulous. This dealt with taking some risk and possibly get in over your head and not realizing you need to cut yourself some slack and instead pushing even harder until you snap. The author used many interviewees comments and experiences as well as her known to clearly illustrate both the danger and the handling of "The Trap".
The bottom line of these strategies is that it is not what type of career you pick (all different fields from musicians and artists to CEO were represented), what company you work for (or not),what your education or your background is, but how you use your mental, emotional, physical and spiritual strengths and improve them by following the laid out strategies that will determine whether you can be a "six-figure woman" or man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets of Six-Figure Women, May 4 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Makes the reader aware of one's true ambition.
Provides you with the tools to reveal your core values.
Knowing that other women have overcome their self doubt and fears allows the reader to move forward feeling stronger and more self assured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attitude really IS Everything, March 3 2004
There's a wealth of information for women in this guide to increasing your income.
Barbara Stanny begins by explaining why so many women are low earners. (She illustrates her point well with interviews.) She then goes on to give seven strategies for overcoming the fear, lethargy, self-sabotage, and false beliefs that keep women stuck in low earning situations.
Perhaps the most important lesson in this book is that a woman's ATTITUDE about her right and ability to earn more money is what will make the difference in her financial life.
Eye-opening reading, with great practical strategies. Recommended.
Reviewer: Linda Painchaud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strategies for using ALL your strengths to move ahead, March 31 2004
By 
Craig Matteson (Saline, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is written in a very casual style and very liberally sprinkled with quotes from a fairly large selection of the hundreds of women interviewed. It is easy to read and very thought provoking. While many of the ideas and strategies seem like common sense, a few of the strategies are ideas that women (and mean) can benefit from employing no matter what their career and salary level. I enjoyed this book and gained a lot of insight.
One of the strategies that especially caught my eye, called "The Trap", was given the motto "bite off more than you can chew, but not so much you choke." This idea involved stretching yourself but not too thin and also emphasized that some women can be too hard on themselves, extremely impatient or overly meticulous. This dealt with taking some risk and possibly get in over your head and not realizing you need to cut yourself some slack and instead pushing even harder until you snap. The author used many interviewees comments and experiences as well as her known to clearly illustrate both the danger and the handling of "The Trap".
The bottom line of these strategies is that it is not what type of career you pick (all different fields from musicians and artists to CEO were represented), what company you work for (or not), what your education or your background is, but how you use your mental, emotional, physical and spiritual strengths and improve them by following the laid out strategies that will determine whether you can be a "six-figure woman" or man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Realize what you're worth., Jan. 31 2004
By A Customer
An incredibly inspirational book. I've read many books on how to be a successful woman intellectually, professionally, and financially, and this one is definitely a favorite. I've emailed many passages to friends and even my already business-savvy mother.
The book is phenomenal. It concentrates on your attitude and your mentality rather than saying things like "be a corporate lawyer" or "invest in these stocks." It allows guidance and inspiration while leaving room for you to figure things out for your own situation, and this is surely the most effective way to embrace change so that it lasts.
The mantra I got from this book that has already changed my life is "Feel the fear, have the doubts, go for it anyway." It was while reading this book I realized that after attending a very prestigious and exclusive university and getting my dream job in New York City that it actually isn't what I want at all. I decided that what I really want to do is freelance work in another field, and within just three weeks I have acquired four clients and two more are considering. This book is what made me stop listening to the "should's" in my head and instead listen to my gut that says "Go for it.", and within a few months I'm sure the money will follow.
I hope to be back six months from now to confirm that I have doubled my income and am much happier with my career. --wink wink-- keep an eye out for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even for Women Who Are Already Doing Very Well, Thank You, Aug. 5 2003
Reviewed by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, Award-winning author
This review is the most whole hearted endorsement of any non fiction book I have reviewed this year. This book is so sorely needed, even by most women who are already doing very well, thank you. It is also because it is well written. Barbara is the bestselling author of Prince Charming Isn't Coming and she knows what she is talking about. She has been there, done that . All you'll need to do is read one chapter, "Raising the Bar," and you'll have enough information (if you choose to listen to the advice) worth a whole lot more than the price of one little book!
This is a book about strategy. How many women do you know who actually have a strategy?
(Carolyn Howard-Johnson's first novel, This is the Place, has won eight awards. Her newly released Harkening: A Collection of Stories Remember has won three. Her new book of poetry, Skyscapes: A Woman's View, is looking for a home.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Important Book, April 7 2003
By 
Eileen Michaels (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Barbara Stanny speaks to women in no nonsense English She offers valuable advice through intimate interviews with successful, powerful and self made women that support growth in every reader . Her strategies are life changing. Barbara is a pro and gets her message across. She cares about women and their future. This book belongs on every bookshelf of every woman who is making life changes and wants to be a Six Figure Woman and ...who doesn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Important Book, April 7 2003
By 
Eileen Michaels (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Barbara Stanny speaks to women in no nonsense English She offers valuable advice through intimate interviews with successful, powerful and self made women that support growth in every reader . Her strategies are life changing. Barbara is a pro and gets her message across. She cares about women and their future. This book belongs on every bookshelf of every woman who is making life changes and wants to be a Six Figure Woman and ...who doesn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New Here, Feb. 6 2003
By A Customer
Reiterates much of what is found in other career guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have if You're Serious About Owning Your Destiny, Jan. 30 2003
This is a great book of wisdom and stories from women who are already earning six figures and how they got there. Much of the advice is true and practical. I personally believe that the biggest obstacle women (and men for that matter) face in becoming successful is not believing in their abilities. It also helps to set your mind to it and just go for it. This book is full of inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets Of Six-Figure Women: Surprising Strategies to Up Your Earnings and Change Your Life
CDN$ 18.50 CDN$ 13.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews