summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 20, 2016
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
Great read for a professional woman. I have always had a challenging time finding resources tailored to my situation of being a young female executive, and this book has proven to be a useful tool. I have read and re-read numerous times. I recommend for all ladies pursuing a career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
prompt delivery, very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2015
This book was recommended to me by a fellow beachbody coach and I cannot put it down. I've already bought a copy for my business partner and have been recommending it to at least one woman EVERY DAY. If you're struggling financially, if you're making money but are feeling overwhelmed or stuck, if you feel a need for something more from your life... this book will open your eyes and have you ask yourself a few questions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2014
For anyone that is serious about changing their life. Great information and an eye opener.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2011
Makes the reader aware of one's true ambition.
Provides you with the tools to reveal your core values.
Knowing that other women have overcome their self doubt and fears allows the reader to move forward feeling stronger and more self assured.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2009
As a success coach for women I'm always keeping my eyes open for resources. When I recommended this book to my clients and on my website I got emails thanking me for that recommendation.

The material in this book highlights how 'invisible rules' can hold us back while getting out of our comfort zones is a prerequisite for success. The secrets that Stanny shares have the ability to change your life if you take them to heart.

Every chapter has Aha moments. There is also advice you've probably heard before but somehow Stanny makes that advice fresh. Perhaps it helps that it comes from women who've proven that the advice is sound and it works.

Written in a warm and honest style, you feel that you're having a great conversation with a good friend. A very knowledgeable friend.

Her closing chapter brings it all full circle. But I won't be a spoiler. You'll have to read it for yourself.

I recommend reading this book at least once a year!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2004
This book is written in a very upbeat and casual style and very liberally sprinkled with quotes from a fairly large selection of the hundreds of women interviewed. It is easy to read and very thought provoking. While many of the ideas and strategies seem like common sense, a few of the strategies are ideas that women (and mean) can benefit from employing no matter what their career and salary level. I enjoyed this book and gained a lot of insight.
One of the strategies called "The Trap" that especially caught my eye was given the motto "bite off more than you can chew, but not so much you choke," This idea involved stretching yourself but not too thin and also emphasized that some women can be too hard on themselves, extremely impatient or overly meticulous. This dealt with taking some risk and possibly get in over your head and not realizing you need to cut yourself some slack and instead pushing even harder until you snap. The author used many interviewees comments and experiences as well as her known to clearly illustrate both the danger and the handling of "The Trap".
The bottom line of these strategies is that it is not what type of career you pick (all different fields from musicians and artists to CEO were represented), what company you work for (or not),what your education or your background is, but how you use your mental, emotional, physical and spiritual strengths and improve them by following the laid out strategies that will determine whether you can be a "six-figure woman" or man.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2004
This book is written in a very casual style and very liberally sprinkled with quotes from a fairly large selection of the hundreds of women interviewed. It is easy to read and very thought provoking. While many of the ideas and strategies seem like common sense, a few of the strategies are ideas that women (and mean) can benefit from employing no matter what their career and salary level. I enjoyed this book and gained a lot of insight.
One of the strategies that especially caught my eye, called "The Trap", was given the motto "bite off more than you can chew, but not so much you choke." This idea involved stretching yourself but not too thin and also emphasized that some women can be too hard on themselves, extremely impatient or overly meticulous. This dealt with taking some risk and possibly get in over your head and not realizing you need to cut yourself some slack and instead pushing even harder until you snap. The author used many interviewees comments and experiences as well as her known to clearly illustrate both the danger and the handling of "The Trap".
The bottom line of these strategies is that it is not what type of career you pick (all different fields from musicians and artists to CEO were represented), what company you work for (or not), what your education or your background is, but how you use your mental, emotional, physical and spiritual strengths and improve them by following the laid out strategies that will determine whether you can be a "six-figure woman" or man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2004
There's a wealth of information for women in this guide to increasing your income.
Barbara Stanny begins by explaining why so many women are low earners. (She illustrates her point well with interviews.) She then goes on to give seven strategies for overcoming the fear, lethargy, self-sabotage, and false beliefs that keep women stuck in low earning situations.
Perhaps the most important lesson in this book is that a woman's ATTITUDE about her right and ability to earn more money is what will make the difference in her financial life.
Eye-opening reading, with great practical strategies. Recommended.
Reviewer: Linda Painchaud
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse