Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Much Needed Resource
My book club is always arguing over which book to read next. Mickey Pearlman's book is going to give me the ammo to back up my choices. It's a great book for solitary readers, too.
Published on July 10 2001

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Totally feminist slant
I purchased this book to get ideas on great books to read - I'm not part of a book club. After reading MANY of the books that she recommends, you can't help but be overwhelmed by the feminist choices in books that she makes. There are some terribly written, and otherwise terrible books on her list, that apparently, were only included as they (i) cast the male characters...
Published on June 25 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Much Needed Resource, July 10 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: What to Read, Revised Edition: The Essential Guide for Reading Group Members and Other Book Lovers (Paperback)
My book club is always arguing over which book to read next. Mickey Pearlman's book is going to give me the ammo to back up my choices. It's a great book for solitary readers, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huge diversity for anyone who loves books!, July 10 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: What to Read, Revised Edition: The Essential Guide for Reading Group Members and Other Book Lovers (Paperback)
What a terrific book! Is there anyone more passionate about books or more knowledgable than Mickey Pearlman? Books these days stay on the shelf for two or three months at best, and sometimes the best books aren't even reviewed, so a lot of wonderful choices fall by the wayside. This book rectifies that situation! What I loved most about this book was the way Pearlman introduces books you might never have thought of or known about, as well as better known choices. I also loved,loved, love the way she gave such a huge diversity of choices. No matter what you are looking for, historical fiction, mainstream fiction, thrillers, or quirky new reads sure to get you thinking and discussing--this is the book to reach for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Totally feminist slant, June 25 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: What to Read, Revised Edition: The Essential Guide for Reading Group Members and Other Book Lovers (Paperback)
I purchased this book to get ideas on great books to read - I'm not part of a book club. After reading MANY of the books that she recommends, you can't help but be overwhelmed by the feminist choices in books that she makes. There are some terribly written, and otherwise terrible books on her list, that apparently, were only included as they (i) cast the male characters in a bad light, and (ii) cast the female characters in a positive light. I'm not a feminist. If you are, buy this book - you'll get many recommendations that will make you feel good. (Please don't respond by saying, "oh yeah, well I see William Faulkner and Charles Dickens are on the list - they're not quite feminists". You're right, they're not, but 98% of her chosen books could be categorized as "feminist reading").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book for growing book clubs, March 7 2001
This review is from: What to Read, Revised Edition: The Essential Guide for Reading Group Members and Other Book Lovers (Paperback)
As a founder of an on-line bookclub and a bookaholic by nature, I was so excited to find this book at Amazon.com last spring. Since it arrived at my house, it hasn't left the nightstand! I first went through all of the different categories and highlighted the books that I had already read. Then, whenever any of my on-line bookclubs were nominating books for discussion, I'd pick a selection from one of the lists. In my club this spring, we nominated books based on three categories from *What to Read*, and everyone really enjoyed that we have focused in on various genres.
Dr. Pearlman did a great job of not only listing titles, authors and page numbers; she also gave a paragraph synopsis of each book. There are categories for almost every possible book genre. There are mostly fiction sections, but there are also autobiographies, sports, health and even fairy tales. And if you don't find what you're looking for, there is an address to send your suggestions!
I highly recommend the book to brand-new bookclubs. It provides some instruction on how to form and run your group before jumping into her book lists. Or if you would like to find a great way to keep yourself off of the beaten path of bestsellers, this is another opportunity to find new books to love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Book Lovers!, June 19 2000
By 
A reader (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What to Read, Revised Edition: The Essential Guide for Reading Group Members and Other Book Lovers (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book for anyone interested in forming a book club or for those who are just interested in a great read. Ms Pearlman has compiled a wonderful selection of books for all interests. She categorizes them by subject. She includes everything from early 19th century novels, to mysteries, ethnic books, sci-fi, and even non-fiction selections like health and sports. This is my second copy of this book. ( I also had the first edition) I have dog-earred and marked up this book many times. It is a must have for book lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Club Help!, June 16 2000
This review is from: What to Read, Revised Edition: The Essential Guide for Reading Group Members and Other Book Lovers (Paperback)
I recently started a book club with my friends (we all love to read!) :) This book was more than helpful in making our decisions on what to read next! We practically use it as our bible! Now thanks to this book we no longer have quarrels about what to read, we can agree easily! I also use this book on my own private time to decide what else I should read, I find it very useful! I would say this book was very good and I would recomend it to anyone! Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What to Read, Revised Edition: The Essential Guide for Reading Group Members and Other Book Lovers
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews