Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wimminwood...it's all about Wimminwood
How can you not love the antics when blueblood DeDe Halcyon goes to a wimmin's festival and accidentally lets in the homophobes? Or how about when Booter falls asleep on his boat and drifts into Wimminwood and is kidnapped? The story and adventure continue on just as compelling as the first four editions. You will laugh, you will cry...you may find yourself all over...
Published on Aug. 29 2001 by Brian Devinney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same from Maupin
The first two novels in the Tales of the City series were very innovative and refreshing. After that, however, things became pretty dicey. Admittedly, it's difficult for an author to keep characters, themes, and plot lines fresh and zesty in volume after volume, but perhaps Maupin should have considered quitting while he was ahead. This book is different in that it...
Published on Sept. 28 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars wandered from the main characters, May 20 2009
By 
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
I found that characters and story lines where introduced and led me down a path that I didn't care much for. Most of the novel focuses on secondary characters and the main characters that have been predominant throughout the other novels went by the way side. This is my least favourite book of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear., June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
What a shame - more wonderful characters either being under-used or over-abused. I really wish I hadn't read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wimminwood...it's all about Wimminwood, Aug. 29 2001
By 
Brian Devinney (Brooklyn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
How can you not love the antics when blueblood DeDe Halcyon goes to a wimmin's festival and accidentally lets in the homophobes? Or how about when Booter falls asleep on his boat and drifts into Wimminwood and is kidnapped? The story and adventure continue on just as compelling as the first four editions. You will laugh, you will cry...you may find yourself all over again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars gone ot goodwill, Aug. 20 2001
By 
K. Holmes (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
didn't list this for sale here because I would be ripping someone off. Tales fo the city was delightful, this is drivel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful journey is nearly over, Oct. 25 2000
By 
David Theis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
Reading the 'Tales of the City'-Series was such a wonderful experience I could easily repeat it as much as I could. Maupin's style is so great and terrific, it's strange I hadn't heard of him that much, before I read it.
The characters are surely some of the best ones ever created in literary history. The developement of the storyline is so surprising and unexpectable it's breath-taking. The twists and turns are so effective, because you seem to know the characters so well, and never had thought... well, you have to explore the secrets by yourself. I have never seen such a developement of characters. The same persons are totally different in the last book than in the first one. It's great.
I won't rate every book differently, although they are very different. But they are so great alltogether and so well-connected it's hard to tell them apart.
This is wonderful stuff!1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite!, Oct. 4 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
My favorite of the "Tales" series, and I've read them all numerous times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and light, Oct. 1 2000
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
Although I prefer the books that explore more "serious" themes, the center-stage reappearance of DeeDee and D'orothea made this book quite enjoyable for me.
An enjoyable satire of extremes of men's space and women's space, but not quite the same Tales I had fallen in love with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same from Maupin, Sept. 28 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
The first two novels in the Tales of the City series were very innovative and refreshing. After that, however, things became pretty dicey. Admittedly, it's difficult for an author to keep characters, themes, and plot lines fresh and zesty in volume after volume, but perhaps Maupin should have considered quitting while he was ahead. This book is different in that it has a Russian River setting, for the most part, but the plot really goes nowhere. He tries to make hay out of lampooning the Bohemian Club and militant ecofeminists, but most of his verbal arrows miss their targets. He also tries to develop a serious subtheme related to the AIDS crisis as it developed during the eighties. This is both essential and admirable, but now, years later, it comes across as preachy and maudlin. Finally, the inevitable "love interest" involving the gay protagonist Michael is totally predictable and frankly, really boring. Were the same dynamics applied in a novel to a heterosexual relationship, readers would be wringing their hands over the shallowness of the lovers and their interactions.
Overall, the smarmy smugness of Maupin's basic message, i.e., "gays and lesbians are really hipper and cooler than are you boring breeders" has gotten REALLY tiresome by this volume in the Tales of the City series. Time to move on, Maupin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Absolute Best Series in Literature, June 18 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
I first read the beginnig novel in College, for a requirement. And, I couldn't finish it. I though it was bizzare. But, after finishing college, and had been much more accustomed to the Bohemian atmosphere of college, I LOVED it.
I read all the remaining novels. I even read "Maybe the Moon", and loved that. Maupin has been able to capture the inner psyche of spirited individuals and make them loveable. I loved every story line, and HATED to end any of them.
My only regret is that I can't continue the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maupin's masterpiece, April 14 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Significant Others (Paperback)
The most artistically assured of the _Tales of the City_ novels. Maupin has always been a solid literary craftsman; here, he emerges as a full-fledged artist, with a deep and powerful meditation on human relationships. As profound, engaging, and wryly observant as (E.M.) Forster's Italian comedies, this novel places Maupin among the finest contemporary writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Significant Others
Significant Others by Armistead Maupin (Paperback - Oct. 1 1989)
CDN$ 16.99 CDN$ 12.26
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews