Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Goes On in The Senate and The FBI
While Jeffrey Archer's previous 2 books, "Kane & Abel," and "The Prodigal Daughter," are are romance, politics, business, and a blend of history, with creativity, "Shall We Tell the President," is a blend of politics and law enforcement on a level that most of us probably haven't considered is possible.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading...
Published on Sept. 9 2003 by Carmen Matthews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars All Depends on When you read it!
For those of who don't know, Archer has re-released this book as the third and final installment in the Kane and Abel trilogy. While it does have a good and exciting plot, it fails to live up to Kane and Abel and The Prodigal Daughter. If you read this book stand alone, you will enjoy it. However, if you read this book as part of the trilogy, you will come away...
Published on July 25 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Goes On in The Senate and The FBI, Sept. 9 2003
By 
Carmen Matthews "The Serene Samurai" (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
While Jeffrey Archer's previous 2 books, "Kane & Abel," and "The Prodigal Daughter," are are romance, politics, business, and a blend of history, with creativity, "Shall We Tell the President," is a blend of politics and law enforcement on a level that most of us probably haven't considered is possible.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, because Mr. Archer, being a master at his craft, created so many word pictures that you become part of the story.
Watching Senate hearings, as a result of reading this book, I have more questions in mind.
There are many surprizes, especially in the last 50 pages. And there are some speeches in this story that provide the readers with a great deal to think about, in terms of homeland security.
It's a fast read -- not too heavy, yet this book will stretch your mind, as a good book should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Fabulous, Fascinating!, April 20 2000
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
This is certainly a must-read! I have yet to award any books that I have reviewed with 5 stars and this is certainly the first and most deserving one!
The President is about to be assassinated and the FBI has 6 days to track the culprit. Archer uses twists and turns in his writing and together with love and lust, bringing the story to a thought-provoking culmination giving the story more thrill and meaning.
Appreciate this authentic mystery story, read "Shall we Tell the President"! I assure you a sweaty time reading at the edge of your chairs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If It Were a Movie, It'd Be an Action-Packed Blockbuster., July 6 2000
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
The year is 1983. Edward Kennedy, brother of John and Robert, is president of the United States. He is worried solely about passing a tough new Gun Control Bill through the senate to aid his chances for reelection. FBI Special Agent Mark Andrews, on the other hand, is worried solely about keeping President Kennedy alive. A conspiracy to assassinate the president in seven days time on the steps of the Capital building has been uncovered but the details are sketchy. The first night Agent Andrews, his partner and his field boss go about uncovering the deadly plot. By next morning, only Andrews remains alive. And the clock on the President's life is ticking. Archer once again shows his brilliance in this highly realistic, ironic, suspenseful thriller. Much shorter than his other epics, the reader gets a behind-the-scenes glimpse at the life of an FBI agent, the president and the men trying to kill him. At times the political issue involved makes reading a bit slow but overall "President" is an entertaining page-turner with a "killer" ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Updated for current readers, April 29 2000
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
This started out as Jeffrey Archer's second published novel, quite a few years ago, but has now been updated for more current politics. Try to find the original version, because it is vintage early Archer. In the original version, the novel begins just after Ed Kennedy is sworn in as president after Jimmy Carter. It was a rough time in American history, and Archer weaves the mood of the times into the story. The plot revolves around a junior FBI agent's investigation into an assassination attempt against the new president. He juggles a new relationship with the daughter of a senator who just happens to be a prime suspect in the conspiracy. Archer demonstrates his US political expertise here, despite being an Englishman. This novel goes behind the scenes of Washington DC, though not nearly to the extent his later novel, First Among Equals, does in London's Parliament. My only real complaint with the novel is its lack of major plot twists which I've come to expect from Archer's works. Pretty straight forward story. If you enjoy Archer's works, try to locate a copy of this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Archer's best but still a suspenseful enough read, March 8 2003
By 
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
Sequentially, this book seems to follow Kane and Abel and The Prodigal Daughter. However, it is more a thriller rather than drama as in the other two books. The President is now in danger of being assassinated and things must be done fast. The narrative is pacy and never tedious. Archer's gift of plot and fluent writing keep us turning the pages once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shall We Really Tell the President?, May 11 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
The time was March, 1983. The location was at Washington, D.C. And the primary objective was to assassinate President Edward Moore Kennedy. With just one clue to go on from a wounded Greek immigrant, Special Agent Marc Andrew had a week to prevent assassination. Losing two best friends of his, Marc was determined to find murders along side with the director of FBI's cleverness, together they were going to pin down these criminals. Believe it or not, the ending is very surprising written. The best features about this book were dates and time when the events took place, mystery with humor, and an unbelievable ending. Therefore, if you are an X-File fan and enjoy surprise endings, you would not want to miss this book. ("Shall We Really Tell the President" should be the title of sequel series to catch the man behind all this since he escaped successfully from the crime scene) Note: This refers to first edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All Depends on When you read it!, July 25 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
For those of who don't know, Archer has re-released this book as the third and final installment in the Kane and Abel trilogy. While it does have a good and exciting plot, it fails to live up to Kane and Abel and The Prodigal Daughter. If you read this book stand alone, you will enjoy it. However, if you read this book as part of the trilogy, you will come away slightly disappointed. Florentyna is really a minor character in the book and the only really new piece of information that we learn about her is that she defeated a former New York congressman (Jack Kemp?) in 1996 to win election in her own right. I wish that Archer had left "Shall we tell the President" alone and written a completely different book as the third installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written, June 14 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
I read the second version with the president being Florentyna Kane and I thought it was great. There are just enough twists to keep you guessing as to who is the real mastermind behind the plot to assassinate the president but not too many that you're utterly confused. I would recommend this book to everyone who loves a healthy dose of action and suspense with a little bit of romance tossed in for good measure. A great book to read on your coffee breaks which is how I read it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting look into FBI, Sept. 2 2000
By 
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
Shall We... was an interesting example of how distrustful even people in our nation's top law enforcement agency should be of their counterparts and coworkers. While the plot thickened and twisted throughout the book, I would have liked more FBI interaction with the Executive Office, Secret Service, etc. The last couple of chapters quicken the pace of the book as everyone gets involved to save the country's first female president.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars There are two versions of this book., Dec 29 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read two different editions of this book. There are some major differences. The first time I read this book the president is Ed Kennedy. The second time the president is Florentyna Kane (from Kane and Abel & Prodigal Daughter). This second edition has a forward by the author indicating that he has updated the book to use a character that he created. If this matters to you choose the edition carefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shall We Tell the President?
Shall We Tell the President? (Mass Market Paperback)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews