Customer Reviews


666 Reviews
5 star:
 (601)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
I was dying to read this book even if it was written a few years ago. I love wrestling and Foley is an icon.
Published 9 months ago by Cédric Bouchard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good writing, poor editing
As readers can tell from the other reviews this book is funny, comprehensive and surprisingly well written. It also contains graphic & sometimes gruesome photos. The major problem is total lack of organization, not even a table of contents. Foley just starts in & keeps on going with no attempt to address any particular subject. The book is not indexed either, a...
Published on Dec 22 2001 by Zack from A2


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, July 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was dying to read this book even if it was written a few years ago. I love wrestling and Foley is an icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, Feb. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This first autobiography of Mick Foley is wonderful. It explains the right side of the wrestling business and the worker side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A retrospective telling of makind's birth of...well...mankind, Sept. 27 2013
By 
Shane - AFR - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
By the time Mick Foley hit the wrestling scene I was wrapping up my obsession with the sports entertainment programming. However, Mick's match against the Undertaker in Hell In The Cell still flashes into my memory every once and awhile. So, when I had found that Mick had wrote a New York Times bestselling book about his life up to that moment, I'd figured I'd give it a read.

Starting in his high school years, Mick Foley describes his budding love with the sport and the men who wrestled in it. Bent to follow in their example, Mick starts his career like many up-and-comers and tests his skill in backyard wrestling matches with his buddies. Filming the experiences gains him some favor with head honchos in the business later on, and as his skills develop employment follows.

But the book covers far more than just his career path. Mick touches on life events outside the ring and speaks to love found, hardship fought, and the continuation of the Foley line. Not scared to touch of failures and follies, Mick tells stories that most men would never admit, and describes in detail how those failures led him to success.

Though his history outside the ring is touched on with great detail and humor, the vast majority of the book covers his career in the business. From sleeping in his car stateside, to traveling the circuits in Japan, Mick covers the hard fought battles to become a headliner.

Now, most people will remember Mick's high flying stunts in the ring so let's talk about that. Mick lays out his ring personas and how Dude Love progresses into Mankind. Injuries are spoken of, and tricks of the trade are revealed. However, the wrestling may be the main focal point, but Mick never forgets to put the human touch on every adventure. I strongly suggest listening to the audiobook version, as many off the cuff stories that do not appear in the book make into the audio version. Mick's reading is spectacular and the impressions are knee-slapping hilarious.

In the end we read/hear as Mick lays out the match that put him in the Hall of Fame, as the Undertaker nearly puts him six-feet under and introduces his bottom teeth to his nose.

Overall a really great read, and at times very emotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied!, Jan. 6 2011
I'm very satisfied with the book and the process. Thank you very much. I will enjoy reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have A Nice Review, March 4 2004
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
The first of the WWF (now WWE) autobiographies, and still the best. Foley, unsatisfied with the way his ghost writer scripted his book initially, decided to write it himself. Certainly, Foley should be credited with trying to write alone, rather than just let his ghostwriter do the work for him, but it is a testament to Foley the man that he wants anything with his name on it to be true to himself.
Foley proves himself quite literate, despite first impression from a guy who competes in matches with barbed wire and explosives, and taking over a dozen HARD chairshots to the head at the WWF's Royal Rumble 1999 Pay-Per-View. He also comes off as having quite a good sense of hunor, not only about himself, but about the wrestling business in general.
One might also think that due to his "King of the Death Match" label that Foley might be a little arrogant, as people might think all pro wrestlers are, but Foley again proves people wrong, as he is quite humble about not only his beginnings, but also his rise to the top, becoming a WWF World Heavyweight Champion. Sure, it's not real competition, but to get the title demonstrates the company's confidence in your ability as a performer to draw crowds. Certainly everyone strives to have the confidence of their company behind them.
As Foley has stated numerous times, both in his book, and in interviews, yes, he has sustained some bodily harm in his matches. Yes, he may never be able to walk straight, or stand tall again. However, he has lived his dream. How many people can say that? As Foley himself states, the damage that has been done to him physically is a small price to pay for living out his dream.
An excellent read, wrestling fan or no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard work, determination, and a bunch of "bumps", Dec 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
When I first picked this book up, I thought "there is no way I'm going to read a book this long about a professional wrestler." I began reading, however, and once started I couldn't stop. This is the story of Mick Foley, better known at various stages of his career as Cactus Jack, Dude Love, and Mankind. Foley wrote the book himself, and did a spectacular job. In fact he writes much batter than most of the "ghostwriters" who pen celebrity autobiographies today. Foley has a style, in which he tells a well-crafted and compelling narrative while cracking jokes that one can't help but laugh at. This is, literally, a tale of blood, but for some reason it's a funny tale.

Behind all the glitz and glory of professional wrestling comes the sport's most unlikely hero: Mick Foley. With a less-than-stellar physique, Foley sometimes didn't have the visual appeal of other would-be wrestlers, and consequently had to work many times as hard for what he achieved. This book follows Foley during his fourteen year (I believe) career as Cactus Jack, from wrestling in small high schools to touring Africa to tangling himself in barbed-wire in Japan and earning the title "King of the Deathmatch." It also covers his stint as Dude Love in the WWE, and his most recent character, Mankind. Through it all Foley gave it his best, not being afraid to bleed even when only a few fans would see him. Foley was bruised, battered, beaten, cut open, torn up, blown up and otherwise abused during his climb to the top of the WCW, IWA, ECW, and WWE (which eventually happened in late 1998, when Foley won the world championship belt), but he gave it all for the sport he loved. Foley is an unlikely hero, but is nevertheless a good example of what hard work and determination can get you in life. After reading this book I'm compelled to agree with the masses: Foley is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One giant step for Mankind, Oct. 27 2003
By 
Rocky (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow! This is truly an amazing book! After reading this book, I felt as if I had some sort of understanding of Mick, a seemingly peaceful man whom in his career always chose the most violent and painful path. From his misunderstood beginnings as a Long Island teen fantasizing about Jimmy Snuka, throughout his travels and travails through the outhouses of professional wrestling, to the pinnacle of his trade, the World Wrestling Federation, Mick shows all, in his own idiosyncratic way in his own painstakingly written words, what this business is all about.
If you ever wanted to understand why the millions that watch this Pop Cultural Phenomenomon unfold each and every Monday night, this is your opportunity. If you are interested in a book of inspiration, seeing a man who was told at every turn that his dream was unattainable, that he was too different, that he was not a person that would sell out arenas, overcome and succeed, this is your book. If you want to enjoy a book, have a good laugh, lose complete track of time because the book is so engrossing, this is your book. Thanks Mick, and as always, HAVE A NICE DAY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first and the best, Oct. 5 2003
By 
Scott Summerton (Thunder Bay, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
The WWF decided to publish wrestler autobiographies back in the late 1990s, and Mick Foley was the first to have his published. It not only dominated the wrestling fan's eyes, but the mainstream as well and was received so well by everyone it went to the top of the New York Times bestseller lists for non-fiction. And he wrote it all himself.
Not only is it a classic telling of some truly amazing personal stories, but its organized so well it flows flawlessly. The book is written superbly, and its impossible to forget that it was written by a man who's undergone serious punishment to his entire body, what with his vivid descriptions of the events within the pages.
Bottom line, this book is a must read. I'm proud to have a first printing hardcover on my shelf to read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read!!, July 13 2003
By 
Todd (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
WOW, this book was great. I think part of the reason I liked it so much is because Im a huge wrestling fan but(as so many others have already stated), you will like it even if you're not a fan of wrestling. This tells you so much about what goes on behind the scenes in all wreslting organizations. It tells about his runs in WCW, ECW, and of coarse WWF as well as his famous and brutal matches over in Japan. Mick Foley also talks about the infamous 1997 Survivor Series where Bret Hart got screwed as well as many stories about the late great Owen Hart. I promise you that you will be laughing throughout most of this book as he tells some of the funniest stories ever that involve many of the wrestlers that you wouldn't think of as being funny. Ive also read read Roddy Pipers book(also one of the best books ive read, although its only half the size of this book), and I am a little confused about Vince McMahon(WWF owner). Roddy Piper describes him in a way that makes you believe that Vince is only in it for the money and that he doesnt care what the wrestlers think about the company whereas Mick Foley describes him as being a very nice person who takes the wrestlers into consideration when making changes in the company...I cant figure out what hes really like. Overall this has to be one of the best books ive ever read and I highly recommend it to everyone looking for a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellently written, June 29 2003
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
Mick Foley suprised me! I didn't know what I expected, but this wasn't it... Mick Foley is intelligent, articulate and extrodinarily funny. The book balances the stories of his training, matches and hijinx well and provides an excellent "behind the scenes look" at professional wrestling -- fake or not! This book is excellently written and can be enjoyable even to those non-wrestling fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2b22760)

This product

Have A Nice Day!
Have A Nice Day! by Mick Foley (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 21 2000)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews