Customer Reviews


666 Reviews
5 star:
 (601)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Have A Nice Review
The first of the WWF (now WWE) autobiographies, and still the best. Foley, unsatisfied with the way his ghost writer scripted his book initially, decided to write it himself. Certainly, Foley should be credited with trying to write alone, rather than just let his ghostwriter do the work for him, but it is a testament to Foley the man that he wants anything with his name...
Published on March 4 2004 by Shadow Fire Promotions, Inc.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars We will miss you Mick.
Alright now, these peope are getting carried away. I'll admitt I'm a wrestling but I will review this book just like any other book.
I like Mick Foley. I was upset WWF didn't really build him up more than they did.(why didn't he beat Triple H...at least let him win this last time so he can go out with a "Bang, Bang")
Almost all the reviews are from...
Published on March 1 2000 by Drucifer


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Have A Nice Review, March 4 2004
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
The first of the WWF (now WWE) autobiographies, and still the best. Foley, unsatisfied with the way his ghost writer scripted his book initially, decided to write it himself. Certainly, Foley should be credited with trying to write alone, rather than just let his ghostwriter do the work for him, but it is a testament to Foley the man that he wants anything with his name on it to be true to himself.
Foley proves himself quite literate, despite first impression from a guy who competes in matches with barbed wire and explosives, and taking over a dozen HARD chairshots to the head at the WWF's Royal Rumble 1999 Pay-Per-View. He also comes off as having quite a good sense of hunor, not only about himself, but about the wrestling business in general.
One might also think that due to his "King of the Death Match" label that Foley might be a little arrogant, as people might think all pro wrestlers are, but Foley again proves people wrong, as he is quite humble about not only his beginnings, but also his rise to the top, becoming a WWF World Heavyweight Champion. Sure, it's not real competition, but to get the title demonstrates the company's confidence in your ability as a performer to draw crowds. Certainly everyone strives to have the confidence of their company behind them.
As Foley has stated numerous times, both in his book, and in interviews, yes, he has sustained some bodily harm in his matches. Yes, he may never be able to walk straight, or stand tall again. However, he has lived his dream. How many people can say that? As Foley himself states, the damage that has been done to him physically is a small price to pay for living out his dream.
An excellent read, wrestling fan or no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard work, determination, and a bunch of "bumps", Dec 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
When I first picked this book up, I thought "there is no way I'm going to read a book this long about a professional wrestler." I began reading, however, and once started I couldn't stop. This is the story of Mick Foley, better known at various stages of his career as Cactus Jack, Dude Love, and Mankind. Foley wrote the book himself, and did a spectacular job. In fact he writes much batter than most of the "ghostwriters" who pen celebrity autobiographies today. Foley has a style, in which he tells a well-crafted and compelling narrative while cracking jokes that one can't help but laugh at. This is, literally, a tale of blood, but for some reason it's a funny tale.

Behind all the glitz and glory of professional wrestling comes the sport's most unlikely hero: Mick Foley. With a less-than-stellar physique, Foley sometimes didn't have the visual appeal of other would-be wrestlers, and consequently had to work many times as hard for what he achieved. This book follows Foley during his fourteen year (I believe) career as Cactus Jack, from wrestling in small high schools to touring Africa to tangling himself in barbed-wire in Japan and earning the title "King of the Deathmatch." It also covers his stint as Dude Love in the WWE, and his most recent character, Mankind. Through it all Foley gave it his best, not being afraid to bleed even when only a few fans would see him. Foley was bruised, battered, beaten, cut open, torn up, blown up and otherwise abused during his climb to the top of the WCW, IWA, ECW, and WWE (which eventually happened in late 1998, when Foley won the world championship belt), but he gave it all for the sport he loved. Foley is an unlikely hero, but is nevertheless a good example of what hard work and determination can get you in life. After reading this book I'm compelled to agree with the masses: Foley is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One giant step for Mankind, Oct. 27 2003
By 
Rocky (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow! This is truly an amazing book! After reading this book, I felt as if I had some sort of understanding of Mick, a seemingly peaceful man whom in his career always chose the most violent and painful path. From his misunderstood beginnings as a Long Island teen fantasizing about Jimmy Snuka, throughout his travels and travails through the outhouses of professional wrestling, to the pinnacle of his trade, the World Wrestling Federation, Mick shows all, in his own idiosyncratic way in his own painstakingly written words, what this business is all about.
If you ever wanted to understand why the millions that watch this Pop Cultural Phenomenomon unfold each and every Monday night, this is your opportunity. If you are interested in a book of inspiration, seeing a man who was told at every turn that his dream was unattainable, that he was too different, that he was not a person that would sell out arenas, overcome and succeed, this is your book. If you want to enjoy a book, have a good laugh, lose complete track of time because the book is so engrossing, this is your book. Thanks Mick, and as always, HAVE A NICE DAY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read!!, July 13 2003
By 
Todd (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
WOW, this book was great. I think part of the reason I liked it so much is because Im a huge wrestling fan but(as so many others have already stated), you will like it even if you're not a fan of wrestling. This tells you so much about what goes on behind the scenes in all wreslting organizations. It tells about his runs in WCW, ECW, and of coarse WWF as well as his famous and brutal matches over in Japan. Mick Foley also talks about the infamous 1997 Survivor Series where Bret Hart got screwed as well as many stories about the late great Owen Hart. I promise you that you will be laughing throughout most of this book as he tells some of the funniest stories ever that involve many of the wrestlers that you wouldn't think of as being funny. Ive also read read Roddy Pipers book(also one of the best books ive read, although its only half the size of this book), and I am a little confused about Vince McMahon(WWF owner). Roddy Piper describes him in a way that makes you believe that Vince is only in it for the money and that he doesnt care what the wrestlers think about the company whereas Mick Foley describes him as being a very nice person who takes the wrestlers into consideration when making changes in the company...I cant figure out what hes really like. Overall this has to be one of the best books ive ever read and I highly recommend it to everyone looking for a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on wrestling ever written, April 4 2003
By 
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
The title of this review says it all. Know why there's so many backstage-revealing books on the wrestling business, why there's so many biographies of mat grapplers being written? This book right here is why. 500 pages long and one of the most entertaining books I have ever read. You know what the book's premise is by now, so I won't rehash it. But I will say that after reading this book, not only was I still a fan of Mankind/Cactus Jack/Mick Foley the wrestler, but I gained and to this day still have a TREMENDOUS amount of respect for Mick Foley as a human being.
If there was ever a book that could ever be called entertaining and inspirational at the same time, here it is. The story of how a young kid from New York fought his way to the top of the wrestling business is amazing and heartwarming, and funny as all heck to boot.
My absoulute highest recommendation, if you're a wrestling fan or just want to read a good biography and/or something to make you feel good and laugh your [head] off, pick this up. I cannot praise this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a fine book, but a little glib, Dec 19 2002
By 
R. Buchanan "Xbox User" (Mpls, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
First, there is no doubt that this is an entertaining read. Many nights over the last week I have sat and read instead of crashing and watching sports for the entirety of the evening. Frankly, I am enamored with it right now.
This book defines what is wrong with the WWE right now. There are no characters as endearing or as interesting as Foley was. Yet, I digress.
The book is surprisingly well-written. It is not a bunch of self-promoting fluff as one might expect, nor is it a sermon of how real wrestling is--althought it does convey to the reader that it is, indeed, very real through necessarily vivid descriptions of various bodily humors as they exude from his body.
Where the book tends to be glib, however, is in his descriptions of how he developed as a grappler. Frequently, especially early in the book, he writes how he returns from a gig and "got a lot better" or something to that effect. I would have liked to know how he got a lot better. Were his ring dives now more solid? Did he sell better? Did his persona improve? I thought more detail like this would have helped.
I additionally had problems with his match descriptions. Too often, I could not decipher in my mind exactly what was happening--more descpition in this area would have been a nice addition, with maybe even some visual aides (diagrams, etc.).
All in all, I have to say thumbs up on the book. Highly entertaining and necessary for all Foley fans to learn where he came from, and for all new WWE fans who need to learn where the product they now enjoy so much came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOT MICK?, July 25 2002
By 
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
Once you read this book, I hope it shatters any stereotypes of professional wrestlers being steroid-fueled meatheads with the I.Q. of dryer lint. (Well, actually that's WCW.) Anyway, HAVE A NICE DAY is simply an excellent read. Yes, I am a wrestling fan, but you will no doubt be impressed by this informative, intelligent, and sometimes funny book by this multi-lingual, highly intelligent wrestler. Forget the books by The Rock, Chyna, Goldberg, or DDP, Foley is actually a good writer. Yeah, his playful jabs at fellow wrestlers Al Snow, Test, etc. get real old after a while, but aside from that he actually manages to impress with his highly descriptive storytelling.
My personal favorite sections:
When Mick tells of his first WWF match: Himself (Jack Foley and Les Thornton vs. The British Bulldogs) I actually remember that match and I think I even have it on tape! (I used to LOVE the Bulldogs)
His times at ECW.
The infamous HELL IN A CELL match with The Undertaker.
Whether you are a wrestling fan or not, you'll love this book of a man who overcame the odds to reach the top.
Bang-Bang!
Have a nice day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST..., March 14 2002
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
No joke! You just gotta have this. I have never laughed so much at any book. I always thought autobiographies [were bad]. I didn't really want to read this either. But I did, and I praise myself for doing it. I also praise Mick Foley for writing it. It was a tremendous effort (lots of pages with letters dominating on them -- it's not a picture-portfolio, as opposed to books of other wretlers), but worth every minute of it. Foley is honest. Very honest. And he talks about everything in his life in an honest manner. And what makes it all funny is that he is a loser. One of the "nice" guys... you know, who always stays behind because he is... well... nice. And that's exactly what makes him so funny -- I'm sorry, but the Rock's personal stories don't even come close to Mick's tales of family, frineds and long-long years in the underground swamps of wrestling.
The story is a true inspirational tale, whenever it is not a laugh, and besides those, shares Foley's honest opinions as a man who came from low and was handled as such, but worked his way up to the top. He never forgets though where he came from -- never forgives either, but the vengeance is simply to crack up about.
Even if you don't care about wrestling and don't want to be inspired, still buy this book because of its humor. Foley has a true talent to writing and is intelligent and snappy in his style. The book is big and long, but it contains [money] worth fun that will keep you flipping those pages with interest and a smile on your face -- take my word for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one that started it all..., Jan. 23 2002
By 
Scot R. Carr (Holliston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
First one read, last one reviewed. What's up with that?
Never mind. Take it for what it's worth.
Before the slew of wrestling books came out, Mick's autobiography, "Have a Nice Day," was an oddity. It was thought so by the publishing world and even by its publisher. They didn't have enough faith in it to crack into the top 50 best-sellers, never mind number one. Especially when you consider it was handwritten, and it was huge by celebrity bio standards.
It became a best-seller. A number one best-seller. Why? Well, I may be preaching to the converted, but Foley took huge risks. He didn't use a ghostwriter. He committed everything to paper. He talked about the business in terms that, until recently, were forbidden. He used profanity, praised Vince McMahon, and lambasted genuine legends in his field. And he did so with a literary flair (the style, not The Man). The book was intelligent, funny, and thought-provoking. Non-wrestling fans read the book. It was ignored by the literary media and became a best-seller.
A number one best seller.
It has it's weaknesses. I agree that it should've been edited better (Bret(t) Hart!). There should've been an index (the publisher's to blame for this one!). It dragged in parts (never too much or very long). It was full of vulgarity (even for me!) which guaranteed it would be ignored by the mainstream. Even so, it was the story of a regular guy with irregular dreams and an intelligent viewpoint on a carnival job. Part one is better than part two, but both tell the story of Mick Foley: family man, intelligent bon-vivant (what the heck!), and the craziest, toughest SOB in wrestling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mick Foley is a Hero, Jan. 4 2002
By 
"ace1236" (Rochester, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Have A Nice Day! (Mass Market Paperback)
Mick Foley is a hero, but he´¿s a hero to a different kind of people. Mick Foley is a hero to a different breed of people. Mick Foley is a hero to pro-wrestling fans! "Have a Nice Day: A Tale of Blood and SweatSocks" is hand-written by the hardcore legend himself, Mick Foley on 760 notebook pages . In the book, Foley writes about his life as a wrestler and all of the hardships he takes to get to the top. Foley experiences over 325 stitches, more than 20 injuries, and fights in Japanese death matches to get to his ultimate goal, the World Wrestling Federation Championship.
Mick Foley also known as Mankind, Cactus Jack, and Dude Love was a not-so-regular kid with a dream until he got noticed. Mick made a backyard wrestling video with his friends using his first ever persona, Dude Love. When he shows the tape to a room full of eager people .He is noticed after he shows the tape to a room full of eager people and is soon taking lessons from wrestling legend Dominic DeNucci. On Mick´¿s first day of training Dominic tells Mick to "Givea´¿ me a forearm." Mick thinks he means a fake punch, so he throws one. However, Dominic then takes his fist and punches Foley right in the chest saying, "This is how you throw a forearm." Foley learns that there is much more reality in pro-wrestling than he and others thought.
Foley continued his training and soon became an independent wrestler known by the name of Cactus Jack. An independent wrestler is one who goes where he is wanted and is not in any organization. Foley quickly lights up the independent scene and becomes very popular. Foley is so popular because he puts his body on the line every night and puts 110% effort into his matches every single time he participates. A lot of wrestlers don´¿t do this and that is why Foley is a hero to people. Mick Foley is a hero because he gives it all he´¿s got and gives a great show doing it. To wrestling fans, a hero is one who gives the fans what they want, a show to remember. Foley showed up to every single match he was ever signed up for, whether it was a 900 mile drive away or whether it was right next door. Foley has a dedication to this sport (and yes it is a sport) like no other wrestler I have ever seen. For this reason Foley is a hero to me, and wrestling fans alike.
After many years on the independent scene, Foley decided to go somewhere where only the bravest of wrestlers go´¿ Japan! Japanese wrestling is a different kind of wrestling in that the fans want to see not only good technique but what they most want to see is blood and guts. This is done by including "foreign objects" in the wrestling such as barbed wire and nails. These few chapters are very interesting and should be read and not told by me about. Foley participates in these matches and even the "King of the Death Match." How does Foley fare out in Japan? Get the book, and read! Foley describes his experience in Japan with every possible.
After Foley left Japan he was offered a job by World Championship Wrestling (WCW)and later the World Wrestling Federation (WWF) itself. Foley´¿s dream as a kid was to be the World Wrestling Federation Champion. Vince McMahon from the WWF changed Foley from Cactus Jack to Mankind and Foley´¿s WWF career was off. Mankind goes on to become one of the greatest World Wrestling Federation superstars ever. He participated in some of the most memorable matches ever including the infamous Hell in the Cell at King of the Ring 98´¿ where he was thrown 17 feet off the top of a cage onto a table. Foley is a hero because he puts his body on the line and sacrifices his body for the benefit of those paying $30 to see him do it. The fans want/expect Foley to be a daredevil and he delivers EVERY SINGLE NIGHT. All of this pays off as Foley reaches his eternal goal of being the World Wrestling Federation Champion!
Mick Foley is not just an amazing wrestler, he is great writer. Mick uses such detail in every story and event that it´¿s a surprise he remembers it all after eight concussions! This book is great for it´¿s stories and it´¿s events, but it´¿s also a well written book. You will laugh, cry, and go in shock from all of Foley´¿s stories in this book. If you are a wrestling fan then definitely get this book for it talks about everything behind the scenes and everything you´¿ve always wanted to know about. If you are not a wrestling fan, get this book. This book is for fans but it´¿s even better for non-fans. It opens up to non fans the world of pro-wrestling and the world from a pro-wrestlers point of view. To Mick Foley fans, this will prove all the more that Mick Foley is a hero to all of us. Mick Foley is a hero because he didn´¿t give up when his training was tough and he stuck through it all the way. Mick Foley is a true hero because he had such determination for the sport and he gives the best he can every time he wrestles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Have A Nice Day!
Have A Nice Day! by Mick Foley (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 21 2000)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.92
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews