Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!
This blasted book kept me up late when I should have been drooling on my pillow. I could not put it down, but the first two in the trilogy must be read before making this journey. One of their best works.
Published on May 28 2004 by G. M. Barker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaning Towards 2 Stars Because of Ending
For the most part, I found this book to be much more engrossing than the other two. However, throughout it, I was worried about what the authors were going to do for the ending. I was right to worry. Essentially, Weis/Hickman just took a mechanistic approach to getting the ending done. Everyone in the book seems to have the same idea for winning the game: get to a...
Published on Feb. 15 2004 by David A. Lessnau


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, May 28 2004
By 
G. M. Barker "finalchaos" (White City, Oregon USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
This blasted book kept me up late when I should have been drooling on my pillow. I could not put it down, but the first two in the trilogy must be read before making this journey. One of their best works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Leaning Towards 2 Stars Because of Ending, Feb. 15 2004
By 
David A. Lessnau (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
For the most part, I found this book to be much more engrossing than the other two. However, throughout it, I was worried about what the authors were going to do for the ending. I was right to worry. Essentially, Weis/Hickman just took a mechanistic approach to getting the ending done. Everyone in the book seems to have the same idea for winning the game: get to a certain place and do a certain thing. The only difference being the interpretation they put on things. And that's what happened. Basically, we have multiple paths leading, linearly, to the same point. I had hoped that the point would expand out to a big knot with twists and turns, plots and fights. But, unfortunately, it didn't happen. Everyone gets where they're going, waives their respective hands in the air, does the obvious, and, presto-chango, it's done. Phizzle. That, plus the constant introduction and subsequent dropping of various ***main*** characters throughout the book, makes it quite a let-down. In general, a decent trilogy. But, especially because of the ending, nothing to write home to Mom about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, lame ending, Jan. 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
The set of books was pretty powerful stuff, with great character development, awesome sub-plots, and lots of action....up until the end.
What happened guys? The other books they have written always leave something open for a future novel, but still end grteat and basically give closure. In this one, about 1500 pages worth of story (3 books worth), ended in about 2 pages. Blink and you miss it. I sure hope they pick it up in their next series, because this one left me wanting a lot more.
By the way,will the authors please finish the Starshield Sentinels series! You can make up for a lot by completing that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Weis and Hickman Do It Again..., Jan. 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
I'm a die-hard Dragonlance Legends and War of Souls fan (the only perfect novels they have written). I am also a Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman fan in general, mainly because of those two great trilogies. So, of course I had to read the Stone books.
The first book, I thought, was great. Book two kinda sloped off a bit, but Shadamehr's character stole the spotlight. Book three seemed like it was going to be excellent throughout. I really found myself wanting to reach the end. But, much to my fear, I found that Weis and Hickman have a pattern that they simply cannot break. Such as what happened with the Dragonlance Chronicles and the Death Gate Cycle (which would probably be my favorite series of all time: excellent characters, an unbelivable set of worlds, and a driving plot), the ending was awful. Absolutely awful. There's this huge build up throughout the entire novel, only to be followed by one of their greatest let downs ever. The ending is so craptacular, it made me wonder if they wrote the ending with 10 minutes left before a deadline with the help of a child. This totally ruined the entire experience and the three years I spent on this trilogy waiting for each book to come out. Read it if you want an ending, but be warned, its poorly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, But..., Nov. 9 2003
By 
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
The book starts where the second ended and continues with the same fast paced action and character development the second one delt with. The end however is very dissapointing, after the great journey to get to it, a big drop awaits you... Even though i liked the book alot the end made me think that they (weis & hickman) were running out of time and ambition to finish this trilogy the way they started it. The bizzare and unfit epilouge sums it up... which is a shame... I still give it 4 stars because of the great journey. which had everything you could ever want out of a good fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Return of the Dominion Lords, Oct. 19 2003
By 
Arthur W. Jordin (Suwanee, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
Journey Into the Void is the third novel in the Sovereign Stone Trilogy, following Guardians of the Lost. In the previous volume, Wolfram has brought Ranessa to the monastery on Dragon Mountain, where her real mother brings out the dragon in her. Dagnarus and his army of ten thousand taan come through the Tromek Portal and invade the Vinnengaelean Empire. Baron Shadamehr flees to New Vinnengael with Damra, Griffith, Jessan, Bashae, and the Grandmother. There they find the king has been murdered and Shakur the Vrykyl has replaced the young Prince Hirav. Shadamehr discovers the Vrykyl's identity the hard way; he is gravely injured by Shakur and has to escape through a fifth floor window.
In this novel, Damra and Griffith travel invisibly to the harbor and contact the Orken captain waiting for Shadamehr. The baron, Alise and Jessan go to cover in a nearby tavern. Alise determines that Shadamehr is dying from a blood knive wound. Since she in unable to use Earth magic after her use of Void magic, Alise sends Jessan to fetch Ulaf to cure the baron with his magic. However, the baron is fading fast, so she uses Void magic to transfer some of her life force to Shadamehr to counteract the wound and almost dies herself.
Ulaf finds the missing pecwae in the company of a Vrykyl and takes them to the Tubby Tabby. Jessan joins them there and then the Grandmother whaps the Vrykyl with her stick, forcing him to show his true aspect; in the ensuing havoc, Bashae is mortally wounded and Jessan is injured.
They flee back to the tavern where Alise and Shadamehr are hiding and find her close to death, but the baron conscious and much improved. However, Bashae is dying, so he gives the human piece of the Sovereign stone to Shadamehr and the baron takes it this time. The Grandmother drapes her skirt, with its bells and magic stones, over Alise and she quickly recovers from the Void magic.
The baron sends Ulaf to get Rigiswald and travel to Krammes. Jessan and the Grandmother agree to travel with Ulaf at least part of the way, for they are taking home the body of Bashae. Shadmehr and Alise venture through the sewers to reach the Orken ship. They reach the Orken with little difficulty, other than the stench and one puzzling encounter with some taan, and soon sail off to Krammes.
This novel is one dire encounter after another. Other characters, including Ravenstrike the Trevinici, Fenella the dwarf girl, the Orken Captain of Captains, and K'let the taan Vrykyl, have their moments of glory, but the final encounter is between Dagnarus and the Sovereign Stone within the Portal of the Gods.
Recommended for Weis and Hickman fans and anyone else who enjoys tales of magical quests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but I expected a better ending, Oct. 6 2003
By 
Kimon Andreou (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
This final book in the trilogy succeeds in its purpose of closing the "Sovereign Stone" story but leaves many things open. I guess that is material for other books.
Though this book, and the series in general, isn't as powerful and immersive as the Dragonlance series it is pretty good and I would recommend it to any Weiss/Hickman fan.
The four star rating was given because the ending was, in my opinion, lame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lackluster ending, Sept. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
I loved the series but I too felt that the book ran out of gas towards the end. However overall this was a great trilogy, with wonderful characters!! My favorite Silwyth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, if not stellar, ending, Sept. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
"Journey into the void", the third and final book of the Sovereign Stone trilogy, picks up right where it's predecessor, released neary two years ago, culminated. However, it took me but a little while (read 1-2 chapters) to get fully enraptured in the series again-- despite the sabatical. The book--without divulging plot-- truly begins well.
Why then 3 stars? It runs out of gas, for lack of a better analogy. The book is subdivided into segments (4, I believe). The first 2 are excellent. 3 is short. 4, not surprising, containing the ending, peters out.
Worst of all is the "Animal House"-esque epilogue (don't read till the end, of course). I didn't, nor don't still, know what to make of it. It left a foul taste in my mouth: did the editors force it into the book? Or did they (editors), rather, prune it to the length present? Don't get me wrong: it's not hideous (no Ace-Ventura "laces out" scene or anything), but it's totally unnecessary. Baagh! Such a bitter center!
Ahh, then, the final statement: Baron Shadamerh is an excellent character! His and Alise' interactions are among the best modelled (& most enjoyable to read) relationships to the fantasy-genre in a while.
Their segments, alone, make the book worthy of reading!
Bottom line: If you're a Weiss & Hickman fan, get it. If you've read the predecessors, read it. If you're curious, read it. If, however, you're only looking for "best of breed"....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Solid Write, Aug. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Hardcover)
This concluding novel of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy binds together the fates of characters from the first two novels into a satifying but somewhat rushed conclusion. The steps leading up to the confrontation between Dagnarus and the Dominion Lords were meticulously described, but the confrontation itself was short and not quite as good as the rest of the story.
As with every novel by Weis and Hickman, the characters, with their strengths and foibles, are the strongest part of the tale. One is always provided with enough details to make the villans not so villanous, with characteristics that humanize them.The threads of the story are tied up in a neat package, making one hope that there will be other novels to describe exactly what happens to the characters, particularly with Raven and his half taan spouse.
All in all, this was an enjoyable series with the second book of this series being the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey Into the Void: Volume Three of the Sovereign Stone Trilogy
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews