Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling fun on the high seas
There is something about her writing style that draws me to her books, the witty conversations, humorous situations, complicated hero - it's a win, win combination.
When Lorelei gets kidnapped by the pirate Black Jack Rhys, she is so certain about everything in her world - mainly all pirates are murdering, raping thieves. Except, every time she is in his company he...
Published on Nov. 5 2003 by Darkcat_ak

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I never thought I would give any K.M. less than 5 stars...
But I have to do it here. This book was disappointing to me. Here's why:
The ending stunk. *SPOILER AHEAD* Jack spends his whole life hating Wallingford for many reasons. All of a sudden, when Wallingford shows up on the island, Jack forgives everything because he thinks that's what Lorelei would want. Um, I highly doubt that that much justified anger and...
Published on June 11 2004


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I never thought I would give any K.M. less than 5 stars..., June 11 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
But I have to do it here. This book was disappointing to me. Here's why:
The ending stunk. *SPOILER AHEAD* Jack spends his whole life hating Wallingford for many reasons. All of a sudden, when Wallingford shows up on the island, Jack forgives everything because he thinks that's what Lorelei would want. Um, I highly doubt that that much justified anger and hostility would all but dissolve just because Lorelei wished it so.
Lorelei tells both Justin and Jack that she loves them both. Jack is understandably upset by this, but that's the end of it. Yes, I believe you may be able to love two men at once, but I don't find that a particularily compelling storyline in romance novels.
Jack and his crew spend the entire book telling Lorelei how horrible Wallingford and his son are. Yet, no mention is made of anything horrible that Justin has done. Besides being a pasty-faced bore, he really doesn't do anything that deserves Jack or his crew's rage. On the other hand, Wallingford does all of these cruel things and Lorelei seems totally unaffected by it. She never confronts him with the horrible stories she has heard.
Wallingford is supposedly this cruel man. He burns people alive and kills for sport. Now, because he is dying, he becomes this crying mess of a man who everyone forgives and he dies a peaceful death. Come on! And Wallingford's other sons never address the fact that Black Jack is their brother. That is never discussed. Lorelei's reaction to finding out that her ex-fiancee and her current lover are half-brothers is never discussed. It should have been an integral part of the book.
The sex scenes were totally tame. The book is entitled, "Master of Seduction." In my humble opinion, Lorelei did most of the seducing. And once Jack got her into bed, there was nothing all that great about it. This was a man who had supposedly bedded and pleased hundreds and hundreds of women in his lifetime. But his lack of inventiveness and rather boring style of sex belied that fact. For a sex expert, I found him rather lacking. ;)
I wish I could give this 5 stars. This will be the first K.M. book I haven't given 5 stars. But I just found so much lacking in this one. I am going to read, "A Pirate of Her Own" next, so hopefully that's better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Master of the Cop-out, June 22 2004
By 
C. Vowels "romance reader" (Spokane, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
Lorelei Dupree is a spunky Charleston debutant who never met a man she couldn't tame. Recently engaged, she convinces her lieutenant fiancé to let her help him catch the infamous pirate Black Jack Rhys. Dressed as a serving girl in a pub where the pirate is being set up, Lorelei recognizes Rhys as the man she danced with at a society party the night before and immediately fingers him as the man they're after.
Jack Rhys had a rough life. His mother was a prostitute (is that a pirating prerequisite?), but he's raised himself up from a cabin boy to be the captain of his own ship. He kidnaps Lorelei in hopes of luring her fiancé and his father (Jack's nemesis) into a trap.
Lorelei isn't just feisty in the wallpaper sense, she really is, and I find it refreshing to see a heroine who is self-possessed and confident. She does come across as a little dim sometimes, but on the whole she's likeable.
Jack is a little complicated because of his horrible childhood, but we never really get the satisfaction we need from the build-up of his story because the book ends on a total cop-out.
The romance is nice, and I find myself wishing I could see it in a different setting where it would come off as a little more believable. Jack falls hard for Lorelei, and I'm a sucker for a strong guy who is flattened by gut-wrenching love for his gal.
One of my biggest problems with this book is Jack's pirate ship, which seems more like a fantasy rendition of a pirate ship than reality. All of the pirates are nice. Some of the men have wives on board. It seems that everyone and their brother has a cabin on their own, and I'm beginning to wonder if this is supposed to be some late eighteenth century cruise ship or something. Let's just say that if you're looking for gritty pirate fare this isn't the place to find it.
Overall, "Master of Seduction" is very readable, if a little forgettable. The heroine is cool and the hero is pretty much ok. It gets three stars because it balks at real emotional depth and because the story drags in places, then ends unsatisfactorily.
And the cover? Yuck. And wasn't the hero blonde?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling fun on the high seas, Nov. 5 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
There is something about her writing style that draws me to her books, the witty conversations, humorous situations, complicated hero - it's a win, win combination.
When Lorelei gets kidnapped by the pirate Black Jack Rhys, she is so certain about everything in her world - mainly all pirates are murdering, raping thieves. Except, every time she is in his company he treats her as a Lady, even if he is out to seduce her! For Jack, women are only good for loving and leaving, hence the title Master of Seduction. However, every time he has a verbal sparing match with the enchanting Lorelei he finds himself more entangled in a web he doesn't understand.
From tantalizing art work to a ship wreck (as only one near death experience), MASTER OF SEDUCTION will enthrall anyone looking for a good story and provide many opportunies to laugh. Oh and when I mention art work, I should add, Lorelei's version of painting fruit... it is the best! I can say no more! As I really enjoyed Jack and Lorelei's story, I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lively couple,tantilizing romance,unwarranted forgiveness, Feb. 26 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
I just discovered Ms Mac Gregor, having first read Claiming the Highlander, which took me to Sin's story and now Jack's and Lorelei's. I appreciate her strong heroines. They have pluck without being obnoxious. They have feminine strength and grace and give as good as they get. My only problem and I'll just address Master of Seduction is the need to tie up loose ends with forgiveness for horrific behavior. In Seduction I could understand Jack's forgiving his mother for her treatment, though that in itself took Christian charity to the limit. But, I find it very hard to believe that anyone could forgive his father. He abandons Jack three times, first with his mother, second after his mother's death leaving him in slavery to a sexual predator, and finally by not letting his maternal grandfather reach him before his death or after with an inheritance that would have sustained him. Ms Mac Gregor creates cruel mean characters to innocent children and then in the last few pages of at least 2 of her books expects all to be forgiven. What is truly hard to fathom is her heroines would facilitate these acts where the victim is expected to make the first move. She should stick to her good use of lively dialog between her lovers and if she wants to have vile characters don't try and wrap it all up neatly in a bow at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This a Definite Winner, Jan. 8 2003
By 
M. Rondeau (West Springfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
Now this was more like it! It is too bad I had not read it before 'Pirate of Her Own' as this is the prequel that should have been read first. This is not to say that 'Pirate....' was bad it is just that this prequel had the heart and emotion that I felt was missing from the much more lighthearted 'Pirate.!
Lorelei Dupree was the spoiled only child of a wealthy banker engaged to be married to the highly sought after Justin Wallingford. Lorelei had always craved excitement and when Justin had broached the idea of Lorelei helping him to set a trap to catch the infamous pirate 'Black Jack Rhys' she jumped at the opportunity. She of course never thought that Justin would be bested and she would become the hostage of Black Jack!
Black Jack Rhys had not intended to take any hostages but something of the fiery red haired wench had captured his imagination - and the fact that she was the fiancé of the man he hated made the prospect all that much sweeter.
Kidnap her he did and the games began in which two very arrogant people made a wager between them. Lorelei swore she would have him falling in love with her and he swore he could seduce her! Jack may have kidnapped Lorelei but it was his heart that was soon to be held hostage.
Along with some very witty repartee between Lorelei and Jack, which will have you laughing heartily, you will be able to see much more emotional depth of the characters that I felt was missing from her first novel. The attraction that at first enticed them slowly began to strengthen as they spent time with one another and turned into a very dynamic and very sensual love. I highly recommend this story and definitely recommend that it be read before 'Pirate of Her Own'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This a Definite Winner, Jan. 8 2003
By 
M. Rondeau (West Springfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
Now this was more like it! It is too bad I had not read it before 'Pirate of Her Own' as this is the prequel that should have been read first. This is not to say that 'Pirate....' was bad it is just that this prequel had the heart and emotion that I felt was missing from the much more lighthearted 'Pirate.!
Lorelei Dupree was the spoiled only child of a wealthy banker engaged to be married to the highly sought after Justin Wallingford. Lorelei had always craved excitement and when Justin had broached the idea of Lorelei helping him to set a trap to catch the infamous pirate 'Black Jack Rhys' she jumped at the opportunity. She of course never thought that Justin would be bested and she would become the hostage of Black Jack!
Black Jack Rhys had not intended to take any hostages but something of the fiery red haired wench had captured his imagination - and the fact that she was the fiancé of the man he hated made the prospect all that much sweeter.
Kidnap her he did and the games began in which two very arrogant people made a wager between them. Lorelei swore she would have him falling in love with her and he swore he could seduce her! Jack may have kidnapped Lorelei but it was his heart that was soon to be held hostage.
Along with some very witty repartee between Lorelei and Jack, which will have you laughing heartily, you will be able to see much more emotional depth of the characters that I felt was missing from her first novel. The attraction that at first enticed them slowly began to strengthen as they spent time with one another and turned into a very dynamic and very sensual love. I highly recommend this story and definitely recommend that it be read before 'Pirate of Her Own'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spunky heroine; sexy, charming hero!, Sept. 19 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
I must say Kinley MacGregor is consistently a fun read. The books are never too deep or too dark. Just fun, fast stories that are enjoyable to read. Don't look for perfect historical accuracy, and often the dialog is too contemporary, but these stories have lots of humor and action to keep things moving. I've now read all of her books to date (up to Claiming the Highlander) and I haven't read a dud yet.
Lorelei was adventurous, fun and spunky; Jack, though a self-contained loner at heart, was sexy, funny and charming. You understood Jack's desire for revenge once it was revealed - he was cruely mistreated in his early life and he needs someone to pay. That someone is Lorelei's soon-to-be father-in-law.
Lorelei's fiance' has decided to set a trap for infamous pirate Black Jack Rhys and he asks Lorelei to assist - a mistake! The trap goes awry and Jack takes her hostage, sailing off with her in order to have his enemy follow to rescue her thus forcing a confrontation to get his revenge once and for all.
Predictably during the journey she sees that there is more to this pirate than meets the eye. He's well read, well mannered, smart and even kind and compassionate in his own way. Jack is attracted to this small, spunky woman. He wants her in his bed, but much to Jack's disquiet, he also wants her out of it! He enjoys the verbal sparring that always seems to happen with her. Though normally a loner, he finds himself seeking her out and enjoying her company. But he doesn't want to feel anything for her and he doesn't want her to feel anything for him. It can't lead to anything - they have no future together. Of course she is determined to make him feel something! Who will prevail? Though we have a pretty good idea, it's fun to go along for the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, July 5 2002
By 
S. Quevedo "szoer" (San Diego, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
I have only read two books by Kinley MacGregor, this one and "Master of Desire" and I enjoyed them both. The only thing that I didn't like is that in both books the heroine realizes she loves him too soon. There's not enough "what's wrong with me? Why does he get to me so easy?" for it to be believable or even suspenseful.
Lorelei Dupree is engaged to her lifelong friend, Jason, with whom she grew up. She naturally believes she's in love with him. But when Black Jack Rhys abducts her, while posing as a barmaid to trap him, she starts to see her life through his eyes and becomes confused.
Black Jack Rhys is a notorious rake who can't understand why he is so attracted to this not-so-beautiful looking young woman when he can have any woman he wants. Nevertheless, when he gets to know her he realizes why.
I would say this is a good book and recommend it to Johanna Lindsey, Connie Mason and Sandra Hill fans. You know who you are, the one who doesn't like the weak heroine who falls in love on the first page and puts up with any and all the abuse dished out to her by the hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MacKinley Magic!, June 30 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
Lorelei Dupree and her fiancé, Justin Wallingford, set out to catch Black Jack Rhys, the infamous pirate. Lorelei, confident in her feminine whiles, believes she knows how to handle any man by treating him like a dog. However she will find out Black Jack Rhys is not like other men.
Posing as a bar maid, Lorelei finds herself face to face with Jack Rhys, who she met before the night before, but that night he was no pirate! Indeed he is in the famous pirate, and he quickly takes her from the bar as a hostage and sets the course for adventure and romance on the high seas.
Their relationship becomes one of passion, a struggle of wills, and ultimately a deep love.
The book is entitled MASTER OF DESIRE, which seems a bit misleading. Black Jack is a deeply scarred man, and in no way exemplifies a master of women or of experience. He in fact is quite solitary and dark.
There are several gaps in Ms. Macgregor's writing where secondary characters are still in the room, if one reads the book carefully, while the couple embraces. I found this distracting that these mistakes were made. In Kinley Macgregor's defense, her characterization of Black Jack Rhys is second to none and the book was a first rate and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book was wonderful!, April 15 2002
By 
Kindle Customer "Mimmi" (RADCLIFF, KY, United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Master Of Seduction (Mass Market Paperback)
Lorelei Dupree has led a charmed life. She's always been the apple of the men in her life's eye-whether it's her father, her suitors, or her new fiancé. She brags that she knows how to handle any man, can make any man want her-just treat him like a dog; when he comes at your bidding, you reward him. You always speak in a gentle tone, so that he is sure to always listen closely to what you have to say, and so on...And her intended, Justin Wallingford, proves her words true. But Justin is not above using Lorelei for his own means-and he means to catch a pirate, and not just any pirate, but the notorious Black Jack Rhys.
Lorelei agrees to pose as a bar maid for Justin, to listen for any information she can gain on Black Jack. What she doesn't plan on is running into a handsome rogue with startling gray eyes that she'd gazed into only the night before-only he was someone else then. How could that be, unless HE was Black Jack?
Seeing the intelligence and knowledge that shines in Lorelei's eyes, Jack knows what he's going to have to do. There is no way around it; he'll have to kidnap her, and lure Wallingford into a trap on his territory to save her. But what Jack doesn't plan on is being lulled by her innocence and freshness, or wanting her with every breath he takes. He didn't plan on her being such a little spitfire, either, and is soon lured into a challenge-that Lorelei can win Jack's heart before he can win her body.
It was great fun reading the interaction between these two characters, who were both so sure of themselves where the opposite sex was concerned. The pace starts racing on page one, and doesn't let up. Jack and Lorelei are either at one another's throat, or having hands on one another's bodies. Things really heat up when Jack learns Lorelei has always wanted to paint, and provides paint supplies, and himself as a model. There were some laugh out loud moments with this! This book is full of fun and laughter, and sweet and poignant moments.
Kinley MacGregor never disappoints, and Master of Seduction is another wonderful read by this author. She lets us get to know the characters so well, and draws us into every nuance of the book. I just wish there had been more! I think there are some wonderful stories in the supporting characters. Maybe that is for another read! This reviewer can assure you that if you're a fan of historical romance, you will thrill yourself by picking up this read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Master Of Seduction
Master Of Seduction by Macgregor Kinley (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 16 1999)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews