Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great read
This was my first book by Lisa Scottoline and it won't be my last. The story took off from the first chapter and had good interesting characters.Plenty of suspense, twists and an ending that surprised me.Highly recommended!
Published on June 25 2002 by Cheryl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mistaken identity, Scottoline is not Grisham
Have you ever read a Grisham legal-thriller ?. In my opinion Mr. Grisham has provided an involuntary strong influence on Lisa Scottoline, this book looks like a copycat but cannot attain the level of the former writer. With a quick pace marked by short chapters and with a poor language improper for a legal-thriller, the author is determined to trap the reader into the...
Published on Oct. 27 2001 by Manuel Gwiazda


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't see it..., April 10 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Hardcover)
I just don't see what others like about this book. It's classified as a legal thriller, but aside from a brief (and unbelievable) car chase, there was no "thrill" to be had, and the legal parts were dull and heavily peppered with the obligatory "Objection!--Sustained/Overruled. I'll allow it." dialogue.
I found three main faults with this book:
1. The writing - The style wavered between unneccessarily descriptive, to unimaginative and unoriginal. At times I felt as if I were rereading parts because they were so bland. The dialogue was awkward and strained, as if the people weren't actually talking to each other.
2. The characters - Often one-dimensional and stereotypical. The salty and stubborn ex-cop named Lou (aren't there any ex-cops named Alan or Stuart?). The aggressive, gritty, and determined female attorney stopping at nothing to prove her case...and predictably given a man's name "Bennie." The shallowly written bad cops. The blurry, weak, almost feminine boyfriend. Even the dog was hackneyed - a golden retriever named Bear. Come on, doesn't anyone have an Akita named Sasquatch or a Boxer called Rocky?
3. The story - Predictably predictable. I knew what was going to happen, and frankly didn't really feel like putting much effort into reading it...but I did. And that's the whole point. I've read (and enjoyed) many predictable thrillers, but the sour combination of unimaginative characters and flat writing make reading this book extremely tiresome.
There's a quote on the cover of the book from some dolt proclaiming Lisa Scottoline as "the female Grisham." Well, I don't know what book this person read, but the only similarity between the two is that both authors' books are classified as legal thrillers. Sure, Grisham's stories are often trite, but his characters at least have some originality, and the writing and dialogue is often fun, if not simplistic. Mistaken Identity is an unoriginal, dull, predictable, and ultimately tiresome read. If you haven't read it, skip it. If you've managed to read it, just be glad that you now know what author not to read next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mistaken identity, Scottoline is not Grisham, Oct. 27 2001
By 
Manuel Gwiazda (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Mass Market Paperback)
Have you ever read a Grisham legal-thriller ?. In my opinion Mr. Grisham has provided an involuntary strong influence on Lisa Scottoline, this book looks like a copycat but cannot attain the level of the former writer. With a quick pace marked by short chapters and with a poor language improper for a legal-thriller, the author is determined to trap the reader into the plot and scores, because as the pages go by, she learns how to exploit the story setting the mystery out and then turning it into tight suspense which snowballs toward the last chapters, but when you finish the book and look at it as a whole in retrospect, it is easy to perceive loose ends during the course of the events as the author falls sometimes in traps set by her own creative ideas, leaving some important situations unresolved or sidestepped, this go hand to hand with the flabby character drawing and shows a definitive poor writing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, March 8 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Mass Market Paperback)
It's disappointng to read a book by a former "trial lawyer at a prestigious firm" which inserts plot devices which would not happen in a real criminal trial.
In a real prosecution, if the defendant wanted to fire her attorney and hire a new attorney, the old attorney would have no grounds to oppose the motion. Nor would any competent trial counsel go looking for evidence by herself, without bringing along an investigator who could testify as to what was found.
When the motion for a continuance was denied, it's true that such a motion can't be "appealed," but there IS a writ process available where the denial of the motion could be brought to the appellate court's attention.
I also doubt that a trial court would literally "strike" testimony heard by the jury from the appellate record, as the author suggests happens.
The book is over-long for the writing, plot and characters. The denouement of the "defendant" plot line, end of chapter 96, is both tasteless and illogical. The author tries some plot twists like Crichton in _Disclosure_, but just doesn't pull them off. Instead of "now I see what was happening," the reader feels, "the author intentionally lied to me."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good Read, Oct. 25 2012
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Paperback)
In the beginning it was a bit hard to follow until you get the charaters figured out, but by the middle of the book it was hard to put down. Very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun, fast read, April 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Mass Market Paperback)
While this book was a little long, I sped through it in a matter of days. Bennie Rosato returns in this story of family relationships and moral ambiguities. Bennie is asked to give legal aid to a woman who resembles her and claims to be her twin. Alice Connoly also claims to be inncocent of her boyfriend's murder and the victim of a police conspiracy. Alice's case was originally taken by a law firm that did nothing to help prepare her for trial, even though she was arrested nearly a year ago. It is now one week to trial and the judge refuses to grant Bennie any more time to prepare. All of this points to a conspiracy, but Bennie begins to think Alice may just be a good storyteller. Bennie has no idea if this woman is her twin and the more she learns of her look-alike's life, the more unsavory her character becomes. Like Scottline's Legal Tender, this is suspenseful and fast-paced with rich secondary characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Way Too Long, March 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first Lisa Scottoline book, and I'm not sure if I'll continue with her works or not.
My main problem was the length of this book. A novel is 300 pages or so. At close to 600 pages, this started to feel like a chore to finish, especially since there was so much I felt could've been condensed or omitted to make it more manageable.
It was also hard for me to get into it because I found the character of Bennie so unlikeable. She thinks her client might be the twin she never knew she had, yet she constantly refers to her by her last name? That just didn't sit well with me, nor did the almost condescending way she treated her associates and boyfriend. I also found it unbelievable that someone who was supposed to be so smart and ethical would not only fall for the "you're my twin" bit with no proof, but that she wouldn't walk off the case when she came to know all the horrible things Alice had done. A lot of the events also seemed too contrived and convenient.
Ms. Scottoline really should concentrate on paring down her books. That would go a long way to increasing the star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, June 25 2002
By 
Cheryl (Sask. Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first book by Lisa Scottoline and it won't be my last. The story took off from the first chapter and had good interesting characters.Plenty of suspense, twists and an ending that surprised me.Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Thriller, June 21 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first Lisa Scottoline book that I read and I enjoyed it. The plot was interesting and the characters were terrific. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys legal thrillers or even just a good mystery. I was so impressed by this author that I am planning on getting her newest novel - Courting Trouble. It is another Bennie Rosato book and her associates are still with her. Looking forward to reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense thriller that you can not but down!!!, May 7 2002
By 
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was a good read and was very hard to put down. It was amazing how she intertwines all the characters in the book to be all connected to the main characters. There were so many characters that were so diverse that it was so hard to keep up with each character. However despite this the book was another stunning Bernie Rosetto book. It is a must read for who ever likes the author. However if you are not great fan of Lisa Scottline this book will definitely covert you to the other side of liking the author. This is the best book that has Bennie Rosetto as the main character of the story and shows a completely new side to Bernie Rosetto that as a reader I have never in countered. This book is brilliant and i hope that all her books will be this well written and excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense thriller that you can not but down!!!, May 7 2002
By 
This review is from: Mistaken Identity (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was a good read and was very hard to put down. It was amazing how she intertwines all the characters in the book to be all connected to the main characters. There were so many characters that were so diverse that it was so hard to keep up with each character.... It is a must read for who ever like the author. However if you are not great fan of Lisa Scottline this book will definitely covert you to the other side of liking the author. This is the best book that has Bennie Rosetto as the main character of the story and shows a completely new side to Bernie Rosetto that as a reader I have never in countered. The book is the best book written by Lisa Scottline and I hope that all the books written by her are as good as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0517204)

This product

Mistaken Identity
Mistaken Identity by Lisa Scottoline (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 13 2000)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Usually ships in 10 to 12 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews