Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollows Forever
The Best Urban Fantasy series I have ever read. I love the writing of Kim Harrison. I read the first 10 books all in a row and view the series as one big book. Therefore, differentiating between individual volumes is impossible for me. Therefore I rate every book, so far, as a 5 and heartily recomend them to all.
Published 10 months ago by Bootsy Bass

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Going Downhill Fast
I love Kim Harrison's early books, they had a unique flavor and she writes just beautifully. As her series went on, however, I became less enamored with the many impulsive "mistakes" of heroine and began to set the books aside more and more. The series is now beginning to develop the feel of an almost monotonous sequence of events: Rachel gets in trouble, is helped out,...
Published on Sept. 22 2007 by Jade


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Going Downhill Fast, Sept. 22 2007
By 
Jade (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Mass Market Paperback)
I love Kim Harrison's early books, they had a unique flavor and she writes just beautifully. As her series went on, however, I became less enamored with the many impulsive "mistakes" of heroine and began to set the books aside more and more. The series is now beginning to develop the feel of an almost monotonous sequence of events: Rachel gets in trouble, is helped out, magic is performed, she pulls a rabbit out of the hat, her relationships continue to spiral out of her control, and life continues.

The most frustrating part of all the books is her continuously rocky relationships with almost everyone. Her relationship with her bisexual roommate is at once mystifying and frankly, cliched. Rachel goes from being very firm in her sense of self and beliefs to, of course, becoming ambiguous in order to shroud the friendship in an air of potential. Which would be fine, if only she hadn't been so hopelessly straight in the entire first four books, each lesbian encounter furthered only by vampire pheromones or extenuating circumstances. This character change has the horrible feel of a plot device, not an evolution of character.

The ending clinched my feelings of disappointment with this series - shock value aside, this series ONCE AGAIN ends with just enough loose ends that the author can keep us hanging indefinitely, since Rachel seems to make and break relationships from one book to the next.

I love this author's writing, she has a gift for plot and a subtle wit, but what started as a 5 star series for me has since dropped to an all time low of 1 star. If I read any other books in this series, it will only be to see how the author allowed Rachel to screw up something else so the books can go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollows Forever, Sept. 27 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Best Urban Fantasy series I have ever read. I love the writing of Kim Harrison. I read the first 10 books all in a row and view the series as one big book. Therefore, differentiating between individual volumes is impossible for me. Therefore I rate every book, so far, as a 5 and heartily recomend them to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Great sale, June 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Hardcover)
I knew exactly what I was getting with this book. It came it quickly and the condition of the book was exactly what it said it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars frankenstein books, Aug. 8 2011
By 
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Hardcover)
I was very pleased that Amazon took this book and sent it to me on its own as the other book was delayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For a Few Demons More, Aug. 20 2009
By 
Bart M. Lajeunesse (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Mass Market Paperback)
Even though this series comes across as a Jim Butcher/Harry Dresden wannabe, it is still an amusing read. One thing to be warned of; even tho this seems to be the first book in the series according to the list on the inside of the book, it is NOT!! I won't forgive the publishers for that, nothing worse than finding you are reading a series out of order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey, at this point, you know what you're getting..., Dec 5 2007
By 
M. Flebotte (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Mass Market Paperback)
Nope, I don't love the character, which, normally, would be the kiss of death for me. However, Ms. Harrison's quirky secondary characters are more than capable of coping when her 'heroine' can't. The plot continues in its usual madcap, fast-paced fashion, with new and nifty characters and villains leaping up to take centre stage from the bewildered lead. If you're looking for a comparable read to Hamilton, this is NOT it; little sex, less character development, and not much more in the way of plot, although it moves like a Hong Kong action flick. I may not love Rachel, but, sadly, I know lots of people like her, so I'm willing to remain on friendly terms with this series and its interesting world view. I enjoyed this book, and, perhaps in spite of myself, am seriously looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly taking a Laurell HamiltonStoryline Turn, Sept. 8 2007
By 
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the series and this book is good as well. The only issue I have is why does every female hero have to start having sex with everyone and then develop lesbian interests? If you've read Laurell Hamilton books you would see the similarities. The only difference is Laurell focuses on homosexual and multi-partners during the act itself and spends 3/4 of the book as a venue for pure porn.

At least Harrison still has not gone down that path. The story when focus on the mystery portion and action is really quiet entertaining, I just am disappointed that this sexual lesbian aspect seems to be developing. I understand the best friend is a lesbian who loves the main charactor, it adds a unique dynamic that the main character acknowledges it and still embraces the friendship.

I'm just tried of good series starting to go down hill and this increased sexual dilemas. Stick to the core story - supernatural, mystery, action with some personal interactions. Please do not go down the road of providing exotica borderline porn under the guise of mystery as does Laurell Hamiltons most recent novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Ending Sucked, Aug. 2 2007
By 
L. Burchett "KPED" (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Hardcover)
Kim Harrison has a wonderful series from Dead Witch Walking up until this newest addition to the Rachel Morgan collection. Why this great book had to end in such an aweful way is still up in the air, it certainly didn't seem very well thought out. I may never read another book in this series just because of the way this book ended, but either way many readers will be disappointed with Kim Harrison's latest work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Terrible Ending, June 7 2007
By 
K. Edwards (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Hardcover)
I love Kim Harrison's books, and this one was also great - fast-paced and exciting, as usual. But the horrible ending ruined the whole book for me, and possibly the whole series. I'm hoping this gets fixed in the next book, but at the moment, I'm sort of regretting reading "For a Few Demons More." A big disappointment from a normally great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How Disappointing!, March 12 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Mass Market Paperback)
While I would only rate the series at about 3 1/2 stars, I was able to enjoy most of the books in it...until this one.

The absolutely ridiculous amount of forced lesbian encounters in this between Ivy, a bisexual vampire and Rachel who, for FOUR BOOKS, was 100% straight is just too bloody cliched to be anything more than a let down. Ivy's possessiveness over Rachel, as if she were Ivy's property, are becoming increasingly revolting. I prefer my characters to be on equal footing and not even Harrison's attempt to make Ivy "submissive" to Rachel is enough to make this turn in their relationship feel anything but disturbing. But the ending. The ending was so obviously done - viciously so - to further Harrison's aparent desire to have Rachel and Ivy become lovers that I for one will never spend another cent on this series.

Not to mention the short story at the end was in utter bad taste after the ending of the book.

Utterly disappointing. Had I known this was where the series was headed I never would have begun reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For A Few Demons More
For A Few Demons More by Kim Harrison (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 8 2007)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews