summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars14
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$9.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 22, 2007
I love Kim Harrison's early books, they had a unique flavor and she writes just beautifully. As her series went on, however, I became less enamored with the many impulsive "mistakes" of heroine and began to set the books aside more and more. The series is now beginning to develop the feel of an almost monotonous sequence of events: Rachel gets in trouble, is helped out, magic is performed, she pulls a rabbit out of the hat, her relationships continue to spiral out of her control, and life continues.

The most frustrating part of all the books is her continuously rocky relationships with almost everyone. Her relationship with her bisexual roommate is at once mystifying and frankly, cliched. Rachel goes from being very firm in her sense of self and beliefs to, of course, becoming ambiguous in order to shroud the friendship in an air of potential. Which would be fine, if only she hadn't been so hopelessly straight in the entire first four books, each lesbian encounter furthered only by vampire pheromones or extenuating circumstances. This character change has the horrible feel of a plot device, not an evolution of character.

The ending clinched my feelings of disappointment with this series - shock value aside, this series ONCE AGAIN ends with just enough loose ends that the author can keep us hanging indefinitely, since Rachel seems to make and break relationships from one book to the next.

I love this author's writing, she has a gift for plot and a subtle wit, but what started as a 5 star series for me has since dropped to an all time low of 1 star. If I read any other books in this series, it will only be to see how the author allowed Rachel to screw up something else so the books can go on.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2007
Nope, I don't love the character, which, normally, would be the kiss of death for me. However, Ms. Harrison's quirky secondary characters are more than capable of coping when her 'heroine' can't. The plot continues in its usual madcap, fast-paced fashion, with new and nifty characters and villains leaping up to take centre stage from the bewildered lead. If you're looking for a comparable read to Hamilton, this is NOT it; little sex, less character development, and not much more in the way of plot, although it moves like a Hong Kong action flick. I may not love Rachel, but, sadly, I know lots of people like her, so I'm willing to remain on friendly terms with this series and its interesting world view. I enjoyed this book, and, perhaps in spite of myself, am seriously looking forward to the next one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 27, 2013
The Best Urban Fantasy series I have ever read. I love the writing of Kim Harrison. I read the first 10 books all in a row and view the series as one big book. Therefore, differentiating between individual volumes is impossible for me. Therefore I rate every book, so far, as a 5 and heartily recomend them to all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2009
Even though this series comes across as a Jim Butcher/Harry Dresden wannabe, it is still an amusing read. One thing to be warned of; even tho this seems to be the first book in the series according to the list on the inside of the book, it is NOT!! I won't forgive the publishers for that, nothing worse than finding you are reading a series out of order.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
I knew exactly what I was getting with this book. It came it quickly and the condition of the book was exactly what it said it was.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2011
I was very pleased that Amazon took this book and sent it to me on its own as the other book was delayed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2007
Kim Harrison has a wonderful series from Dead Witch Walking up until this newest addition to the Rachel Morgan collection. Why this great book had to end in such an aweful way is still up in the air, it certainly didn't seem very well thought out. I may never read another book in this series just because of the way this book ended, but either way many readers will be disappointed with Kim Harrison's latest work.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2007
I enjoyed the series and this book is good as well. The only issue I have is why does every female hero have to start having sex with everyone and then develop lesbian interests? If you've read Laurell Hamilton books you would see the similarities. The only difference is Laurell focuses on homosexual and multi-partners during the act itself and spends 3/4 of the book as a venue for pure porn.

At least Harrison still has not gone down that path. The story when focus on the mystery portion and action is really quiet entertaining, I just am disappointed that this sexual lesbian aspect seems to be developing. I understand the best friend is a lesbian who loves the main charactor, it adds a unique dynamic that the main character acknowledges it and still embraces the friendship.

I'm just tried of good series starting to go down hill and this increased sexual dilemas. Stick to the core story - supernatural, mystery, action with some personal interactions. Please do not go down the road of providing exotica borderline porn under the guise of mystery as does Laurell Hamiltons most recent novels.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2007
I love Kim Harrison's books, and this one was also great - fast-paced and exciting, as usual. But the horrible ending ruined the whole book for me, and possibly the whole series. I'm hoping this gets fixed in the next book, but at the moment, I'm sort of regretting reading "For a Few Demons More." A big disappointment from a normally great author.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
Love this series of books. Very good. A must read if you like the paranormal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse