Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and eye-opening book. Buy and Read it!
What are the factors that cause one person to say yes to another person? Which techniques most effectively use these factors to bring about such compliance?
Prof. Cialdini found six such techniques: Reciprocation, Commitment, Social Proof, Liking, Authority and Scarcity. Author explains why they work, and how to say no to peddlers that want to exploit you using...
Published on Nov. 7 2003 by Giancarlo Nicoli

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars If you buy it, you have fallen victim of methods therein.
The big title "Ph.D" beside his name follows the Authority method (chapter 6). The quoted comments are blantant use of the Social Proof method (chapter 4). If you buy other books of Dr. Cialdini, you fall victim to the Commitment and Consistency principle (chapter 3). But indeed, this book says very little that has not been said in Carnegie's "How to Win...
Published on Sept. 7 1997 by Seeker


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and eye-opening book. Buy and Read it!, Nov. 7 2003
By 
Giancarlo Nicoli "Pharmacist and Publisher" (Appiano Gentile, close to Como Lake, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What are the factors that cause one person to say yes to another person? Which techniques most effectively use these factors to bring about such compliance?
Prof. Cialdini found six such techniques: Reciprocation, Commitment, Social Proof, Liking, Authority and Scarcity. Author explains why they work, and how to say no to peddlers that want to exploit you using them.
The book is well written, the style is simple, there's ample use of appropriate anecdotes so you can better remember what's most important.
The six techniques are discussed "in terms of their function in the society and in terms of how their enormous force can be commissioned by a compliance professional who deftly incorporates them into requests for purchases, donations, concessions, votes..."; yes, 'votes', so I believe it's an important reason for you, citizen, to learn those six tricks, in your own interest! They exploit our 'automatic behavior patterns' (three pages to explain this, don't worry!), and they make us terribly vulnerable to anyone who does know how they work.
I'll break down how Prof. Cialdini examines the rules, I'll use rule number one, "Reciprocation" as an example.
1 - Definition of the rule: "The rule says that we should try to repay, in kind, what another person has provided us."
2 - Rationale (why it works and why we, as humans, always stick to it): The development of this behaviour "meant that one person could give something (for example, food, energy, care) to another with confidence that it was not being lost.(...) Sophisticated and coordinated systems of aid, gift giving, defense, and trade became possible, bringing immense benefit to the societies that possessed them."
3 - The rule at work: The Hare Krishna Society began to employ a donation-request procedure that engaged this rule. Before a donation is requested, the target person is given a "gift", say, a flower. The unsuspecting passerby who suddenly finds a flower into his hands is not allowed to give it back. "No, it is our gift to you", says the solicitor, refusing to accept it. Only after the Krishna member has thus brought the force of the reciprocation rule to bear the situation is the target asked to provide a contribution to the society.
4 - Power of the rule: "It is instructive that the reciprocation rule has begun to outlive its usefulness for the Krishnas, not because the rule itself is any less potent socially, but because we have found ways to prevent the Krishnas from using it on us. After once falling victim to their tactic, many travelers are now alert to the presence of (...) solicitors in airports and train stations, adjusting thier paths to avoid an encounter and preparing beforehand to ward off a solicitor's 'gift'. (...) It is a testament to the societal value of reciprocation that we have chosen to fight the Krishnas mostly by seeking to avoid rather than to withstand the force of their gift giving".
5 - How to say no: "If the initial favor turns out to be a device, a trick, an artifice designed specifically to stimulate our compliance with a larger return favor", "here our partner is not a benefactor but a profiteer". "We need only react to it accordingly to be free of its influence. As long as we perceive and define his actions as a compliance device instead of a favor, he no longer has the reciprocation rule as an ally: The rule says that favors are to be met with favors; it does not require that tricks be met with favors".
The advice given in this book works very well. Please learn the six techniques by heart and strive to recognize their use during your everyday life: it is an eye-opening exercise, really worth trying.
If you are an easy mark for the pitches of peddlers and con men of one sort of another, or if you just want to know better how persuasion works, this book is unmissable.
Wonderful book, five stars, go have a copy and read it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good and enjoyable read, Nov. 1 2003
By 
There are only a few books that after reading, you will really find them useful and understandable, and Influence is one of them. (The others are 7 Habbits of Highly Effective People, Good to Great). The book is full of research studies that can back up the six 'weapons' of influence, while at the same time is written in a style enjoyable and easy-to-remember. Recommend to all people, no matter you are a salesman, marketer, manager, or even parents.....everyone.
Note that there is another book called Influence (4th Ed) by the same author. The name is a little bit different (also different ISBN) but they are the SAME book with revised photos and foreword only. I thought they were 2 differents ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars are you getting tricked into buying something?, March 9 2004
By 
Zev Saftlas "Founder and Host of EmpoweringMe... (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Why do you buy the things you do? This book shows you the ruthless tactics that marketers use to get you to buy their products. It was a real eye opener.
For example: I used to think that the toys stores were out of stock of their best toys during December, because of huge demand. Now I realize that they are doing this on purpose. Why? Because they know the kids won't forget about this toy and they will come back in January to buy it when they get it "back in stock". Meanwhile during the holiday season their parents have to buy them "something" so they make even more money. So when you see them advertising a new toy in November know that they won't have it in by December because they want to trick you.
Read about many more tricks they are using on you and how you can overcome them by reading this great book.
Zev Saftlas, Author of Motivation That Works: How to Get Motivated and Stay Motivated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Highly recommended., Feb. 28 2004
This book is primarily about how marketers and sales professional manipulate our minds for their benefits. The topics covered are extensive, including contrast principle, mimic tricks of photuris/blenny, rule for reciprocation, reciprocal concessions (rejection then retreat technique), consistency (willingness to believe in the correctness of a difficult choice, once made), foot in the door technique, committing power of public/written statements, manipulation and exploitation of customers' self image, principle of social proof (draw of the crowd vs pluralistic ignorance when people feel most uncertain and unfamiliar), effect of repeated contact on liking (condition dependent), application of common goals for conflict solving, good cop/bad cop ploy, conditioning and association, the strength of authority pressure, scarcity principle (limited freedom to something makes it more desirable), Romeo and Juliet effect, etc etc. What makes it so outstanding from it's kind is that 1) it's so well written with many vivid examples and few jargons that most readers with no or little psychology background can enjoy it much. 2)In the end of each chapter there's a section named "how to say no", something you seldom find in other psychology book. That's certainly a plus coz knowledge without application amounts to nothing.
In a word, a page turner and a must read particulary for everything in the city jungle.
Remarks: I like the opening adages of some chapters much. To quote some:
Chapter 3 Committment and Consistency: It is easier to resist at the beginning than at the end. Da Vinci

Chapter 4 Influence: Where all think alike, no one thinks very much. Lippmann

Chapter 5 Liking: The main work of a trial attorney is to make a jury like his client. Darrow

Chapter 7: The way to love anything is to realize that it might be lost. G.K. Chesterton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Allow Me To Influence You To Buy This Book!, Oct. 19 2003
By 
Michael L. Emery (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
I first read this book waaaaay back in 1987 (Fear not, the information is far from outdated today, thanks to periodic updated versions) and was incredibly inspired. This book not only shows you how you are influenced to do things that you later wonder, "Why did I do THAT?" but it also shows you how to aviod being influenced by the teachniques revealed. Remember that one magazine advertisement you saw, the one that got you to think of their product and got you to buy it? (Perhaps again...and again...and again?) Sure you have, a thousand times, for a thousand different products. Well, this book reveals the HOW and WHY that ad worked on you! And remember that teacher, or other authority figure, who instructed you to do something, and even though you were confused by it or thought the person made an error, you did it anyway? The HOW and WHY that worked is also revealed here! And have you ever passed on something, but learned lots of other people were going for it, so you went for it too? Yep, the HOW and WHY of that is in here as well! In fact, EVERYTHING that has ever influenced you is revealed in some form or another in this book. Sounds like I'm being hyperbolic, I know, but trust me, it's true. This book is a MUST for anyone interested in NLP, Sales, Public Speaking, or trying to get that stubborn someone to agree to do soemthing for you. So take it from a guy who's gone through almost THREE copies of this book from all the re-reading that I've done, you WILL feel that you have gotten more than your money's worth, and you may even be echoing my review with one of your own.
That's My Opinion, But You're Welcome To It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for Everything From Dating to Selling!, Aug. 20 2003
This is one of the best books I've ever read! In fact, it's so good that I recommend it to all of my clients. As a love coach, I teach people how to find love and happiness, now and always. But this involves getting other people to do what you want. For example, if you're single, you have to get people to ask you out, or you'll never go on a date. It sounds simple enough, but if you're single and not dating, learning how to influence your potential dates is probably one of your top priorities.
Because finding your perfect partner is a "sales process," this book is a must-read for anyone who is looking for love. If you're in any type of sales, whether it's life insurance or multi-level marketing or "selling yourself" to a potential partner, you'll wonder how you ever sold ANYTHING before you read this book.
Influence teaches you the psychology behind getting people to do what you want. Once you understand what it takes to influence another person, it's easier to get what you want out of life. Don't waste another minute, BUY THIS BOOK and start getting the life you always wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SEMINAL., May 21 2003
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is most certainly not only a book about negotiation, it is for anyone interested in a gripping read about human psychology and our subconscious response to external stimuli. An interesting example: if you are at a party and you begin talking with a member of the opposite sex whom you find moderately attractive, it is very likely that your initial assessment of this person will decrease when a "beautiful" girl or guy ambles over to join the conversation. Obviously the first person did not morph into someone physically different, but did become comparatively less appealing when smothered in the shadow cast by the "beautiful" person.
While "Getting to Yes" and "You can negotiate anything" were flush with such interesting real-life nuggets and the best on offer in their time, "Influence" would rate as my personal favorite that conceptually digs deep into the art of persuation.
For one thing, Cialdini's writing style is entertaining and exudes common sense. Which makes it worth the ride for just about anyone interested in an intelligent read. I'd even venture to say that he comes across as accessible as Thomas Schelling ("Strategy of Conflict", "Choice and Consequence") in the kinds of intuitive but compelling examples that he uses to illustrate his points.
For another, this is one of the rare books that explain the *psychology* of WHY and HOW human beings/animals respond the way they do. What is different about his hypotheses? Cialdini breaks down his analysis into 6 broad principles consciously or subconsciously employed by people to persuade their counterparts (consistency, reciprocation, social proof, authority, liking, and scarcity) and then discusses each of these principles in term of its ability to elicit "automatic, mindless compliance" from us. And if you do not feel that simply being aware of such compliance tactics is defense enough, he goes on to offer useful, practical shields in a scattering of sections such as "How to Say No".
This is an incredibly useful book that one can only hope does not fall into the hands of one's adversary. Clearly required reading for anyone involved in the business of persuasion (marketing/sales, diplomacy, strategy etc) and highly recommended for everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Text About Influence, Jan. 25 2003
By 
M. A Netzley "mnetzley" (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As I sit here and write, I wonder why I did not draft this review long before now. I read Cialdini's book about five years ago and have been hooked ever since. It is simply a superb book about influence.
Cialdini believes that influence is a science. This idea attracted me. As a rhetorician, I have always thought of persuasion as more of an art. Cialdini, however, makes a first-rate case for the science point of view. But maybe most importantly, he makes his case in a well-written, intelligent, and entertaining manner. Not only is this an important book to read, it is a fun book to read too.
He introduces you to six principles of ethical persuasion: reciprocity, scarcity, liking, authority, social proof, and commitment/consistency. A chapter is devoted to each and you quickly see why Cialdini looks at influence as a science. Each principle is backed by social scientific testing and restesting. Each chapter is also filled with interesting examples that help you see how each principle can be applied. By the end of the book, I had little doubt that these are six important dimensions of human interaction.
I highly recommend this book to all professionals. It does not matter if you are a manager, sales person, pastor, or non-profit volunteer. The ideas in this book, once applied, will make it easier for you to accomplish your goals. In a video featuring the author, Professor Cialdini even goes so far as to promise that these principles can help you influence the most resistant of all audiences--your children.
With a claim like that, who wouldn't be intrigued?
My advice is to read this sooner rather than later. You will be quite glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep AND readable; I'm persuaded!, Jan. 2 2003
By 
Max More "Max More" (Scottsdale, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Most books of applied psychology fall prey to one of two weaknesses: Either they lack scientific content (or over-simplify) or they present solid information in an academic manner that readers find difficult to absorb and apply. Robert Cialdini's book stands out brilliantly from these books. Combining wide and deep scientific scholarship with an engaging, lucid, and personal style, Influence may be the single best work on the topic. The intent of the book is to show how we can understand and defend against pervasive non-rational influences on our decision-making. Of course the same principles could be applied to market products or influence colleagues and rivals either in place of or in addition to genuine reasons. One sign of the range of the book is the fact that Cialdini doesn't get to the famous Milgram experiment on "Obedience to Authority" until p.208. The book concentrates on several factors that evolution and culture have drilled into us to produce compliance for good reasons, but which can be abused by "compliance professionals": reciprocation, commitment and consistency, social proof, liking, authority, and scarcity. Any reader will find the research results stunning and frightening. Fortunately, Cialdini concludes each compelling chapter with hints on "How to say no". No matter how intelligent you are, you have undoubtedly fallen for many of these techniques used deliberately or accidentally. How many poor business investment decisions, product purchases, or strategic moves have been influenced by non-rational factors? You have to read this book. Why? Because I've done you a favor with this review and you owe it to me; you can't say you're a rational person if you don't; everyone else is reading it; I'm attractive, friendly, well-dressed, similar to you, and you like me; I'm an psychology expert and I recommend it; and you need to buy it now before all copies are sold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reveals the Hidden Dimension of Media Manipulation, Sept. 21 2002
By 
This book is usually marketed toward people in advertising as a powerful guide to influencing the minds of the target group. Ironic, because the author boldly denounces the use of these tactics in marketing and aims to educate the common consumer so they can recognize and resist these common psychological ploys. Anyways, reading this book revealed for me a hitherto invisible dimension of subtle manipulations occuring everywhere in my environment. You will never look at any sort of advertising - be it print, television, radio - again the same way, and you will give profound thanks to the author for pointing out the sinister tactics frequently employed by those who want something from you (usually money).
After reading this book and digesting the material for a few weeks I began to notice that not only trained marketers but everyone seems to use these tactics in everyday interpersonal relations. It is almost as if we have an innate, yet unconscious, understanding of how to apply these principles to manipulate others into giving us what we want. I was so intrigued that I wrote a paper on this phenomenon for a critical thinking class. Utterly fascinating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion
Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion by Robert Cialdini (Paperback - Jan. 4 2007)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews