Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Kept me wondering until the end. Author didn't drop ...
Kept me wondering until the end. Author didn't drop clues in storyline so that reader could have same ah ha moments as characters.
Published 22 days ago by Salina

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overly Contrived Story
Two sisters head for the mall on an afternoon. They disappear. Thirty years later, a woman runs from a traffic accident and tells a police officer that she's one of the missing sisters. That sounds like a great premise doesn't it? Actually, the premise is the only great thing about this book. What the Dead Know quickly goes downhill after the opening sequences...
Published on April 21 2007 by Donald Mitchell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Kept me wondering until the end. Author didn't drop ..., July 8 2014
By 
Salina (Brampton, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kept me wondering until the end. Author didn't drop clues in storyline so that reader could have same ah ha moments as characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-written and intelligent whodunit, Oct. 27 2007
By 
Marsha S (Brantford, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What The Dead Know Lp (Paperback)
I was sucked in by the intriguing opening and good writing. Good to the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STORY THAT HAUNTS, March 20 2007
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
On Easter weekend in 1975 two sisters disappeared. Eleven year old Heather Bethany and her 15-year-old sister, Sunny, had gone to the mall, Security Mall, and vanished without a trace although there would be rumors, "...sightings of the girls as far away as Georgia, bogus ransom demands, fears of cults and counterculturists. After all, Patty Hearst had been taken just the year before. Kidnapping was big in the seventies."

Time passes, some thirty years, and a woman flees the scene of a traffic accident. Later she's found wandering, apparently deranged, without any money or identification. She's taken to St. Agnes Hospital, checked in as a Jane Doe because if she knows who she is she refuses to say.

Thus begins Edgar Award winning author Laura Lippman's riveting story about a family, once a strong, loving unit or were they?

Detective Kevin Infante is dispatched to the hospital to question the mysterious woman. He doesn't go eagerly as Infante is a tough cop, cynical, a memorable character who views the world and many of its inhabitants with a jaundiced eye. When the woman still refuses to speak his solution is to send her to jail.

Kay Sullivan, the social worker at St. Agnes, is the one person who befriends the woman, and when the woman says, "I'm going to say a name. It's a name you'll know," Kay is convinced Heather Bethany has surfaced after some three decades. But Infante doesn't believe this for a minute.

How to prove whether she is Heather or not? The police decide finding the mother of the Bethany girls is their only hope. But, would a mother recognize her daughter after this length of time?

Lippman who was a news reporter at the Baltimore Sun again sets her story in Baltimore, a city she obviously loves and knows well. Her narrative is meticulously crafted, moving in time from the day the girls disappeared to the present time. As scenes change readers are made aware of what the parents went through following the loss of their daughters, their attempts to cope and the final impact on them.

This author creates some of the most vivid characters to be found on a page, and again presents a story that haunts.

Highly recommended.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing!, Sept. 6 2009
By 
I LOVE BOOKS (Italy) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is a truly engaging read, starting off a bit slowly, but definitely intriguingly.

A short synopsis: Baltimore, 2005. A woman is found leaving the scene of a car accident, without identification and with a few superficial wounds. When questioned by the police, she claims to be "one of the Bethany girls", who had both vanished into thin air some 30 years before from the local shopping mall. At the time, the two sisters were 15 and 11 respectively. Both long presumed dead, nobody quite believes this strange woman, who refuses to get into details but seems to know quite a lot about the case. Could she really be who she claims she is?
After the disappearance all those years ago, the careful investigation, the wrong leads, after the last flicker of hope to find the sisters alive had faded away, it seems impossible that one of the girls has resurfaced. And where is the other sister? What on earth happened? This and many other questions will keep the reader on the alert.
We are taken back and forth from the time of the disappearance to the present day, through the eyes of the various main characters, including the girls' parents, shattered and overwhelmed by the tragedy.

This is not an edge-of-the-seat mystery novel, but it is a pager-turner nonetheless. I think that the author's ability to make the reader as frustrated with the identity of this woman as I was, combined with important revelations that keep coming up when you least expect it (so much so that more than once I had to re-read a passage for I could not believe I read it correctly the first time) well, Ms. Lippman's technique speaks for itself. Intriguing and engaging up until the end, well done! My rating: 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overly Contrived Story, April 21 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Two sisters head for the mall on an afternoon. They disappear. Thirty years later, a woman runs from a traffic accident and tells a police officer that she's one of the missing sisters. That sounds like a great premise doesn't it? Actually, the premise is the only great thing about this book. What the Dead Know quickly goes downhill after the opening sequences.

For me, a suspense novel doesn't work unless the tension realistically simulates what might have occurred. As I read this story, I realized that Ms. Lippman had to go to great lengths with her assumptions in order to make the plot work. When I realized how contrived the story was, I lost interest. I felt like I had been conned rather than entertained.

I won't point out all of the extreme contrivances (I don't want to spoil the story), but here are a few to think about:

How many pairs of sisters aged 11 and 15 haven't had any cavities or broken bones?

How many times have two similar-appearing sisters been adopted into the same family?

How likely is it that a child wouldn't ever contact her parents after having problems?

Here's what I think really happened with this book. Ms. Lippman remembered the dual disappearances of the Lyons sisters from around Wheaton Plaza in 1975 (as she discloses in the Author's Note) and wanted to make up a story that could explain such an occurrence.

If that's what happened, that's a disservice to the Lyons family and to Ms. Lippman's readers. It would have been better to write a nonfiction book about the Lyons tragedy . . . or to write a more plausible novel based on another story idea.

I also didn't find the characters to be especially interesting or sympathetic. Further, much of the back story wasn't very relevant or interesting either.

So why did I decide to read this book? I read good reviews about it.

I recommend you skip What the Dead Know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What The Dead Know Lp
What The Dead Know Lp by Laura Lippman (Paperback - April 26 2007)
CDN$ 28.95 CDN$ 18.24
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews