Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A revolutionary theory - needs to be read with "caution"
OK, let's get step by step to the point: This book (and the other 5 of the Earth Chronicles series, as well as the 3 companion books) presents a very exciting, revolutionary view to the ancient history, to the universe and to the sacred texts and myths. Sitchin's unique, "brave" interpretations, based on Sumerian/Akkadian clay tablets and cylinder seals and Egyptian...
Published on May 9 2002 by Burak Eldem

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Just two questions...
When planet X approaches the inner solar system, shouldn't it disintegrate like a giant comet?
How can a planet beyond the orbit of Pluto support life?
If humans are supposed to be created in God's image, then shouldn't the aliens from Planet X being human-like? That would imply that they need water, sunlight, oxygen, photosynthesis, and plants/animals to...
Published on Oct. 22 2002 by X-Phile


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A revolutionary theory - needs to be read with "caution", May 9 2002
By 
Burak Eldem (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
OK, let's get step by step to the point: This book (and the other 5 of the Earth Chronicles series, as well as the 3 companion books) presents a very exciting, revolutionary view to the ancient history, to the universe and to the sacred texts and myths. Sitchin's unique, "brave" interpretations, based on Sumerian/Akkadian clay tablets and cylinder seals and Egyptian papyri, suggest a very extraordinary alternative on the roots of our civilization which claims to replace the mainstream, orthodox understanding of history and universe. His main axis is a mysterious planet (belonging to our very own solar system, lurking in the depths of outer space but still "unknown" to us) which was somehow "hidden" in the mystical and "mythological" bulk of ancient sacred texts. Sitchin spots the "vague point" in myths, then clears the dust and mud carefully, finally points at this "surprising" planet which had been waiting to be discovered by us since millenia: This planet was called NI.BI.RU in ancient Sumerian (meaning "Planet Of Crossing"); had an orbital period of about 3600 years around the sun; and it was symbolized by the holy sign of "Winged Disk" in ancient cultures, as well as the cuneiform sign of "Shar" (meaning "3600" and "destruction".) He deciphers almost all the details about this huge planet and its "inhabitants" from a series of clay tablets, beginning with "Enuma Elish", the Babylonian Creation Epic, with a very careful attitude on ancient symbolism. This finding alone is enough to make his theory one of the most significant approachs on ancient history. But Sitchin goes further.
According to Sitchin, the "inhabitants" of planet Nibiru, "The Anunnaki" as they were called in Sumerian, had landed on Earth 450,000 years ago; had colonized our lonely planet for their mining purposes; had searched for gold and other valuable materials which had been needed in their own planet for the sake of their "atmosphere"; and at one time, when they had needed "extra labour" they had created the mankind "in their own look", by manipulating the genetic structure of the "ape man"; then they naturally had become the "powerful gods" of our ancestors. Seems very radical at first look, but also a very logical explanation, especially when considering the fact that even the "monotheistic" religions had made up their holy books (Old Testament, for example) by borrowing themes from much ancient resources and modifying them. (Thus, biblical Nephilim was nobody but the Anunnaki according to Sitchin.) A more intriguing point is about the two puzzles of modern science: "Planet X" theory (astronomers believe there should be another planet beyond Pluto since last century) and the "missing link" in evolutionist theory between the "humanoids" and "homo sapiens".
I do not want to spoil your reading fun, so I won't mention any other details on Sitchin's unique theory but I feel I'd like to state a "caution" about him: Though his theory of planet Nibiru with a 3600 years orbital period and his powerful explanations on "ancient gods" concept are very important to understand the roots of our civilization, there is something very "disturbing" with Sitchin's approach: His obsession to prove and verify the Old Testament as an actual historical resource. He puts the dawn of Sumerian civilization to 3800 BC (and puts the orbital passage of Nibiru at exactly the same date) just to make his theory to conform with the Jewish calendar, which begins on 3760 BC. He goes even further and suggests 3760 BC as the starting point of the Nippur calendar - which actually is thought to begin around 3100 BC. More disturbing than this, Sitchin takes biblical Abraham as a real personality and claims him as the real descendant of the Sumerians - a "wise" man from Nippur (thus, making the Hebrews literally "the chosen people of the god(s)" as the Old Testament states).
This religous and "nationalistic" approach not only ruins his exciting theory with his prejudice and religious obsessions, but also forces him to make dramatic mistakes on the dawn of civilization (and with the orbital periods of Nibiru) just to make everything "literally" conform to the Old Testament. And in the course of his "Earth Chronicles" series, he uses a method which can hardly be considered as scientific: He begins quoting a Sumerian myth (often without exact references) then inserts his commentary on the events; goes on with another quote from the same story (this time from an Akkadian source); again puts his commentary and then quotes a passage from the Old Testament he believes related to the same myth. This makes up a very eclectical version of the original story: A collage, just made everything to conform his view and of course, the Old Testament.
Strangely enough, Sitchin ignores Maya end-date of 2012 AD (which could contribute well to his theory on orbital periods of Nibiru); does not pay attention on Indus "kaliyuga" (starting of which coincide with Mayans "5th Sun"); and does not mention the Revelation of St John (which is very intriguing and without doubt was borrowed from much older sources.) Because none of them has any use for his efforts to verify the Old Testament. Do read Sitchin's books, they are very important works; but be warned and read with "caution".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, Feb. 1 2003
By 
Roderick J Debejar (East Dundee, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
I first read this book in 1991, the scope is amazing,
the theories awe inspiring. This book started a reading
regimen that has lasted 12 years and spanned 100's of
other books on the topics first introduced to me by
Sitchin. Get prepared to change everything you think
is true. View it as a start of a great journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facts that read like science fiction, Oct. 18 2003
By A Customer
I learned so much from this book in such an enjoyable manner. It is an eye-opener and not to be read by people with closed minds, especially those who take every word in the Bible literally. The Sumerian civilization existed thousands of years before Abraham and the Israelites. The Sumerians left records written on tablets, the contents of which were passed on to the Babylonians and some to the Jews. Comparisons are made with the accounts in Genesis of the creation of man and the flood, for instance. Since the author is an eminent Biblical scholar and orientalist, he was able to go to the source and translate for himself. The book has an extensive index and list of sources. As with most scholarly fields, there may be those who will be very protective of their own theories and refuse to listen to fact. The fact that the world was round was dismissed for centuries. The Sumerians knew it was round and had the science to prove it.This is what I mean by people who read this book must read with an open mind, able to accept facts such as the world is round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 12th planet, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
well written.now read velakovski there are a lot of similarities one science one is interpratation of ancient documents if true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Oct. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 12th Planet: Book I of the Earth Chronicles (Mass Market Paperback)
I like the book since it met my expectations.
Fast transaction, good product, and will definitely recommend this perfect book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Compendium of Truths for Mankind!, July 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 12th Planet: Book I of the Earth Chronicles (Mass Market Paperback)
I have revisited this book after 20 years. It makes so much sense to me now! I am sincerely thankful that Dr. Sitchin walked amongst us for so many years. My only regret is that I did not meet him. Congratulations on revealing such dramatic Truths to mankind. We need them! I have all of the Earth Chronicles series and am enjoying them all, slowly, one by one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 12th Planet: Book I of the Earth Chronicles, May 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 12th Planet: Book I of the Earth Chronicles (Mass Market Paperback)
The 12th Planet: Book I of the Earth Chronicles by Zecharia Sitchin

Over the years, startling evidence has been uncovered, challenging established notions of the origins of life on Earth—evidence that suggests the existence of an advanced group of extraterrestrials who once inhabited our world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool read, Jan. 1 2013
By 
H. Osborn (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12th Planet Book 1 (Hardcover)
A VERY informative book and well worth reading to gain more insight.
To read about other views and theories is well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched, Easy To Read, Feb. 4 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 12th Planet: Book I of the Earth Chronicles (Mass Market Paperback)
Thorough and compelling. Sitchin did a lot of work compiling information and deserves a lot of credit for having the tenacity to sort through the tons of data and writings needed to piece together a coherent history of mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Just two questions..., Oct. 22 2002
By 
X-Phile (kcuf uoy hctib) - See all my reviews
When planet X approaches the inner solar system, shouldn't it disintegrate like a giant comet?
How can a planet beyond the orbit of Pluto support life?
If humans are supposed to be created in God's image, then shouldn't the aliens from Planet X being human-like? That would imply that they need water, sunlight, oxygen, photosynthesis, and plants/animals to survive.
Like they say on those CSICOP tee shirts, "I doubt it".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 12th Planet: Book I of the Earth Chronicles
The 12th Planet: Book I of the Earth Chronicles by Zecharia Sitchin (Mass Market Paperback - March 8 2007)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews