Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One good story, one so-so one
Make no mistake, I am a die-hard Pratchett fan. But this one left me with mixed feelings. The book itself keeps sliding into, then out of, then back into, my donate-to-the-thrift-store pile. I just can't decide.

There are really two stories here. The first one is about an eldritch disembodied evil something that has been awakened out of history and is now...
Published on Feb. 27 2011 by KathyO

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars perfect condition
I initially tried to cancel and they refused, but I kept the order because I realy wanted it and it was in perfect condition. Besides it was too expensive to send back.
Published 20 months ago by tarotlover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One good story, one so-so one, Feb. 27 2011
By 
KathyO (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Make no mistake, I am a die-hard Pratchett fan. But this one left me with mixed feelings. The book itself keeps sliding into, then out of, then back into, my donate-to-the-thrift-store pile. I just can't decide.

There are really two stories here. The first one is about an eldritch disembodied evil something that has been awakened out of history and is now hunting down young Tiffany Aching. Sound familiar? Yeah -- Hiver II, aka The Cunning Man.

But what lifts this story into the four-star range is the complex coming-of-age story around Tiffany, and her various mentors, her one-time boyfriend Roland, his new fiancee, the Feegles, their Kelda, the townsfolk, and Tiffany's own relationship with her authority and obligations as a witch. Growing up is a difficult and awkward business when parts of you are very very old, and parts of you are very very young. But Tiffany makes a pretty good fist of it, all in all, and it makes a good read, even if the threatening monster that is supposed to propel the story is a tad on the "generic scary thing" side.

Is it the book that I'd press into the hands of someone I wanted to convert to Pratchett fandom? No. But definitely worth the time if you're already in that group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rough music comes, Feb. 20 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: I Shall Wear Midnight (Paperback)
Tiffany Aching is the witch of Chalk, which means that she has to do all the messy rural stuff that witches do. But witches aren't always as appreciated as they should be, and Terry Pratchett's "I Shall Wear Midnight" flings the sensible young girl -- and the Nac Mac Feegles -- against a threat that really, really doesn't like witches.

Tiffany is doing the usual witchy rounds in Chalk -- nursing the sick, burying the dead, watching cheese races, and rescuing the occasional girl from an abusive father. Then the local Duke expires after a long illness, and it's up to Tiffany to tell his son Roland and his "watercolour-painting wife-to-be" about what happened.

The problem is, she's being stalked by a creepy eyeless man with a vile psychic stench, who is inspiring people to hate and distrust witches. Suddenly stones are being thrown, accusations are being made, and Tiffany even finds herself in the Ankh-Morpork jail. And if Tiffany doesn't find a way to stop the Cunning Man, things will get very toasty for the witches...

Due to having Alzheimer's disease, Terry Pratchett had to dictate "I Shall Wear Midnight" instead of the usual computer typing. As a result, the book's beginning is very rambly and scattered, as if Pratchett hadn't fully thought out how the plot was going to go -- but after the Duke's death, things start to tighten up and move faster.

And Pratchett hasn't lost any of his delicious wit, whether it's poking fun at cliches (the cackle box!) or sharp dialogue ("Have you boys got no shame?" "I couldnae say, but if we have, it probably belonged tae somebody else"), or his knack for writing truly chilling moments, such as Tiffany seeing the Cunning Man's holes-where-his-eyes-should-be, or the almost palpable darkness as hatred starts to take over people's hearts.

But unlike authors who talk down to "young readers," Pratchett doesn't shy away from realistically dark moments, like Tiffany caring for a girl who was badly beaten by her father until she miscarried. These parts -- and the "rough music" -- are more horrifying than the Cunning Man.

Tiffany herself is a very realistic depiction of a sensible, mature, no-nonsense young lady (like a younger version of Granny Weatherwax). While Pratchett occasionally reminds us that she IS still young (and prone to little stabs of jealousy), she grows up a great deal in this book. And there are some hints of romance with a young guard (who can pronounce the word "marvelous").

"I Shall Wear Midnight" is an excellent -- possibly final -- entry in Terry Pratchett's Tiffany Aching series. It starts out rather slow, but soon kicks into stride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is why Discworld is awesome., Sept. 30 2013
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This is pretty standard Pratchett, it's interesting to see some new characters (mostly) outside of Ankh-Morpork. If you like Discworld, you've probably already bought this. If you're new to Discworld, this is a pretty decent book to introduce the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars perfect condition, Aug. 19 2012
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I initially tried to cancel and they refused, but I kept the order because I realy wanted it and it was in perfect condition. Besides it was too expensive to send back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discworld tour de force, Nov. 11 2010
By 
William A. Stonier "Reader of many" (In a raindrop B.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Terry Pratchett's much anticipated novel in the Tiffany Aching series is a tour de force. Tiffany is a witch on the Chalk who is having to deal with a strained friendship with the Baron's son Roland. She is also doing all the day to day things witches do. But as the only witch on the Chalk Tiffany gets a good deal of attention and since she kissed the Wintersmith not all of it is good. For something evil has awoken and it is coming for her. A must read novel for Tiffany fans and those fans of the Nac McFeegle and Discworld. Pratchett's stories always leave the readers wanting and hoping for more tales from one of the best authors in the world. Crivens yea wee scunner we can only hope there will be another story. Sadly Sir Terry has declared that this will be the final story in his Tiffany Aching series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pratchett, Nov. 3 2010
By 
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This isn't the funniest Pratchett book - it's much more sentimental than any other discworld book. For all that it's got some extremely heartfelt passages without ever being soppy.
All that said, it also bears the hallmarks of Pratchett's best work. It's well written, solid story telling, it's a pleasure to read and, at the end of it, reading this book was definitely time well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rough music comes, May 1 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Tiffany Aching is the witch of Chalk, which means that she has to do all the messy rural stuff that witches do. But witches aren't always as appreciated as they should be, and Terry Pratchett's "I Shall Wear Midnight" flings the sensible young girl -- and the Nac Mac Feegles -- against a threat that really, really doesn't like witches.

Tiffany is doing the usual witchy rounds in Chalk -- nursing the sick, burying the dead, watching cheese races, and rescuing the occasional girl from an abusive father. Then the local Duke expires after a long illness, and it's up to Tiffany to tell his son Roland and his "watercolour-painting wife-to-be" about what happened.

The problem is, she's being stalked by a creepy eyeless man with a vile psychic stench, who is inspiring people to hate and distrust witches. Suddenly stones are being thrown, accusations are being made, and Tiffany even finds herself in the Ankh-Morpork jail. And if Tiffany doesn't find a way to stop the Cunning Man, things will get very toasty for the witches...

Due to having Alzheimer's disease, Terry Pratchett had to dictate "I Shall Wear Midnight" instead of the usual computer typing. As a result, the book's beginning is very rambly and scattered, as if Pratchett hadn't fully thought out how the plot was going to go -- but after the Duke's death, things start to tighten up and move faster.

And Pratchett hasn't lost any of his delicious wit, whether it's poking fun at cliches (the cackle box!) or sharp dialogue ("Have you boys got no shame?" "I couldnae say, but if we have, it probably belonged tae somebody else"), or his knack for writing truly chilling moments, such as Tiffany seeing the Cunning Man's holes-where-his-eyes-should-be.

But unlike authors who talk down to "young readers," Pratchett doesn't shy away from realistically dark moments, like Tiffany caring for a girl who was badly beaten by her father until she miscarried. These parts -- and the "rough music" -- are more horrifying than the Cunning Man.

Tiffany herself is a very realistic depiction of a sensible, mature, no-nonsense young lady (like a younger version of Granny Weatherwax). While Pratchett occasionally reminds us that she IS still young (and prone to little stabs of jealousy), she grows up a great deal in this book. And there are some hints of romance with a young guard (who can pronounce the word "marvelous").

"I Shall Wear Midnight" is another excellent entry in Terry Pratchett's Tiffany Aching series. It starts out rather slow, but soon kicks into stride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripped Off in Canada Again, Feb. 5 2011
I very much am looking forward to reading this book - so far Terry Pratchett has yet to disappoint as each of his books has been a true gem. However, I will wait till I can buy it in the US as yet agaain here in Canada we are being ripped off by about $6 a copy on this book specifically as Amazon sells it south of the border for $10.41 !

You know where I will be buying mine :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb16beab0)

This product

I Shall Wear Midnight
I Shall Wear Midnight by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - Sept. 27 2011)
CDN$ 11.23 CDN$ 11.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews